Jump to content


Photo

Google Play Issues - B927

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#41
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Why the need to wipe the IMEI?

  • 0

#42
Hogweed

Hogweed

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 392 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
There's an unlock app for bootloader and root - details in thread (first post) at http://www.modaco.co...l-ics-403-b926/ - See lines beginning

Boot in to freshly installed ICS, install ADB drivers from the ISO mounted on the phone, enable USB debugging and then connect USB cable - make sure adb works.


Edited by Hogweed, 16 July 2012 - 10:06 PM.

  • 0

#43
Andymac1969

Andymac1969

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Anglia
  • Devices:LG G2, Moto G

Why the need to wipe the IMEI?


The B927 update keeps failing on my phone, and the middle file solution doesn't work either, and the fastboot method doesn't lol

  • 0

#44
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
If you are switching from B926 and B927 you can simply make a nandroid backup and switch between them that way as they share the same baseband. No need for using the update.app really.

Edited by Hpez, 16 July 2012 - 10:09 PM.

  • 0

#45
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Does this require the phone to be rooted?

I'm guessing it does, but some of the apps I use require the phone not to be rooted.

Ok, to fix this just edit your build.prop. I tested this with ITV player app mentioned above - on B927 it listed as incompatible. After editing the build.prop as below I could download and install ITV player. I didn't test other apps but I assume they will also work if they worked in B926.

To do this you will need root explorer or ES File explorer (I think ROM toolbox can do this also). Backup before doing this.

Open system/build.prop of B927 and find this line:

ro.build.fingerprint=Huawei/U8815/hwu8815:4.0.3/HuaweiU8815/C00B927:user/ota-rel-keys,release-keys

replace that line with this one:
ro.build.fingerprint=Huawei/U8818/hwu8818:4.0.3/HuaweiU8818/C17B926:user/ota-rel-keys,release-keys

After doing this reboot your phone and it should make any of the apps available while on B926 also available on B927.


I can't find that first line, I find ro.build.fingerprint but it's followed by qcom..... not Huawei.

Any ideas?

Many thanks.

  • 0

#46
Andymac1969

Andymac1969

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Anglia
  • Devices:LG G2, Moto G

I can't find that first line, I find ro.build.fingerprint but it's followed by qcom..... not Huawei.

Any ideas?

Many thanks.


It is there as I have just edited mine, I used ROM toolbox to do it, and it didn't work, so off to try again lol

  • 0

#47
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300
Same here been looking for that line for the last 20 mins.

  • 0
Biohazard

#48
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Does everyone else see the qcom line, as opposed to the one mentioned in the quote?

  • 0

#49
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Same here been looking for that line for the last 20 mins.


It is much further down, just found it.

  • 0

#50
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

It is there as I have just edited mine, I used ROM toolbox to do it, and it didn't work, so off to try again lol


Same!

Just used ROM toolbox and it didn't work.

  • 0

#51
Andymac1969

Andymac1969

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:East Anglia
  • Devices:LG G2, Moto G
I have edited that line and it is still saying incompatible :o

  • 0

#52
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Same issue as me then :(

  • 0

#53
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I tried clearing Google Play's data too, but that didn't help.

  • 0

#54
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
UPDATE.

Just rebooted a second time, and Natwest is installing...

  • 0

#55
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

It is much further down, just found it.

Yes thanks found it now, but moving that courser is hard work. Will leave it until the morning, but thanks to all involved.

  • 0
Biohazard

#56
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
Easiest way (for me) to edit the build.prop is to copy it to your sdcard then open it on your PC, this saves typing on a tiny screen. Then once edited rename the old build.prop to something like build.prop.old and copy the edited one in to the system folder. Then reboot.

Oh, and after editing you may need to visit the play store on your phone and maybe even install an app so that the store updates with the device changes.

Edited by Hpez, 16 July 2012 - 11:44 PM.

  • 0

#57
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Never thought of doing that, to be honest.

  • 0

#58
chico2069

chico2069

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Well.... i've installed 927, installed link2sd through market, removed a few of the apps i didnt want and then installed all the ones i like.
That includes Teamviewer, dropbox, facebook, shazam, GO Keyboard and a few others and all installed well, no problems and didnt need to resort to the great solution Hpez posted (thankfuly).

Edited by chico2069, 17 July 2012 - 12:15 AM.

  • 0

#59
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

Well.... i've installed 927, installed link2sd through market, removed a few of the apps i didnt want and then installed all the ones i like.
That includes Teamviewer, dropbox, facebook, shazam, GO Keyboard and a few others and all installed well, no problems and didnt need to resort to the great solution Hpez posted (thankfuly).


Still worth applying the fix by Hpez though as some apps won't even show up in google play, so if you're just searching in general for an app you could miss out on the best ones with out even knowing it. And it takes all of about 2 minutes to complete.

Edited by Rico_89, 17 July 2012 - 12:35 AM.

  • 1

#60
chico2069

chico2069

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
good point, Rico_89. I'll do it tomorrow.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users