Jump to content


Photo

MoDaCo Custom ROM Ir1 for the Samsung Galaxy S III - new: Trackball Alert support

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
124 replies to this topic

#101
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I'll check that out.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#102
lt iibad

lt iibad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
one of the things ive found lacking from most new ICS roms after using a galaxy nexus for over 6 months is the lack of a hardware recent button. on top of that is also the lack of an action overflow button and a menu button support for non-ics apps if you enable the previous two options.

is it possible to include in the kitchen an option to remap buttons and enable action overflow so the phone works like "REAL" ics

  • 0

#103
Planet X

Planet X

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amstelveen
  • Devices:Google Nexus 4
Today I have tried a BLFB ROM and I had to flash a LF2 kernel back to get MTP working again. That seems to be a bug on BLFB. Just to let you know. So I am back on ALF2 MCR Ir1.

Edited by Planet X, 11 July 2012 - 02:30 PM.

  • 0

#104
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

one of the things ive found lacking from most new ICS roms after using a galaxy nexus for over 6 months is the lack of a hardware recent button. on top of that is also the lack of an action overflow button and a menu button support for non-ics apps if you enable the previous two options.

is it possible to include in the kitchen an option to remap buttons and enable action overflow so the phone works like "REAL" ics


Certainly possible, now sure what you mean by action overflow?

Today I have tried a BLFB ROM and I had to flash a LF2 kernel back to get MTP working again. That seems to be a bug on BLFB. Just to let you know. So I am back on ALF2 MCR Ir1.


That's a bit concerning... maybe worth waiting before adopting LFB then?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#105
Deus_ex11

Deus_ex11

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts

Today I have tried a BLFB ROM and I had to flash a LF2 kernel back to get MTP working again. That seems to be a bug on BLFB. Just to let you know. So I am back on ALF2 MCR Ir1.


I was not having any problems with MTP on BLFB. Copying files to my laptop and sgs3 was ok for me. If you wan't to use UMS (USB mass storage) mode instead then you can try this app on XDA http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1711009
There is a problem with the DLNA nearby devices that was working ok on ALF2. You just need to wait a bit longer before it activates and the text goes from grey to white. I believe it doesnt activate unless you have a DNLA device on already, on your network. Anyway it needs fixing by samsung.

  • 0

#106
Scott9824

Scott9824

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Devices:Desire HD, Asus Transformer
Hi Paul, thanks for this rom. I completed a trial pay offer but it hasn't worked, even though it was supposed to be instant. Gutted! :(

  • 0

#107
Planet X

Planet X

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amstelveen
  • Devices:Google Nexus 4

I was not having any problems with MTP on BLFB. Copying files to my laptop and sgs3 was ok for me. If you wan't to use UMS (USB mass storage) mode instead then you can try this app on XDA http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1711009
There is a problem with the DLNA nearby devices that was working ok on ALF2. You just need to wait a bit longer before it activates and the text goes from grey to white. I believe it doesnt activate unless you have a DNLA device on already, on your network. Anyway it needs fixing by samsung.

I am on a Mac. And I use Android File Transfer which was not working on BLFB. And I am not the only one I found out on xda forum.
But anyway may be Paul will have a fix if he updates the kitchen.

  • 0

#108
artesea

artesea

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S II
  • Twitter:@artesea
Was about to create a custom rom when the LFB ota came out. Now patiently waiting for it to be the base rom before cooking.

  • 0

#109
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Coming up soon!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#110
Scott9824

Scott9824

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Devices:Desire HD, Asus Transformer
Running Ir1 Vanilla the stock dialer/contacts keeps force closing. It did it the first time I installed after about a day, I wiped everything, reflashed, restored data and it did it. Once again, wiped data, reflashed and it's been ok for 4 days, and now it's started doing it again. I'm using a different dialer at the moment and it's ok but strange how it keeps doing it. Any ideas?

Edited by Scott9824, 16 July 2012 - 05:34 PM.

  • 0

#111
SozzaSinnian

SozzaSinnian

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One X
A request if possible please Paul ;)

Any chance for the Vanilla version that you could add the option to swap the Smileys button for an Enter/Return button in the SMS app like the Cyanogenmod team have done for there keyboard?

Or does anyone know a way to make the change?

Been using the rom for 2 days now and not had any issues. Battery life is amazing compared to the stock rom! I usually go for the latest CM but I didn't want to lose all the stock features so this rom is perfect for me, loving it :D

  • 0

Life is like a coin, you can spend it anyway you like but you can only spend it once.


#112
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Running Ir1 Vanilla the stock dialer/contacts keeps force closing. It did it the first time I installed after about a day, I wiped everything, reflashed, restored data and it did it. Once again, wiped data, reflashed and it's been ok for 4 days, and now it's started doing it again. I'm using a different dialer at the moment and it's ok but strange how it keeps doing it. Any ideas?


Strange... can you post a logcat grab of the crash?

A request if possible please Paul ;)

Any chance for the Vanilla version that you could add the option to swap the Smileys button for an Enter/Return button in the SMS app like the Cyanogenmod team have done for there keyboard?

Or does anyone know a way to make the change?

Been using the rom for 2 days now and not had any issues. Battery life is amazing compared to the stock rom! I usually go for the latest CM but I didn't want to lose all the stock features so this rom is perfect for me, loving it :D


I could probably do this, it would need to be optional tho, I don't really use CRs in SMS!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#113
NisseGurra

NisseGurra

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Qtek 8300
Paul: how did you get the aosp contcts to run in your rom?, i guess a edit of services.jar needed, mind to share?

Edited by NisseGurra, 25 July 2012 - 11:16 AM.

  • 0

#114
mottikeren

mottikeren

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Location:Israel
  • Devices:desire
Hi
i made a MoDaCo subscription! but I can't see the kitchen at all. few days ago it was visible .
Motti

it's ok now

Edited by mottikeren, 13 August 2012 - 09:01 AM.

  • 0

#115
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Apologies for the interruption to service!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#116
Luffarn

Luffarn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
If you dont include Badge Provider your Messeges will brake. I would suggest removing that option form the Kitchen. I had to extract BadgeProvider.apk from a firmware and install be able to use messages again (SMS, MMS)

  • 0

#117
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Ah, noted, thanks.

JB version of this ROM in the works...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#118
Luffarn

Luffarn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Ah, noted, thanks.

JB version of this ROM in the works...

P


Thanks, looking forward to the JB Rom!

  • 0

#119
CaspaTheGhost

CaspaTheGhost

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West London
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@Caspa_TheGhost

Ah, noted, thanks.

JB version of this ROM in the works...

P


Good to hear, I'm 5 days into ownership and after coming from a Gnex I'm really struggling with Sammys core apps! Looking out for the vanilla version...

Also, another OTA leak dropped today, dated today!

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1844887

  • 0

#120
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Yeah, they're coming thick and fast atm!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users