Jump to content


Photo

ClockworkMod Not Working on My SF II

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
beautifulily

beautifulily

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Kent, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent, LG T300
  • Twitter:@beautifulilies
So I bricked my phone and tried unbricking it myself, following these instructions with the help of a friend. We did everything, and now when I turn my phone on, the green man comes up, and LED light and camera light flashes (the latter didn't used to when I turned my phone on). Then the ClockworkMod Recovery (v3.0.1.4) thing comes up, which all sounds great - except when I scroll through the options and select any one of them, the ClockworkMod logo comes up and nothing happens. I've tried everything - rebooting, clearing data, backing up and restoring, I've tried all the options, and the ClockworkMod logo just comes up and nothing else happens no matter how long I leave it. (Incidentally, unlike some other people who have had this same problem, I know I'm pressing the right button to select an option.) If I press anything else, it just goes back to the options page. I tried installing another version of CWM and even tried CyanogenMod, but that completely failed ...

Can anyone tell me what I can do? I've been Googling endlessly, and I find others in the same position as me, but I can't use the same solutions as them for whatever reason. Or the download links in the posts are old and I can't use them. I'm not sure if I can take it to the shops to get fixed or not.

Compared to others here, I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to this kind of thing. I've unlocked phones before, but this is the first time I've bricked and unbricked it.

Help appreciated. Thank you!

  • 0

#2
shezar

shezar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Győr, Hungary
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@bugadani

So I bricked my phone and tried unbricking it myself, following these instructions with the help of a friend. We did everything, and now when I turn my phone on, the green man comes up, and LED light and camera light flashes (the latter didn't used to when I turned my phone on). Then the ClockworkMod Recovery (v3.0.1.4) thing comes up, which all sounds great - except when I scroll through the options and select any one of them, the ClockworkMod logo comes up and nothing happens. I've tried everything - rebooting, clearing data, backing up and restoring, I've tried all the options, and the ClockworkMod logo just comes up and nothing else happens no matter how long I leave it. (Incidentally, unlike some other people who have had this same problem, I know I'm pressing the right button to select an option.) If I press anything else, it just goes back to the options page. I tried installing another version of CWM and even tried CyanogenMod, but that completely failed ...

Can anyone tell me what I can do? I've been Googling endlessly, and I find others in the same position as me, but I can't use the same solutions as them for whatever reason. Or the download links in the posts are old and I can't use them. I'm not sure if I can take it to the shops to get fixed or not.

Compared to others here, I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to this kind of thing. I've unlocked phones before, but this is the first time I've bricked and unbricked it.

Help appreciated. Thank you!

Hey, I saw your post over at the Blade forum, but I think I can say something useful: first of all, ClockworkMod and CyanogenMod are two completely different things. CWM is a recovery software while CyanogenMod is a modified Android operating system. I won't go into details here...
So anyway, if your phone seems to be bricked, first of all you'll need a fresh Clockworkmod to be able to rescue your device. You've already flashed that (well, an old one but it should be good for now).
My first thought that may help is this:
Although you say you press the right button to start an action in recovery I suggest you try an other one ;) If only the logo pops up and all the text disappears, that is definitely not the right button. You probably pressed menu instead of home. Anyways if that doesn't help you should try to flash another version of CMW as your recovery via your computer. I don't tell you yet how to do it, first you really should try finding the right button and if you fail, report back.

If you manage to find the button that starts an action and not just brings up a standby-screen, you should try to make a backup first and try to flash the appropirate version of cyanogenmod. Those are pretty trivial from clockworkmod but we're here to help if you need more help. If all goes well, after these two steps you'll have a working phone and a copy of what's left of your previous data.

Good luck.

  • 0

#3
beautifulily

beautifulily

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Kent, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent, LG T300
  • Twitter:@beautifulilies

Hey, I saw your post over at the Blade forum, but I think I can say something useful: first of all, ClockworkMod and CyanogenMod are two completely different things. CWM is a recovery software while CyanogenMod is a modified Android operating system. I won't go into details here...
So anyway, if your phone seems to be bricked, first of all you'll need a fresh Clockworkmod to be able to rescue your device. You've already flashed that (well, an old one but it should be good for now).
My first thought that may help is this:
Although you say you press the right button to start an action in recovery I suggest you try an other one ;) If only the logo pops up and all the text disappears, that is definitely not the right button. You probably pressed menu instead of home. Anyways if that doesn't help you should try to flash another version of CMW as your recovery via your computer. I don't tell you yet how to do it, first you really should try finding the right button and if you fail, report back.

