Jump to content


Photo

[23/07/2013][ICS] Eco CM9 - aiming for stability and battery efficiency

* * * * * 14 votes

713 replies to this topic

#181
BVargas

BVargas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

I can only think of this one right now, but I don't know if it will be of any use to you, sorry :S


It's ok! I manage to fix the Blade already, but just gave up of the TPT thing, don't want to brick this onde again haha.

  • 0

#182
ehleh

Hey Mr. Developer Can You add Softtouch buttons please ^_^

  • 0

#183
VuckoKS

VuckoKS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
I installed yesterday and my first impressions are; very fast, sms app is very slow, and when is the phone on 2G network does not go into a deep sleep, and no radio. So I have two questions, is it possible to delete the SMS app and install another, and is it possible radio to make it work? Otherwise great job ;)

  • 0

#184
jventura

jventura

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

I installed yesterday and my first impressions are; very fast, sms app is very slow, and when is the phone on 2G network does not go into a deep sleep, and no radio. So I have two questions, is it possible to delete the SMS app and install another, and is it possible radio to make it work? Otherwise great job ;)


Sms app is the stock one, you can install other from the market.
Deep sleep problems probably is a app of yours keeping it awake? Otherwise it would defeat the purpose of a Battery Efficient ROM..
FM Radio is not a priority for me, sorry.. :)

  • 0

#185
andr0idbeliev3r

andr0idbeliev3r

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sapo a5 (Portugal's ZTE Blade)
Hey JVentura im trying to port CM9 (or 10) to tmn smart a7 (zte v875),what changes do i need to do in the kernel? Same cpu as the skate and has a physical keyboard.

  • 0
Thanks to all developers for developing such beautifull and stable ROMS and thanks to Google for developing android aaaaand thanks to the original creators of android.

My devices:

ZTE Blade- MegaDrive 4.0.4

#186
jventura

jventura

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Hey JVentura im trying to port CM9 (or 10) to tmn smart a7 (zte v875),what changes do i need to do in the kernel? Same cpu as the skate and has a physical keyboard.


For what I've seen on the specs, the CPU is a Qualcomm MSM7227T, which is the same as the ZTE Skate, so probably you could start from there. Your problem would be drivers, because the drivers for the different devices in the phone are in the kernel, and the Skate kernel may have different drivers, I don't know..

Can't you find someone in the internet who has already started implementing a port for that phone? If not, and you are not experienced, it will be painfull to start yourself the port. If you are on to it, I would suggest to try to compile a working cm7 with the stock kernel, and work from there up to cm9..

Edited by jventura, 10 January 2013 - 06:26 PM.

  • 0

#187
VuckoKS

VuckoKS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Sms app is the stock one, you can install other from the market.
Deep sleep problems probably is a app of yours keeping it awake? Otherwise it would defeat the purpose of a Battery Efficient ROM..
FM Radio is not a priority for me, sorry.. :)

but if you delete sms stock app and install other from the store, will I have problems with receiving text messages.

  • 0

#188
andr0idbeliev3r

andr0idbeliev3r

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Sapo a5 (Portugal's ZTE Blade)

For what I've seen on the specs, the CPU is a Qualcomm MSM7227T, which is the same as the ZTE Skate, so probably you could start from there. Your problem would be drivers, because the drivers for the different devices in the phone are in the kernel, and the Skate kernel may have different drivers, I don't know..

Can't you find someone in the internet who has already started implementing a port for that phone? If not, and you are not experienced, it will be painfull to start yourself the port. If you are on to it, I would suggest to try to compile a working cm7 with the stock kernel, and work from there up to cm9..


im going to compare the drivers in the two-kernels and if they are the same, good, the only thing im afraid of is the physical keyboard and the screen, its 320x480 MDPI, if i get cyanogenmod sources and use the GPU driver or hwcomposer from skate, will it compile for MDPI? or HDPI?

and no one made a port of something to this phone, the only thing they ported was clockworkmod recovery...

Edited by andr0idbeliev3r, 10 January 2013 - 10:58 PM.

