Jump to content


Photo

[RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery v6.0.0.8

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#1
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
I decided to build a newer version of ClockworkMod Recovery as the ones we have are starting to show their age. This is built from CM10 sources, it functions perfectly on my San Francisco II and it should now also function properly on the P736E devices with touch buttons!

What's new in 6.0.0.8?
  • Potentially fixed the kernel issues, enabling the touch buttons of P736E devices if this has gone to plan. (Obviously I can't test...)
  • Now has some strange background, apparently it's intentional and it's there on my Nexus 7...
  • New graphics
  • Probably some other stuff, it's a major version, so...
Previously...
  • Fixed the ums lunfile issue in flibblesan's v5.0.2.7 preventing USB mounting.
  • Key repeating (you can now hold volume down).
  • The new backup format (same as in v5.0.2.7 I believe).
Flash the image using fastboot, or flash the zip via an already existing ClockworkMod Recovery (or TWRP).

There's no real change log as such, but you can browse through the commits on the official GitHub project: https://github.com/C...ery/commits/ics

Image: recovery-clockwork-6.0.0.8-blade2.img 4,046 KB - MD5: 7087abb11cc3e721db8ef5c6b7913cc8
ZIP: recovery-clockwork-6.0.0.8-blade2.zip 4,308 KB - MD5: 42146e7ab10624430595a6a04553aec2

Have fun - hopefully this should ease the depressed volume rocker! :P

Edited by Dazzozo, 19 July 2012 - 11:15 PM.

  • 2
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#2
Titas

Titas

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto g
Scrolls through menu OK - though I haven't tested it's functions. However soft keys don't work; thankfully power button works as "select"

  • 0

#3
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

Scrolls through menu OK - though I haven't tested it's functions. However soft keys don't work; thankfully power button works as "select"


Do they work in Seb's build? I'm using his recovery kernel.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#4
domenico lamberti

domenico lamberti

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hastings
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent,HTC Explorer
  • Twitter:@Mobile_Dom
whats the command to run in terminal emulator, i used it a few times a while back to flash a recovery, you change the file name to recovery.zip, get su, then i forget the rest of the command

  • 0

#5
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

whats the command to run in terminal emulator, i used it a few times a while back to flash a recovery, you change the file name to recovery.zip, get su, then i forget the rest of the command


You don't have to change it to a zip:

fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-5.5.0.4-blade2.img

Oh, Terminal Emulator? Uh...

flash_image recovery recovery-clockwork-5.5.0.4-blade2.img

Should do it.

Edited by Dazzozo, 02 July 2012 - 08:22 PM.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#6
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade
cheers for that daz. great work as always. just wondered, if I flash this using image folder and volume+ and home. will I lose my current partition format (200 40 200). also if I do a restore from said partition setup will it work OK. thanks.

or can't it be done this way?

Edited by chris231, 02 July 2012 - 09:19 PM.

  • 0
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#7
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

cheers for that daz. great work as always. just wondered, if I flash this using image folder and volume+ and home. will I lose my current partition format (200 40 200). also if I do a restore from said partition setup will it work OK. thanks.

or can't it be done this way?


You can't flash it that way as it's not a TPT. It's a single recovery image. I'll have it packaged as a zip over the next few days.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#8
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade
ah OK, I can just keep everything as is and change recovery using terminal emulator guide above. thanks

  • 0
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#9
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

ah OK, I can just keep everything as is and change recovery using terminal emulator guide above. thanks


Should work, make sure to "su" first to get root, and make sure you're in the same folder as the recovery image.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#10
domenico lamberti

domenico lamberti

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hastings
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent,HTC Explorer
  • Twitter:@Mobile_Dom
i meant a .img i just (mind blanked) and wrote .zip as its usually what i write here lol

  • 0

#11
robt77

robt77

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III
cool, the mout usb storage works on this which will make life a lot easier :)

  • 0

#12
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
Can anyone confirm this works on tmv

  • 0

#13
Titas

Titas

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto g

Do they work in Seb's build? I'm using his recovery kernel.


I have always used Flibb's as it's a later build & soft keys worked. The main problem is without them there no "back" / "return" key

  • 0

#14
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

I have always used Flibb's as it's a later build & soft keys worked. The main problem is without them there no "back" / "return" key


I'll switch to flibblesan's kernel later.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#15
Titas

Titas

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto g
Thanks. It was an issue in Seb's Recovery; Flibb said on 3-12-11 "Might be better to use a stock Vivacity kernel for recovery as this supports both devices without any issues. The ZTE source is really buggy for blade2 devices Posted Image. I have replaced the kernel with stock vivacity but the volume rocker doesn't work. Everything else does though.. easy fix?"

Btw as I'm not familiar with adb fastboot I downloaded this http://sanfrancisco....-ii-windows.zip

Then I unzipped it (do not try to flash this zip )and replaced "clockrecovery" with your recovery, which I renamed the same.

Then with phone connected to PC
  • Double click on clockinstall
  • Within a few seconds, phone will reboot, and a green Android logo will appear. The whole process may take a few minutes.
  • Once completed, your phone will reboot and turn on to its normal state. On your computer, you should see Press any key to continue . . . You may close the window safely.
Some people may find this easier until a flashable zip becomes available

Edited by Titas, 03 July 2012 - 06:19 PM.

  • 0

#16
surfungus

surfungus

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Interests:Tech, Seeing a cheap as chips phone run some amazing software, xbox (call of duty), beer...
  • Devices:Moto G
Nice one Daz, did I read somewhere that my old backups wont work with this? or is that fixed, or not possible to fix?

  • 0
Like the custom ROM on your phone? Why not buy the dev a beer!!

#17
BLu3HaZe

BLu3HaZe

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sri Lanka
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent - SFII (Synaptic)
Works perfectly on my OSFII, and adb as well as USB mounting works, thanks Daz! :)

@surf - Wasn't it TWRP which was incompatible cuz it was a different recovery altogether? If they use same format, they should probably be compatible. I will report back in a while as my phone is messed up :( and I'm going to try and restore my last backup made with v5.0.2.7

Edit - I won't be checking restoring a v5.0 backup as all issues with my phone got mysteriously solved :)

Edited by BLu3HaZe, 03 July 2012 - 03:27 PM.

  • 0

#18
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
v4 backups won't work. There is nothing to fix, this is intentional.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#19
surfungus

surfungus

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Interests:Tech, Seeing a cheap as chips phone run some amazing software, xbox (call of duty), beer...
  • Devices:Moto G
ok mate thought so...

probably a good time to clear out the old sd card while im at it,

cheers surf

  • 0
Like the custom ROM on your phone? Why not buy the dev a beer!!

#20
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade
not sure what's going on, but flash by terminal emulator seems to make it get stuck on green man for me. So had to do a quick TPT and restore.
Windows just won't play ball either, constant driver problems, waste of time.

Struck up an old linux box I had around and flashed it no problem, and now seems to work well.

Just thought I'd post this in case others had problems.
Chris

  • 1
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users