If you manage to find the button that starts an action and not just brings up a standby-screen, you should try to make a backup first and try to flash the appropirate version of cyanogenmod. Those are pretty trivial from clockworkmod but we're here to help if you need more help. If all goes well, after these two steps you'll have a working phone and a copy of what's left of your previous data.

Good luck.


Thanks for your reply. I tried all of the buttons - the menu one, home one, back one and the off button, but none of them work. I didn't download ClockworkMod, this thing I downloaded to unbrick my phone downloaded it for me, if that makes any sense. Still no luck, it's not doing anything besides going back and forth from the logo to the options menu.

  • 0

#4
shezar

shezar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Győr, Hungary
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@bugadani

Thanks for your reply. I tried all of the buttons - the menu one, home one, back one and the off button, but none of them work. I didn't download ClockworkMod, this thing I downloaded to unbrick my phone downloaded it for me, if that makes any sense. Still no luck, it's not doing anything besides going back and forth from the logo to the options menu.

I see. That actually makes sense, and it is probably a good thing it does because with CWM installed you have the ability to give command to the phone from the computer. What I'm going to suggest needs a lot of patience, a calm head and some software :) What I tell you gives you the ability to instruct your phone from the command line and we're going to install a new recovery that can actually do something.
You will need Google's ADB tool and drivers to your phone (I think you actually have it from burstlams guide). You should install ADB as a part of the Android SDK from here: http://developer.and...ling/index.html You will only need to install Tools and Platform tools, the two upper choices from the list. (In the topmost folder).
When you are done, connect your phone to your computer via USB cable. Open a command prompt (start -> run -> cmd) and type in: "adb devices" (without the quotes.) That should show your phone as the only item in a list. If you can see it, you're good. You should download a new recovery image (the .img file) from here: http://www.modaco.co...recovery-v6008/ and rename it to say "cwm.img" so you won't need to type so much later. Next you should push that file to your phone, like this: "adb push C:\Users\<your username>\Dowloads\cwm.img /sdcard/cwm.img" and if it is done, you can install it like this:
adb shell
flash_image recovery /sdcard/cwm.img

If all goes well, you can restart your phone and you can now boot into this new recovery if (well, on the blade at least this way...) you hold volume down (or vol. up if that doesn't work) while the phone starts.
Well I seriously hope I'm writing this down clearly... Don't worry, there's still hope.

Report back with your progress, please.

  • 0

#5
beautifulily

beautifulily

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Kent, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent, LG T300
  • Twitter:@beautifulilies
I installed Tolls and Platform Tools as you said, but the next bit isn't working - I connected my phone to my laptop via USB, but now my laptop isn't recognising my phone, like it did before, and when I tried running adb devices, the window said there was an error and closed down. I tried running adb devices again but the window just opens and closes itself as fast as it came.

  • 0

#6
shezar

shezar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Győr, Hungary
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@bugadani
Please open the cmd window first and then run the command, that way it won't close and we'll know what the error is. In the meantime I have some other things to do but I'll be back.

  • 0

#7
beautifulily

beautifulily

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Kent, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent, LG T300
  • Twitter:@beautifulilies
I did that - my phone isn't on the list of devices attached.

  • 0

#8
shezar

shezar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Győr, Hungary
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@bugadani
Sorry I didn't say, the phone must be turned on ...
Anyways if it is turned on (so it is in clockworkmod) and it still doesn't show up in the list, it's either the recovery that's not working properly or you don't have the proper drivers installed (they can be downloaded from here, but you may not need them: cmw.22aaf3.com/common/ZTE_Handset_USB_DriverV5.2066.1.8.exe). Sorry, this is a trial and error type of thing at this moment...
You should try entering into fastboot mode (sorry, I'm not sure how, you should hold down one or two buttons (probably vol+, or vol+ and menu, but i'm not sure here) while the phone starts) and you successfully do that (I believe the screen will only display the green android), you can try the "fastboot devices" command. If that doesn't work either, you need to download the usb drivers and try this again. If this doesn't work... I recommend you search for zte crescent unbricking on google, maybe that will be more help than I am. :)
Anyways the next checkpoint should be when the phone is recognised by either fastboot, or adb.

