Jump to content


Photo

Can we" hack " the UI opengl acceleration ?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1
adrien56

adrien56

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vannes, FRANCE
  • Devices:Huawei G300, ZTE blade
i think that we should start working on it now and maybe create a custom ROM based on official b926 or b227 .otherwise we can wait for a long time and maybe huawei will never fix it .I'm not a developer but it seems possible as the blade got it work so what are we waiting for .And what about jelly bean the development has stopped as cm9.

  • 0

#2
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male
I don't think we should implement OpenGL into the leaked ICS builds as Huawei are definitely using OpenGL in the Official UK release. You should have a look through the forums.

Edited by kyan31, 29 July 2012 - 02:51 PM.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#3
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male

Attached Files


Edited by kyan31, 29 July 2012 - 02:55 PM.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#4
dragpyre

dragpyre

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:kumquat, grouper
  • Twitter:@dragpyre

LOOK:


Love it when my material gets used! :3

  • 1
Posted Image

If you like one of my posts, or if it helps you out, vote it up! :)

(now updated device list and added twitter. Come stalk me ;) )

#5
unaszplodrmann

unaszplodrmann

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
It has been looked into, but at this stage, getting it working would result breakage elsewhere. Huawei have not even released an official ICS ROM yet, so they may even fix it up yet... Patience.

  • 0
Kill the bee... and ultimately... you'll have nothing to spread on your toast — John Shuttleworth

#6
Hans Gruber

Hans Gruber

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

I don't think we should implement OpenGL into the leaked ICS builds as Huawei are definitely using OpenGL in the Official UK release. You should have a look through the forums.


I'll still believe it when I see it

  • 1

#7
adrien56

adrien56

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vannes, FRANCE
  • Devices:Huawei G300, ZTE blade

I don't think we should implement OpenGL into the leaked ICS builds as Huawei are definitely using OpenGL in the Official UK release. You should have a look through the forums.

you're right i already seen it ,but for me it does not mean that we are going to have it because b627 will be the official build use by vodafone and vodafone is just going to add some apps and colour .that's all they can do .i think we wil have to wait for another build from huawei but when ? i don't want to wait 1 month or 2 month just for the opengl stuff whereas a lot of developpers are working on jellybeen already in other devices .

  • 0

#8
dragpyre

dragpyre

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:kumquat, grouper
  • Twitter:@dragpyre
Guys, I just checked my twitter also!

Posted Image

  • 0
Posted Image

If you like one of my posts, or if it helps you out, vote it up! :)

(now updated device list and added twitter. Come stalk me ;) )

#9
adrien56

adrien56

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vannes, FRANCE
  • Devices:Huawei G300, ZTE blade
moreover when ics came to the ZTE blade, i remember that they hacked (tital) the opengl UI stuff and it wasn't a very big problem. Concerning the g300 just because of the missing opengl acceleration developpers has stoped working on ROM .

Edited by adrien56, 29 July 2012 - 03:04 PM.

  • 0

#10
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
There is more to it than that adrien. There are issues other than opengl.

Kyan, dont always believe corporate speak. Even Vodafone are disinterested.

  • 0

#11
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
I was hoping that the Grand X was going to have the specs that we all expected and if so, I was going to sell the g300 and get one. Sadly the grand x specs aren't what I expected.

  • 0

#12
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male

Love it when my material gets used! :3


Your welcome.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#13
razzmataz1478

razzmataz1478

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HULL
  • Interests:Flashing ROMs, Being distracted by my skate
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

I was hoping that the Grand X was going to have the specs that we all expected and if so, I was going to sell the g300 and get one. Sadly the grand x specs aren't what I expected.


What's wrong with the Grand X. Except it should be £150

  • 0

Posted Image

Current Phone:

Xperia T


Previous Phones:

Orange Monte Carlo

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic (Nokia C6-00 CFW)

Sony Ericsson v640i

Nokia 3120

Various other Nokia phones.

Not the best history of phones Posted Image


#14
Davidoff59

Davidoff59

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,317 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco, G300
I expected more Rom and a higher clock speed. The Chinese version has 1 gig of ram and it seems that with the change of name from the mimosa x came a change of specs to the detriment of European customers

  • 0

#15
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,871 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Z3 Compact

I expected more Rom and a higher clock speed. The Chinese version has 1 gig of ram and it seems that with the change of name from the mimosa x came a change of specs to the detriment of European customers


check the thread again, its pretty much confirmed to actually have the specs it should have 1gb ram etc....
think virgin media made a blunder with the specs lol i had a felling they where wrong...

  • 0

#16
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300

What's wrong with the Grand X. Except it should be £150


Even at £150 it looks weak having dual core rather than the quad core in the Nexus 7 @ £169

  • 0

Posted Image


#17
MiguelPereira

MiguelPereira

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Photography, Computers, Phones, money, Happiness.
  • Devices:LG Prada P940
  • Twitter:@MiguelPereira73
Hi everyone!
From a newbie point of view, I'd like to ask something about this "OpenGL Acceleration"...
I'm on Rom B927. When I go to "Settings" I come down to "Developer options" - "Force GPU Rendering" (Use 2D hardware acceleration in applications)... I have this checked.
Is this the "path" to "OpenGL"?!
Just curious about it....

  • 0

#18
unaszplodrmann

unaszplodrmann

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Hey Miguel,

OpenGL is the industry's most widely used, supported and best documented 2D/3D graphics API...

http://www.opengl.org/documentation/


In your Android manifest file, add the following attribute to the <application> tag to enable hardware acceleration for your entire application:

<application android:hardwareAccelerated="true" ...>

http://developer.and...ware-accel.html


Checking the 'Force GPU Rendering' effectively sets the attribute above in every application, meaning that where possible Android will have OpenGL interface with Adreno 200 graphic hardware in order to complete special rendering tasks, instead of having OpenGL complete these tasks itself via the CPU, in "software".

  • 1
Kill the bee... and ultimately... you'll have nothing to spread on your toast — John Shuttleworth

#19
MiguelPereira

MiguelPereira

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Photography, Computers, Phones, money, Happiness.
  • Devices:LG Prada P940
  • Twitter:@MiguelPereira73

Hey Miguel,





Checking the 'Force GPU Rendering' effectively sets the attribute above in every application, meaning that where possible Android will have OpenGL interface with Adreno 200 graphic hardware in order to complete special rendering tasks, instead of having OpenGL complete these tasks itself via the CPU, in "software".


Thanks!
This community is the best online forum experience I've had so far! :D

Edited by MiguelPereira, 30 July 2012 - 01:08 PM.

  • 0

#20
rsrocha

rsrocha

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
And when opengl is implemented globally and permanentely people will complain about battery life...

Opengl is present and running on ics b927... only when needed!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users