Jump to content


Photo

B927 - My Experience.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#21
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
B888 is pretty perfect.

  • 0

#22
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_
Ok I've made a 4 min video showing my ICS B927 experience, I did it with a web camcorder so quality isn't great but you should be able to see how lagg free my experience is and switching apps and using the keyboard is super slick. Oh and I am not running any memory mods, it's all stock B927.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7ADi93r8dE&feature=plcp

....and here's a screen shot taken, on the phone, of the film I was watching so you can see the actual quality.. and the movie plays butter smooth.

Posted Image

Edited by Rico_89, 20 July 2012 - 01:51 PM.

  • 0

#23
EddyC01

EddyC01

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Thanks, not sure if it's just the CK-7W that causes it.


I have a Parrot CK3100 and I'm on B926 and having the same random reboots. I was going to try a change to B927 but looks like there isn't any point. Anyone else?

  • 0

#24
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Definitely bluetooth related then.

I hope this is fixed in the final release - shame there's no option to report bugs and issues.

Regarding the video - have you installed the vendor update?

  • 0

#25
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

Regarding the video - have you installed the vendor update?


Yeah.

  • 0

#26
grabster

grabster

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newtownabbey
  • Devices:Moto g
Been on b927 for 3 days now and starting to get reboots.
Already fixed the red underline thing and ringtones seem to be completely random regardless which way i set them up but its still a great rom though.
Think im gonna stick with this till something better comes along.

Debloated virgin ics probably be along soonish so unless something pops up out of the blue i will live with b927 for a while.

  • 0

#27
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
how many ppl are experiencing problems on B927?

  • 0

#28
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Surely there is a reason for this, is it the way the update is done, or are some of you just unlucky ?
This B927 is perfect for me apart from two things, the keyboard lag and the camera/video. Apart from those things i have no problms at all!

  • 1

#29
pmw1971

pmw1971

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Been on b927 for 3 days now and starting to get reboots.
Already fixed the red underline thing and ringtones seem to be completely random regardless which way i set them up but its still a great rom though.
Think im gonna stick with this till something better comes along.

Debloated virgin ics probably be along soonish so unless something pops up out of the blue i will live with b927 for a while.


Ringtones fix is to move the files to the system folder (if you have rooted) then you can select as an internal ringtone rather than external music.

  • 0

#30
HuaweiAscend

HuaweiAscend

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Surely there is a reason for this, is it the way the update is done, or are some of you just unlucky ?
This B927 is perfect for me apart from two things, the keyboard lag and the camera/video. Apart from those things i have no problms at all!


It depends on what you're using.

A lot of people won't have experienced the Google Play issue, as they don't use the affected apps - although there's a fix for this.

If you don't use Bluetooth HF, then you won't experience the rebooting issue.

I use Swype, which may have caused the slow return to home, but obviously I'm not sure.

  • 0

#31
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
If people with problems with b927 try to reflash rom, then vendor update, then format in revovery mode.

Try to flash the rom from a complete stock state without root or cwr. Thats how i done and i am problem free.

  • 0

#32
stokietom

stokietom

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Devices:San Francisco II

If people with problems with b927 try to reflash rom, then vendor update, then format in revovery mode.

Try to flash the rom from a complete stock state without root or cwr. Thats how i done and i am problem free.


I am getting a bit of keyboard lag it seems... How do you actually flash this 'vendor' file people talk about?

  • 0

#33
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Copy the dload folder to root of sdcard

Start update process

After update replace the update.app inside the dload folder with the one thats inside the vendor folder.

Start update process again

One way to verify you have the vendor update installed is to check if the wifi, gps, bluetooth toggle buttons are present in the notification area.

  • 0

#34
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
And one thing i always do before any update is to delete the android folder on the sdcard and other folders with files from apps. Always update with the cleanest state.

  • 0

#35
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

And one thing i always do before any update is to delete the android folder on the sdcard and other folders with files from apps. Always update with the cleanest state.


I actually format my SD card in a laptop before install a new rom.


I am having the ringtone problem, when I connect a USB cable, but turning the phone off and restarting doesn't change my ringtones so it's not that big a deal. Although moving the my custom ringtone to the system folder doesn't seem to work because it doesn't show up in the ringtone or music list..

  • 0

#36
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
You need to create a Ringtones folder on the root of the sdcard and store your ringtones there. Actually you need to create a set of folders that android uses by default on the sdcard.

I have Ringtones, Notifications, Download, Music, Alarms, DCIM, Documents and the Android folder that is created by the system. With this folder structure the os saves and searches at the right places. Also be careful with the filesystem of the sdcard when you format it in tha pc. I preffer to format it on the storage menu.

Edited by rsrocha, 21 July 2012 - 09:42 AM.

  • 0

#37
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

You need to create a Ringtones folder on the root of the sdcard and store your ringtones there. Actually you need to create a set of folders that android uses by default on the sdcard.

I have Ringtones, Notifications, Download, Music, Alarms, DCIM, Documents and the Android folder that is created by the system. With this folder structure the os saves and searches at the right places. Also be careful with the filesystem of the sdcard when you format it in tha pc. I preffer to format it on the storage menu.


I have all of those folders on my micro sd too, created automatically by the system, but every time I chose an mp3 from the ringtones folder and connect the phone to a pc, via USB, my ringtone reverts to "Default".

Edited by Rico_89, 21 July 2012 - 11:23 AM.

  • 0

#38
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
What if you create also the Ringtone folder on the internal storage and put the ringtones there?

  • 0

#39
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

What if you create also the Ringtone folder on the internal storage and put the ringtones there?


I've tried that, but unfortunately everytime I put an Mp3 anywhere on the internal storage it never shows up in the Ringtone or Music list to be chosen for a ringtone. What I might try is to convert my Mp3 to an .ogg file then replace one of the default ringtones and see if that works.

Update: just tried a few things and noticed that when I create a folder on the root of the internal storage and then restart, the folder and contents just disappear.

Anyway replacing the ogg file works but they show up in the list as two question marks ( ?? ).

Edited by Rico_89, 21 July 2012 - 04:08 PM.

  • 0

#40
joeyla

joeyla

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Huawei G300 (U8815/U8818)
  • Twitter:@joeyla09
Went from B926 to B927. All was good for a few days but today when powering on phone started to go into continuous boot/shutdown loop.

Can I downgrade to B888? Anyone got a link?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users