Jump to content


Photo

The X86 App Thread

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1
Rem1x

Rem1x

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire
  • Devices:Nexus 5 // Hudl // One X
  • Twitter:@__foy
After I found out that the store version of Opera Mobile sucked I asked Opera for a X86, and turns out they had this!

http://dev.opera.com...ndroid-ics-x86/

10x better than the default browser, give it a shot!


What else have you guys found?

  • 0
Posted Image
Posted Image

#2
GlenH

GlenH

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:M600
Awesome! Thanks for the tip - I too tried the market opera mobile and found it seemed to suck on x86

  • 0

#3
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4
dangerbizzla

dangerbizzla

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Gameloft have released three games optimized for x86.
Asphalt 6 HD
Uno HD, and
Modern Combat 2: Black Pegasus HD
You can find them by going to gameloft on your Orange San Diego

  • 2

#5
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
And the orange san diego will be in the compatible devices list ?

Cool at least we can use this device as a good gamer: http://www.android-x...nes-and-tablets

Although the device is seriously restricted here too.16Gb sd space,but only 10gb usable WTF! and when you need 1Gb for most games,well 10Gb wont go far when you also have music,videos and a 1080p video recorder :blink:

Edited by jikobutsu, 22 June 2012 - 09:38 AM.

  • 0

#6
boristhespie

boristhespie

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:nokia n80, San Francisco
My thought exactly

  • 0

#7
iam_smithers

iam_smithers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OMC, Orange San Diego
  • Twitter:@iam_smithers
How much 1080p video do you plan on recording though, and do you even need to record in 1080p? Unless you are recording loads, then you surely won't have a problem.

  • 0
Orange Monte Carlo - Stock (refuses to root)
Orange San Diego

Previous phones: OSF, Samsung Jet, HTC Wildfire, Nokia N95, HTC S620, Motorola RAZR V3, Sharp GX10i, Nokia 3205, various other Nokias

#8
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

How much 1080p video do you plan on recording though, and do you even need to record in 1080p? Unless you are recording loads, then you surely won't have a problem.


Yeah I guess so,and I would most likely record at 720p for the usual recording.If I did record a large full hd video it would be moved to pc so space would be freed up.Just 10Gb is less than what I use,so I know how quickly that will fill up,but I can find a way to manage the space.

While on the subject does anyone know why only 10Gb can be sd out of 16Gb where is the other 6Gb going ?

Edited by jikobutsu, 22 June 2012 - 03:57 PM.

  • 0

#9
iam_smithers

iam_smithers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OMC, Orange San Diego
  • Twitter:@iam_smithers
Some of it will be the usual problem that the actual capacity of a memory card isn't quite as high as quoted. Some will be the orange bloat too.

The major thing though is that I suspect when they quote "16gb memory" that also includes the phone storage (about 2gb, reduced by the give size of the /system partition) and not just the "USB Storage".

  • 0
Orange Monte Carlo - Stock (refuses to root)
Orange San Diego

Previous phones: OSF, Samsung Jet, HTC Wildfire, Nokia N95, HTC S620, Motorola RAZR V3, Sharp GX10i, Nokia 3205, various other Nokias

#10
boristhespie

boristhespie

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:nokia n80, San Francisco
In six months they'll bring out a 32gb version

  • 0

#11
boristhespie

boristhespie

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:nokia n80, San Francisco
Also think about it. I'm about to go one holiday. Great hd, piccies but if i fill it i'm stuck as i wont have computer. And sorry but i regularly fill a 16gb camera sd card.

  • 0

#12
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
I cannot see asphalt 6 in market only modern combat 2, anyone else able to see it ?


I installed mx player, and it asked me to install Armv7 codecs!
Anyway, I did this and it seems to not cause any problems, can anyone confirm if it is safe to use Armv7 codecs ?

Edited by jikobutsu, 29 June 2012 - 05:37 PM.

  • 0

#13
dangerbizzla

dangerbizzla

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
You have to purchase asphalt through the wap site by going to gameloft in your browser from ur phone. Modern warfare and uno are both on there aswell

  • 0

#14
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
I tried that after trying market, and when you go to asphalt 6 on gameloft, it takes you to the market, which is incompatible ?

When you say wap site, do you mean just going to the desktop of gameloft but through phone browse ?


edit: got it now, used stock browser.

Edited by jikobutsu, 29 June 2012 - 10:57 PM.

  • 0

#15
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts
I want to see Windows XP on this, with USB host for a keyboard & mouse, and HDMI out. Imagine that!!

  • 0

#16
The-Bledard

The-Bledard

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Devices:Intel AZ210B - OSD
Similar thread about games : http://www.modaco.co...-armv6-and-x86/ (opened by myself)

  • 0

#17
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Looks like firefox are working on x86 version of their mobile browser: https://bugzilla.moz...g.cgi?id=750366

  • 0

#18
i am not a hacker

i am not a hacker

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidenhead, England
  • Devices:ZTE Blade and Orange San Diego
I've edited your post because wares are not allowed on the this site so please don't ask

Thanks

  • 0
Nexus 10
Orange San Diego

#19
i am not a hacker

i am not a hacker

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidenhead, England
  • Devices:ZTE Blade and Orange San Diego
OK, has anyone got GTA 3 working? On the review it works but it won't got past the start up video for me.

  • 0
Nexus 10
Orange San Diego

#20
iam_smithers

iam_smithers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OMC, Orange San Diego
  • Twitter:@iam_smithers
GTA III works perfectly fine for me. Don't know why it would give you any issues.

  • 0
Orange Monte Carlo - Stock (refuses to root)
Orange San Diego

Previous phones: OSF, Samsung Jet, HTC Wildfire, Nokia N95, HTC S620, Motorola RAZR V3, Sharp GX10i, Nokia 3205, various other Nokias




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users