Jump to content


Photo

Camera Force Close

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Devices:Android
I wonder whether my G300 is broken - I keep getting a Force close message from the Camera app. Sometimes the preview works, but when I try to take a picture, it fails. I already deleted the data for the Camera app, I tried without my SD card, but the result is the same. Sounds like a hardware problem, hm?

  • 0

#2
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Not necessarily and you're jumping to a huge conclusion there.

What ROM are you on?

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#3
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Devices:Android

Not necessarily and you're jumping to a huge conclusion there.

What ROM are you on?

B885 - the standard ROM. It could be a software issue, but Camera 360 does not work either.

  • 0

#4
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,873 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

B885 - the standard ROM. It could be a software issue, but Camera 360 does not work either.


try flashing a new rom, its very unlikely its a hardware problem (force close is related to bad or missing code / files, etc)

have you been deleting stuff from the system?

if you upload a logcat for me i can have a look what is causing it

  • 0

#5
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Devices:Android

try flashing a new rom, its very unlikely its a hardware problem (force close is related to bad or missing code / files, etc)

have you been deleting stuff from the system?

if you upload a logcat for me i can have a look what is causing it


I can't find anything interesting in there, just:


E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): FATAL EXCEPTION: main
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at com.android.camera.Camera.doOnCreate(Camera.java:1304)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at com.android.camera.Camera.access$7700(Camera.java:115)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at com.android.camera.Camera$8.run(Camera.java:2138)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at android.os.Handler.handleCallback(Handler.java:587)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at android.os.Handler.dispatchMessage(Handler.java:92)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at android.os.Looper.loop(Looper.java:130)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at android.app.ActivityThread.main(ActivityThread.java:3683)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at java.lang.reflect.Method.invokeNative(Native Method)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:507)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit$MethodAndArgsCaller.run(ZygoteInit.java:878)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at com.android.internal.os.ZygoteInit.main(ZygoteInit.java:636)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at dalvik.system.NativeStart.main(Native Method)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): at com.android.camera.CameraSettings.<clinit>(CameraSettings.java:67)
E/AndroidRuntime( 1780): ... 12 more
...

W/ActivityManager( 170): Activity pause timeout for HistoryRecord{40aef498 com.android.camera/.Camera}
...

I/WindowManager( 170): WINDOW DIED Window{40cab170 com.android.camera/com.android.camera.Camera paused=false}
D/PowerManagerService( 170): releaseWakeLock flags=0xa tag=KEEP_SCREEN_ON_FLAG
I/ActivityManager( 170): Process com.android.camera (pid 1780) has died.

  • 0

#6
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Devices:Android
PS: Is there a standard way of doing a factory reset? I certainly do not want to void my warranty, so I am not interested in trying any other ROMs at the moment. Does the factory reset option in the settings have any effect, or does it just delete my data?

PPS: OK, I found the official B885, and reinstalled it. Still no camera :-(

Edited by MrPuddington, 09 July 2012 - 09:13 PM.

  • 0

#7
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
did you delete the camera sound .ogg file by any chance

  • 0

#8
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
Factory reset wipes all data on the phone so its like a new phone. SD card is left intact.

  • 0

#9
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_
Have you tried a third party app like Camera360?

Also check to see if you have a DCIM folder on your SD card. I had a problem with the default camera once because after formatting my sd card, on my PC, then reinstalling to my phone, the correct DCIM directories were not created so a bunch of errors were coughed up when I took a picture.

  • 0

#10
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

but Camera 360 does not work either.


Have you tried a third party app like Camera360?


You really need to start reading threads. :P

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#11
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

You really need to start reading threads. :P


Damn again!! :blush: arrg sorry guys I'll check both mirrors before I post in future.

  • 0

#12
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,873 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
lol, why do people always think rooting & flashing roms void there warranty ?

OP, you wont void your warranty if you flash a new rom, or root your device ;)

if you have deleted stuff, doing a factory reset will not re-add that stuff back, you would need to add them back to the system
easy way would be to flash the stock rom straight over the top without any wipes

or installing an official update from huawei, witch would erase all your data

looking at your logcat... the error is been cause because the code is pointing at something that dose not exist / has been removed

"Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException"

  • 0

#13
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Devices:Android
Again: I did not delete anything, and reinstalling B885 from Huawei did not fix the problem.

But I found something interesting in dmesg. Is that how it is supposed to be?


