Jump to content


Photo

Bootloader Unlock for ICS 4.0.3 for the Ascend G300

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
163 replies to this topic

#121
Geoff2

Geoff2

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade; Huawei Asend G300
I realise that the significance of this official release of ICS is that someone has managed to unlock the bootloader. However, I'd be interested to know how the ROM is for everyday use. So far, I haven't read of any problems more significant than people wanting to change the Chinese boot animation. For those of you who've updated to this official version of ICS:

1. Have you identified any problems with the ROM? Speed? Battery life? Language?
2. Do any of your apps not work properly with ICS?
3. Any problems installing google apps?

And finally, now that the bootloader has been unlocked, can you can confirm that we will now easily be able to flash newer ROMs (after flashing ClockworkMod)? What about going backwards - e.g. to B885 - would that now be possible?

  • 0

#122
numptydumpty

numptydumpty

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Huawei U8815

Flash B926 update/run tool.....root then unlock bootloader/fastboot cwm on/flash gapps via cwm and your good to go. :)

unless you're an unlucky b@stard like me and your wifi gets hosed somehow... :o
I'm on baseband 2030 - can this be updated?

  • 0

#123
numptydumpty

numptydumpty

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Huawei U8815
the strangest thing just happened.......god took pity on me and my wifi suddenly started working! seriously it did nothing for 9 hours then I looked at the phone and there was an icon in the top left corner! lol
hey I like the new gmail look!
hey geoff just install gapps using cwm from the zip link kindly provided by djuroue!

  • 0

#124
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

I realise that the significance of this official release of ICS is that someone has managed to unlock the bootloader. However, I'd be interested to know how the ROM is for everyday use. So far, I haven't read of any problems more significant than people wanting to change the Chinese boot animation. For those of you who've updated to this official version of ICS:

1. Have you identified any problems with the ROM? Speed? Battery life? Language?
2. Do any of your apps not work properly with ICS?
3. Any problems installing google apps?

And finally, now that the bootloader has been unlocked, can you can confirm that we will now easily be able to flash newer ROMs (after flashing ClockworkMod)? What about going backwards - e.g. to B885 - would that now be possible?

I've installed the update and it seems great to be honest (I did it via the Storage menu > software upgrade). I have ICS on my blade and my Vega, and this is as good as either of those versions. Everything was in English from the start so there was no fumbling through menus trying to set the language. There are obviously a few chinese apps that won't be wanted (which I just froze with TB), I also installed Apex launcher because I prefer it over the stock launcher. Gapps flashed fine just as it would with any CM ROM, I connected to my WiFi and my google account as normal and all my apps downloaded from Play and everything works as it should so far (including the camera in case anyone was wondering).

I'm getting 2954 in Antutu bench 2.8.3 which is not bad for a stock ROM, I used to get 3000 with tillaz ROM, everything feels very smooth though.

The only thing I want to change is the initial splash screen but this is purely cosmetic and really is a very minor thing.

  • 0

#125
Hans Gruber

Hans Gruber

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Just a tip for anyone as stupid as me. When you're trying to use the unlockbootloader program, make sure you turn on USB debugging on the phone :P

  • 0

#126
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

I've installed the update and it seems great to be honest (I did it via the Storage menu > software upgrade). I have ICS on my blade and my Vega, and this is as good as either of those versions. Everything was in English from the start so there was no fumbling through menus trying to set the language. There are obviously a few chinese apps that won't be wanted (which I just froze with TB), I also installed Apex launcher because I prefer it over the stock launcher. Gapps flashed fine just as it would with any CM ROM, I connected to my WiFi and my google account as normal and all my apps downloaded from Play and everything works as it should so far (including the camera in case anyone was wondering).

I'm getting 2954 in Antutu bench 2.8.3 which is not bad for a stock ROM, I used to get 3000 with tillaz ROM, everything feels very smooth though.

The only thing I want to change is the initial splash screen but this is purely cosmetic and really is a very minor thing.

does FM Radio work on it?
that seems to be a gripe i have with ICS

  • 0

#127
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

does FM Radio work on it?
that seems to be a gripe i have with ICS

The FM radio apps starts fine but I only get as far as the 'plug in your headset' message which I don't have with me in work. If I remember I'll grab it at lunch time and test it for you.

  • 0

#128
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

The FM radio apps starts fine but I only get as far as the 'plug in your headset' message which I don't have with me in work. If I remember I'll grab it at lunch time and test it for you.

thanks :)

  • 0

#129
Hans Gruber

Hans Gruber

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

The FM radio apps starts fine but I only get as far as the 'plug in your headset' message which I don't have with me in work. If I remember I'll grab it at lunch time and test it for you.


I just gave it a go with headphones plugged in and it's all working as it should be

  • 0

#130
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

I just gave it a go with headphones plugged in and it's all working as it should be

Yay :D

well im pleased with that :D

  • 0

#131
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

I just gave it a go with headphones plugged in and it's all working as it should be

That's certainly the benefit of a stock ROM - working FM radio! ;)

  • 0

#132
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

That's certainly the benefit of a stock ROM - working FM radio! ;)

got me wondering if just copying the FM Radio ICS ap APK then trying on CM9 would work. lol.

  • 0

#133
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

got me wondering if just copying the FM Radio ICS ap APK then trying on CM9 would work. lol.

Heh, I don't think it is that easy, sadly. I know FM radio is a real pain to get working with custom ROMs so I would expect it to be a bit of complicated than just copying a apk. I am sure one of the devs will enlighten us. ;)

  • 0

#134
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

OK!

Here's what I did, and what happened...

