Jump to content


Photo

Internal SD

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1
Pidun14

Pidun14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
I run out of memory today when I tried to install some app. Of course there is possibility to move some apps to SD card, but this is external SD. I checked and the whole internal SD is free - only 756KB used, 2.05GB free. Now newbie question - is it possible to use internal SD to store apps?

  • 0

#2
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male
I dont think the internal sd card functions when an sd card in inserted into the phone. The internal sd card is only used when you dont have your own one.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#3
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
Paul did a hack or something swapping the sd cards around
http://www.modaco.co...ata-750mb-swap/

ask him to post how he did it or something :)

  • 0

#4
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
There is an option on where you want to install apps.
settings, Application, preferred install location.

  • 0

#5
Pidun14

Pidun14

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Paul did a hack or something swapping the sd cards around
http://www.modaco.co...ata-750mb-swap/

ask him to post how he did it or something :)


That is very interesting. Lots of people already asked how to do it....

There is an option on where you want to install apps.
settings, Application, preferred install location.


I'm 99% sure "internal device storage" option is not equal to internal SD. It is not that easy.

Edited by Pidun14, 18 June 2012 - 09:09 PM.

  • 0

#6
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Selecting internal means storing on user data partition

  • 0

#7
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
So whats that setting for then if not for apps? 2GB of space for what purpose? Confused now

  • 0

#8
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
I think what paul did is swap the internal data with internal sd so instead of the 700mb you have a 2gb internal partition

Edited by jikobutsu, 18 June 2012 - 10:08 PM.

  • 1

#9
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
i done the same kind of thing for my lg by editing vold.fstab

  • 1

#10
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Sounds good.

What exactly needs doing ? If not to difficult I can probably do it on my g300 now if you give instruction ?

Edited by jikobutsu, 18 June 2012 - 11:35 PM.

  • 0

#11
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
:wacko:

  • 0

#12
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Flashing now....

Not work still have 300mb internal

s*** i missed that,now all my sd card data is unrecoverable :(

I am confused,why has this affected my sd card when it is for internal sd card ?


Nice my phone is bricked!

And when I say bricked I mean dead no response,no power on,no adb devices nothing

Edited by jikobutsu, 18 June 2012 - 11:55 PM.

  • 0

#13
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

Flashing now....

Not work still have 300mb internal

s*** i missed that,now all my sd card data is unrecoverable data:image/png;base64,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

I am confused,why has this affected my sd card when it is for internal sd card ?


no, you just need to revert the mount points, if it says you need to formate the card just ignore it
just flash the revert.zip or a rom and it will all be back to normal

  • 0

#14
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Flash ? The phone is dead,no recovery no power on absolutely nothing

  • 0

#15
toge64

toge64

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Bargain android devices... (and high end ones too)
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Galaxy Tab 2
you've broken jikos phone lol

  • 0
Have: Nexus 4, Galaxy Tab 2, HP Touchpad
Sold: Orange OSF/ZTE Blade AMOLED, Huawei Ascend G300

#16
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
mount storage via clockwork recovery, should work as normal

  • 0

#17
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
There is no recovery the phone is full bricked...it bricked when i tried to boot into recovery

At least we know how to brick the phone now :lol:

Edited by jikobutsu, 19 June 2012 - 12:02 AM.

  • 0

#18
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Adb devices shows nothing,update.app(using fresh sd card with dload folder)does not work,it is complete brick

Well I still have recipt for purchase but its been over a month now


Even if I did put the other zip to reverse the first one it would of been pointless as booting into recovery caused the brick,how I do not know,
I expect you are scratching your head too :lol:


You might want to delete those links above tillaz.

Edited by jikobutsu, 19 June 2012 - 12:10 AM.

  • 0

#19
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200
Sales of goods act has you covered for 6 months with a receipt as proof of purchase. Not sure how it's bricked?

  • 0

#20
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Anyone got any ideas ? it looks bad,windows does not even pick up usb device :(

I know it is bricked,been here before with my first android GT540


I dont understand how it bricked,very strange,but it sure is a brick.

Edited by jikobutsu, 19 June 2012 - 12:15 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users