  • 0
Thanks to all developers for developing such beautifull and stable ROMS and thanks to Google for developing android aaaaand thanks to the original creators of android.

My devices:

ZTE Blade- MegaDrive 4.0.4

#189
jventura

jventura

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

but if you delete sms stock app and install other from the store, will I have problems with receiving text messages.


I don't know.. You can always try it, and if it doesn't work, copy Mms.apk again to /system/app..

  • 0

#190
VuckoKS

VuckoKS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

I don't know.. You can always try it, and if it doesn't work, copy Mms.apk again to /system/app..

I will try it with sms and the battery life is excellent I think better than in eco 7. Keep up with good work ;)

  • 0

#191
ehleh

Does anyone encounters this?..


Status bar may not work on moment, some times touch not work...


Yah mms stock app super lag -_-

  • 0

#192
jventura

jventura

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Status bar may not work on moment, some times touch not work...


Status bar not appearing occurs ocasionally in all cm9 rom's. Touch not working I never encountered..

Edited by jventura, 11 January 2013 - 11:08 AM.

  • 0

#193
HarryPirate

HarryPirate

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Libra (Sapo a5)
@jventura Since this is one of the most stable and functional ROMs for our devices, what would you think, of posting your build instructions, like KonstaT usually does on his threads, and we would build a ROM once a week (or as soon as a noticeable change was made) and we would make turns building it.

  • 0
Device: ZTE Libra (Sapo a5)
ROM: The Most Recent CM
Recovery: ClockworkMod 5.0.2.0
External Storage: Transcend 8GB MicroSDHC (Class 4)
Current Launcher: Espier Launcher

#194
jventura

jventura

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

@jventura Since this is one of the most stable and functional ROMs for our devices, what would you think, of posting your build instructions, like KonstaT usually does on his threads, and we would build a ROM once a week (or as soon as a noticeable change was made) and we would make turns building it.


In the first post you can find a link to the "sources", which is my device/zte/blade source.. It is easy for experienced developers to build my Eco cm9 from there!
But if a sufficient number people are interested in more detailed instructions, I can provide them, just let me know.. :)

  • 0

#195
HarryPirate

HarryPirate

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Libra (Sapo a5)

In the first post you can find a link to the "sources", which is my device/zte/blade source.. It is easy for experienced developers to build my Eco cm9 from there!
But if a sufficient number people are interested in more detailed instructions, I can provide them, just let me know.. :)


It would be great if everyone got the same build environment in order to build this ROM with the same quality all the time.

  • 0
Device: ZTE Libra (Sapo a5)
ROM: The Most Recent CM
Recovery: ClockworkMod 5.0.2.0
External Storage: Transcend 8GB MicroSDHC (Class 4)
Current Launcher: Espier Launcher

#196
Srsriharsha

Srsriharsha

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:N82, N91, BB Bold, ZTE Blade
How do we add soft touch buttons in status bar?

  • 0

#197
mrmef

mrmef

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 4.2.1

How do we add soft touch buttons in status bar?

Only way I found to do it for this rom is with APEX Launcher ;)

  • 0

#198
Butcher55

Butcher55

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Last night I had serious battery issues for first time :/ I had 68%battery at 1AM and when I woke up at 9PM i had 2% of battery..i have 3g with data on

  • 0

#199
jventura

jventura

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Last night I had serious battery issues for first time :/ I had 68%battery at 1AM and when I woke up at 9PM i had 2% of battery..i have 3g with data on


On Settings > Battery, see first process (probably "idle"), and press the graphics and check the size of the blue bar on "Awake".. If it has a lot of blue, it was because something prevented the phone from deep sleeping.. Sometimes it is some system process, but can be one of your apps..

  • 0

#200
Butcher55

Butcher55

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Little edit: :D i did a mistake in that hours. I had 68% at 01:00 and 2% at 09:00 so it drained my battery in 8 hours..i didnt look to battery settings so i cant tel you:/ but now i have first process "cell standby"and when i tap that graph awake had many, many little blue bars night..how can i find out which app doesn`t let the phone deep sleep?because i was forced to turn data off

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users