  • Flashed ICS from the official download from the Huawei site (dload dir) - OK!
  • Flashed the vendor package from the official download from the Huawei site (vendor dir) - OK!
  • Installed ADB drivers from the ISO mounted on the phone - OK!
  • Ran 'unlockbootloader.exe' and clicked root - OK!
  • Verified root - OK!
  • Ran 'unlockbootloader.exe' and clicked bootloader - app closed on completion - OK!
  • Started device in bootloader and fastboot flashed clockworkmod recovery - OK!
  • Launched clockworkmod recovery - OK!
  • Launched device normally with SIM inserted, got service and made call - OK!
That's what I call a success! :)

Next, make a MCR of B192 to go over the top with Chinese stuff removed and Google stuff added! :)

P



Even though I'm not sure about everything Paul is talking about I think I'll try this when the MCR comes out. I'm new to android and sometimes you guys talk so fast it's hard to understand what you're talking about lol.

Assuming I'll have to do the above (before installing the MCR version) to update the baseband then is that done by placing the download on my SD card and then going to settings/storage/software upgrade/ SD card upgrade? I've never gone beyond that as the warning seems pretty serious.

I don't mean to get in the way with my newb questions but I'm just trying to understand everything seeing as I'm a complete beginner.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok seeing as this is a stock rom I can follow the instructions on the "I'm New Thread". I did read that before but I didn't realise that this Chinese rom would be seen as stock for the UK.

Edited by Rico_89, 04 July 2012 - 11:59 AM.

  • 0

#135
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
@ Rico: If you have any question at all feel free to ask either here or via PM - one thing about MoDaCo is I have never seen anyone flamed for asking questions. When messing with things like this it is good to ask questions, so don't ever worry about that. :)

One thing I have noticed since flashing ICS is that the phone signal strength seems more stable, with the GB stock ROM the bars bounced up and down like a EQ meter but this seems far more stable (at least visually).

  • 0

#136
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Heh, I don't think it is that easy, sadly. I know FM radio is a real pain to get working with custom ROMs so I would expect it to be a bit of complicated than just copying a apk. I am sure one of the devs will enlighten us. ;)

dam. i thought that might be the case. lol.

  • 0

#137
sej7278

sej7278

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
ok i've read this whole thread and a couple of others and i'm probably in thick mode today as i'm still confused.

isn't this ics update in chinese - does it even work outside of china (cdma), can you change the language?

if we want to use cm9 instead of the huawei ics, is it worth installing the huawei update first (to get new baseband/ril?) and then unlocking the bootloader and "downgrading" to cm9?

what's this u8815/c8818/u8800pro stuff - which one is the vodafone ascend g300 as in tesco? can we go straight to the huawei ics from stock 885/882 or do we have to go via this 888 build?

have huawei released the 3.0.8 kernel sourcecode, as cm9 is still using 2.6 it seems?

did paul ever do the tutorial as in:

sim unlock
root
clockworkmod
huawei ics b926
unlock bootloader

is MCR still gingerbread or has it moved to ics yet? i've seen the rooting-only thread.

is there a better armv7 phone with ics for around £100 - what's this acer liquid metal like or sony xperia wotnots? not interested in zte skate/blade2 crap.

Edited by sej7278, 04 July 2012 - 11:20 AM.

  • 0

#138
Pondlife

Pondlife

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:nexus 7

One thing I have noticed since flashing ICS is that the phone signal strength seems more stable, with the GB stock ROM the bars bounced up and down like a EQ meter but this seems far more stable (at least visually).


That's very encouraging. Was a bit volatile on gb for sure.

  • 0

#139
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

ok i've read this whole thread and a couple of others and i'm probably in thick mode today as i'm still confused.

isn't this ics update in chinese - does it even work outside of china (cdma), can you change the language?

I can't answer all your questions, sorry, the ROM was certainly a Chinese release but from the moment it booted mine was in English and after flashing the Gapps and wiping I was presented with the google setup where it asks to choose your location, and UK was selected by default. As for working on GSM; I have strong signal and have made/received calls since flashing.

Edited by Hpez, 04 July 2012 - 11:20 AM.

  • 0

#140
Pondlife

Pondlife

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:nexus 7

ok i've read this whole thread and a couple of others and i'm probably in thick mode today as i'm still confused.

isn't this ics update in chinese - does it even work outside of china (cdma), can you change the language?

if we want to use cm9 instead of the huawei ics, is it worth installing the huawei update first (to get new baseband/ril?) and then unlocking the bootloader and "downgrading" to cm9?

what's this u8815/c8818/u8800pro stuff - which one is the vodafone ascend g300 as in tesco? can we go straight to the huawei ics from stock 885/882 or do we have to go via this 888 build?

have huawei released the 3.0.8 kernel sourcecode, as cm9 is still using 2.6 it seems?

did paul ever do the tutorial as in:

sim unlock
root
clockworkmod
huawei ics b926
unlock bootloader

is MCR still gingerbread or has it moved to ics yet? i've seen the rooting-only thread.

is there a better armv7 phone with ics for around £100 - what's this acer liquid metal like? not interested in zte skate/blade2 crap.

I've used your roms so know you must be having bad day..
Seen several quotes saying it's booted in English without them changing language.

It seems to be worthwhile installing official first but cm9 isn't near as functional so this seems to be preferable atm

u8815 is uk one, you definitely want 885 update as sorts sound levels somewhat. Not sure if 888 is needed tbh

Erm no clue

No I don't think so. Followed the How to root thread and then the help I'm new and cannot do ones

It's still GB atm

I certainly haven't seen anything better. Only other one I've thought about is the rather dearer and locked shut Orange San Diego

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users