Jump to content


Photo

[JB] [GUIDE] How to get Google Now with Voice on JellyBean [UPDATED - 20/07]

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
110 replies to this topic

#21
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
Hmmm....

I will try with a clean install.

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#22
iReece

iReece

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Hmmm....

I will try with a clean install.


Oh. Was I meant to install the newest build over the previous one?.. I did a clean install.

  • 0

#23
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
No no. I did the same and it worked perfectly for me. I just don't understand why it worked perfectly for me and not at all for you. I tested very comprehensively.

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#24
iReece

iReece

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

No no. I did the same and it worked perfectly for me. I just don't understand why it worked perfectly for me and not at all for you. I tested very comprehensively.


I did:

Clean install.
Flashed the soft keys mod.
Flashed the special gapps provided by you.

  • 0

#25
iReece

iReece

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Hold on. This is interesting.

It's telling me it cannot reach google.

Voice search (old version) cannot connect
Voice search (newer version) said it cannot reach google at the moment, different to last time when it said to try again constantly.

Voice search for google is the same,

  • 0

#26
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
Got it.

Forgot to include an apk by mistake. Will post it up.

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#27
betterthanjordan79

betterthanjordan79

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Monte Carlo

Got it.

Forgot to include an apk by mistake. Will post it up.


Excelent :D

  • 0

#28
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
Guide fixed - the steps missing were part of 1 and 6.

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#29
betterthanjordan79

betterthanjordan79

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Monte Carlo

Guide fixed - the steps missing were part of 1 and 6.


Seems to be working now tilat6991!! Thanks very much!! Ill report back on how good it is in about an hour!

  • 0

#30
pbz1983

pbz1983

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dukinfield, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

THIS GUIDE ONLY WORKS ON JELLYBEAN BASED ROMs - ie. right now - my CFX2.
Download my special GAPPs package and the Voice Search apk from http://goo.im/devs/tilal6991/gapps
So you've installed a JB based ROM. What now?

  • Download my special GAPPs package and the Voice Search apk from http://goo.im/devs/tilal6991/gapps
  • Flash this in recovery
  • Reboot into JB
  • Set up your Google account etc.
  • Click the Google app in the app drawer
  • Install the Voice Search apk from step 1
  • Set up Google Now
  • You should see 3 Voice Search Icons in your app drawer - click the one saying Voice Search for Google Now
  • Click on the mic and say something to verify it works.
  • Go to Settings, Location Services and Enable "Google's Location Service"
  • Go back into Google Now (Google app) and click the menu button and go into settings
  • Go to privacy and accounts and enable "Location and Google Search" and "Search on Google.com"
  • And use Google Now as you please!

Any suggestions where I went wrong ??????????????????

I've made a clean install from CFX to CFX2

I flashed the rom & gapps without any issues.

I've also followed the steps above but can you clarify the below points.


5 **I assume you mean the 'VOICE SEARCH FOR GOOGLE NOW' icon ?
6 **I installed the apk via File explorer
7 **Is there a google now icon because I can't see one, do you mean the voice search for google now
9 **it acknowledged and repeated what I said then an error appeared
11 **do you mean the voice search for google now icon?
12 **do you mean system settings->location?*
13 And use Google Now as you please!

Since I changed step 12 when I speak into the phone it does not acknowledge the voice command or play it back. Instead after a couple of seconds it says 'sorry, i did not understand'

Edited by pbz1983, 20 July 2012 - 01:58 PM.

  • 0

#31
jul57640

jul57640

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
For me it works but only in english.
Thanks

  • 0

#32
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

Any suggestions where I went wrong ??????????????????

I've made a clean install from CFX to CFX2

I flashed the rom & gapps without any issues.

I've also followed the steps above but can you clarify the below points.


5 **I assume you mean the 'VOICE SEARCH FOR GOOGLE NOW' icon ?
6 **I installed the apk via File explorer
7 **Is there a google now icon because I can't see one, do you mean the voice search for google now
9 **it acknowledged and repeated what I said then an error appeared
11 **do you mean the voice search for google now icon?
12 **do you mean system settings->location?*
13 And use Google Now as you please!

Since I changed step 12 when I speak into the phone it does not acknowledge the voice command or play it back. Instead after a couple of seconds it says 'sorry, i did not understand'

5. No - I mean the app which has "Google" as a label.
6. That's fine.
7. The Google Now app is the app with "Google" as the label
9. That error shouldn't appear
11. No - the "Google" app
12. Yes

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#33
pbz1983

pbz1983

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dukinfield, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

5. No - I mean the app which has "Google" as a label.
6. That's fine.
7. The Google Now app is the app with "Google" as the label
9. That error shouldn't appear
11. No - the "Google" app
12. Yes


strange because I made a totally clean install and did not have a 'google' app Icon. WTF !

I flashed your modified gapps package on goo.im.
Out of curiosity, should the gapps include PLAY/GMAIL etc ? because after I flashed the package none of the two were installed I had to manually install the apk I had saved on my pc.

  • 0

#34
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150

strange because I made a totally clean install and did not have a 'google' app Icon. WTF !

I flashed your modified gapps package on goo.im.
Out of curiosity, should the gapps include PLAY/GMAIL etc ? because after I flashed the package none of the two were installed I had to manually install the apk I had saved on my pc.


Yeah - that means your system partition is too small. You need 230 for JellyBean with GAPPs. This will fall in later builds.

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#35
pbz1983

pbz1983

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dukinfield, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Yeah - that means your system partition is too small. You need 230 for JellyBean with GAPPs. This will fall in later builds.

I flashed SKATE v2b via tpt helper before I flashed the rom and sure that is 230 meg system.


I'm going to try it again

Thanks for the prompt assistance !

  • 0

#36
jtharmor

jtharmor

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 949 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Stake
I installed this yesterday but could not find most of the google apps after installing? Which TPT do i need ?

Edited by jtharmor, 20 July 2012 - 04:19 PM.

  • 0

#37
jul57640

jul57640

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
how can i make it works for french language ?
google now is in french but i can't choose french language for search voice

just for info when i reboot it stop working i have to reinstall voice search

Edited by jul57640, 20 July 2012 - 06:12 PM.

  • 0

#38
xhtml

xhtml

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

I flashed SKATE v2b via tpt helper before I flashed the rom and sure that is 230 meg system.


Isn't Skate v2b a 200 MB system? Don't you need a custom TPT?

  • 0

#39
pbz1983

pbz1983

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dukinfield, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Isn't Skate v2b a 200 MB system? Don't you need a custom TPT?


Yes, I was mistaking data & system but I ended up creating a custom TPT.

All sorted now :-)


The only frustrating issue for me is the phone constantly looks for GPS and keeps displaying a notification but I guess this is part of the functionality of Google Now. (Switching GPS off does not make any difference)

  • 0

#40
iReece

iReece

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Is it possible for the full Google Now to work on our skates?
I mean, not having to go through several other apps to get to it, simly holding home, swiping up and talking to Gn.

Would that be possible in the near future?.. :)
Or is google going to make it exclusive...

  • 1




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users