<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.549475] Linux video capture interface: v2.00
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.549612] tps61310 init driver
<4>[1, swapper] [ 1.549664] tps61310_probe start!
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.549680] the bt_wakeup_gpio_type is 83
<4>[1, swapper] [ 1.550250] tps61310_i2c_read : reg[7] = 46
<4>[1, swapper] [ 1.550262] tps61310 read chip id ok!
<4>[1, swapper] [ 1.550279] tps61310_probe end!
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.601047] s5k5ca.c: i2c probe ok
<6>[16, kworker/0:1] [ 1.684017] msm_otg_suspend: usb in low power mode
<3>[0, swapper] [ 1.692047] qup_i2c qup_i2c.0: QUP: I2C status flags :0x1363c8, irq:34
<3>[1, swapper] [ 1.692087] qup_i2c qup_i2c.0: I2C slave addr:0x2d not connected
<3>[0, swapper] [ 1.692222] qup_i2c qup_i2c.0: QUP: I2C status flags :0x1343c8, irq:34
<3>[1, swapper] [ 1.692255] qup_i2c qup_i2c.0: I2C slave addr:0x2d not connected
<3>[0, swapper] [ 1.692387] qup_i2c qup_i2c.0: QUP: I2C status flags :0x1343c8, irq:34
<3>[1, swapper] [ 1.692420] qup_i2c qup_i2c.0: I2C slave addr:0x2d not connected
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.692439] s5k5ca.c: s5k5ca_i2c_txdata faild
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.692455] s5k5ca.c: i2c_write_w failed, addr = 0x10, val = 0x1!
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.692472] s5k5ca.c: s5k5ca_i2c_write_w 0x0010 0x0001 rc=-5
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.693010] s5k5ca.c: s5k5ca probe failed!!!!
<3>[1, swapper] [ 1.703652] msm_sync_init: failed to initialize
<4>[1, swapper] [ 1.703682] msm_camera_s5k5ca: probe of msm_camera_s5k5ca.0 failed with error -5
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.704537] mt9p017.c: mt9p017_probe called!
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.754485] mt9p017.c: mt9p017_probe successed! rc = 0
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.774624] mt9p017.c: mt9p017_probe_init_sensor is called
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.864419] mt9p017.c: mt9p017_i2c_read_w succeeded: saddr = 0x6c addr = 0x0, val =0x4800!
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.864440] mt9p017.c: mt9p017 chipid = 0x4800
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.864457] mt9p017.c: camera sensor mt9p017 probe is succeed!!!
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.864474] mt9p017.c: probe done
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.864989] mt9p017.c: mt9p017_sensor_probe:1699
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.877240] torch.c :init hw_camera_led_init start
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.928300] mt9v113.c: i2c probe ok
<6>[1, swapper] [ 1.948450] mt9v113.c: sensor_pwd is =120
<3>[0, swapper] [ 2.128555] qup_i2c qup_i2c.0: QUP: I2C status flags :0x1363c8, irq:34
<3>[1, swapper] [ 2.128593] qup_i2c qup_i2c.0: I2C slave addr:0x3d not connected
<6>[1, swapper] [ 2.128617] mt9v113.c: mt9v113_i2c_rxdata failed!
<6>[1, swapper] [ 2.128633] mt9v113.c: mt9v113_i2c_read_word Model_ID failed!! rc=-5
<6>[1, swapper] [ 2.129168] mt9v113.c: mt9v113 probe failed!!!!
<3>[1, swapper] [ 2.139788] msm_sync_init: failed to initialize
<4>[1, swapper] [ 2.139817] msm_camera_mt9v113: probe of msm_camera_mt9v113.0 failed with error -5

There is more ugly stuff in there, for example 3 kernel warnings with stack traces, but it does not seem to be camera related.

  • 0

#14
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo

[1, swapper] [ 2.128593] qup_i2c qup_i2c.0: I2C slave addr:0x3d not connected
[1, swapper] [ 2.128617] mt9v113.c: mt9v113_i2c_rxdata failed!


Sounds dead to me.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#15
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Devices:Android

Sounds dead to me.

It does, but I just checked against a working G300, and it is perfectly identical until I use the camera. So I guess the kernel has support for a number of cameras, and failures are part of the hardware detection.

  • 0

#16
Mtman1

Mtman1

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Liquid MT
Maybe you should send it back to huawei if it is hardware.....

Edited by Mtman1, 10 July 2012 - 08:31 AM.

  • 0

#17
MrPuddington

MrPuddington

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Devices:Android

Maybe you should send it back to huawei if it is hardware.....

Yes, I will do that. But it sounds like I will not see my phone back any time soon...

  • 0

#18
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

Yes, I will do that. But it sounds like I will not see my phone back any time soon...


Unfortunately it may take about one month all in..


Some report they were able to return to store even if ordered online, but in my case, they did NOT accept that. They told me if I ordered online, I have to call them (be ready to waste one hour of your life) and arrange for a return. Then wait for a return anvelope (take a looong time) then go to the post office and send it to them after taking the receipt as your only shipping proof, and then wait. I am still waiting. And waiting...


Please keep us informed as to how long all this takes to sort out.


I think it will be around one month in all... I will keep you informed.


  • 0

#19
Mtman1

Mtman1

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Liquid MT
I can't remember where he posted it, but jiksubo (sorry for spelling it wrong) had to wait 3 weeks for his to be returned (Wednesday it's coming)

Edited by Mtman1, 10 July 2012 - 12:45 PM.

  • 0

#20
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

I can't remember where he posted it, but jiksubo (sorry for spelling it wrong) had to wait 3 months for his to be returned (Wednesday it's coming)


OMG that's about how long the phone has actually been on sale for..damn that's gotta hurt.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users