  • 0

#9
beautifulily

beautifulily

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Kent, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent, LG T300
  • Twitter:@beautifulilies
I tried all of that - none of it worked. My phone doesn't seem to like being in fastboot mode - I tried the volume up + on button, held it down for five seconds, but it still went to CWM. I tried the volume down + on button in case I was misinformed, but that didn't work either. It just goes straight to CWM. I downloaded the USB drivers, or tried; nothing. I Googled how to get adb to recognise my phone, and I followed those instructions, but each set of instructions requires my phone to go into fastboot mode - which it doesn't. Nothing seems to be working xD

  • 0

#10
shezar

shezar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Győr, Hungary
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@bugadani

I tried all of that - none of it worked. My phone doesn't seem to like being in fastboot mode - I tried the volume up + on button, held it down for five seconds, but it still went to CWM. I tried the volume down + on button in case I was misinformed, but that didn't work either. It just goes straight to CWM. I downloaded the USB drivers, or tried; nothing. I Googled how to get adb to recognise my phone, and I followed those instructions, but each set of instructions requires my phone to go into fastboot mode - which it doesn't. Nothing seems to be working xD


Try pressing vol -, or both if possible. Keep on trying, you can't break it if you experiment, but maybe you get it to fastboot.

  • 0

#11
beautifulily

beautifulily

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Kent, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent, LG T300
  • Twitter:@beautifulilies
I tried that, it didn't work. I've tried nearly everything - but my phone doesn't go into fastboot mode, just goes to CWM.

  • 0

#12
shezar

shezar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Győr, Hungary
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@bugadani
Well I would be out of ideas at this point but if you have an sdcard for your phone and a card-reader, you can try doing a TPT, there's one here with a short guide: http://www.modaco.co...70-tpt-for-sf2/ It's considered a risky process but this is a sort-of last resort in this situation. After this you'll get a working recovery and a nice partition layout so you can install almost any roms you like.

Edited by shezar, 26 July 2012 - 04:53 PM.

  • 0

#13
shezar

shezar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Győr, Hungary
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@bugadani
Double post ...

Edited by shezar, 26 July 2012 - 04:53 PM.

  • 0

#14
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade
personally I'd just flash a blank TPT, like the one I created. The CWM will be over written with a newer one and the phone wiped. then install any rom you like.... CM9 Daz's is recommended. Chose the right version though be careful here... (P736V rom is SF2)

follow the instructions to the LETTER here for TPT: http://www.modaco.co...70-tpt-for-sf2/

Chris

Edit: sorry above post already made by shezar.

great minds think alike etc... :)

Edited by chris231, 26 July 2012 - 06:01 PM.

  • 0
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#15
shezar

shezar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Győr, Hungary
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@bugadani

personally I'd just flash a blank TPT, like the one I created. The CWM will be over written with a newer one and the phone wiped. then install any rom you like.... CM9 Daz's is recommended. Chose the right version though be careful here... (P736V rom is SF2)

follow the instructions to the LETTER here for TPT: http://www.modaco.co...70-tpt-for-sf2/

Chris

Edit: sorry above post already made by shezar.

great minds think alike etc... :)

One can never be sure if she has a card reader, and recommending TPT first is a bit risky to my taste. She had a chance to fix the phone without it, since a rescue program recognised the phone already. I like doing things from safe to risky, while it takes longer, it bricks the phones less frequently :)

  • 0

#16
beautifulily

beautifulily

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Kent, UK
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent, LG T300
  • Twitter:@beautifulilies
Thanks for all the help :3 I'll try these tonight and get back to you guys later. And, yes, I do have an SD card reader. Those things are essential xD

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users