Jump to content


Photo

Anyone back on Gingerbread

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
maritimesbob

maritimesbob

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall, UK
  • Devices:Nexus 4, HTC One X+
Has anyone tried out ICS on their G300 and decided to go back to Gingerbread?

Been on ICS for about two weeks now, currently running the early Modaco ICS rom. I find it quite a bit more laggy than Gingerbread. I'm guessing this is because of the lack of OpenGL to blame.

Very tempted to go back to Gingerbread but I have found the downgrade guides a bit confusing with all the posts and people offering different ways.

Has anyone got a "simple" tutorial for going back to Gingerbread? I appreciate the cautious approach is needed, backing up the imei etc.

  • 0

#2
wwwjunk

wwwjunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
It's easy. I've been doing it with b894, b926 and b927 with no issues at all.

backup your imei and put backup in some place safe
restore imei to 0
flash rom you want
root phone and restore your original imei

Edited by wwwjunk, 29 July 2012 - 07:33 PM.

  • 0

#3
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

It's easy. I've been doing it with b894, b926 and b927 with no issues at all.

backup your imei and put backup in some place safe
restore imei to 0
flash rom you want
root phone and restore your original imei

once u go to ICS it locks ur bootloader doesnt it?
does that mean if u did u'd have to use unlockbootlaoder.exe to root & unlock the bootloader?

  • 0

#4
ovecka

ovecka

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I used http://www.modaco.co...ade-tool-found/ method with the middlepackage update.app that worked flawlessly. It's just as easy as flashing any other official UPDATE.APP ROM.

Edited by ovecka, 29 July 2012 - 07:59 PM.

  • 0

#5
wwwjunk

wwwjunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
If you go to ics bootloader is locked. Use bootloader.exe to unlock.
You only need it unlocked if you want to install cwm. You don't need bootloader unlocked just to root in ics.

It's that easy: backup imei, change imei to 0, flash rom, root, restore original imei.

I don't use bootloader.exe because i use linux (f*** windows). Someone around here found a way to discover what bootloader.exe does and posted instructions. Sorry can't remember who was....

Edited by wwwjunk, 29 July 2012 - 08:11 PM.

  • 0

#6
maritimesbob

maritimesbob

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall, UK
  • Devices:Nexus 4, HTC One X+
Ok, so the downgrade tool is a possibility but there it is all seems a but uncertain.

I am currently on the Modaco Rom ICS based off 926. I wish to downgrade to B888, hopefully I can also root and install cwm.

The tool will downgrade me so that I can install B888? Will I then be able to root and install cwm?

I still need to backup emei? I'll do this anyway.

  • 0

#7
wwwjunk

wwwjunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Never used that middlepackage so can't help with that. If you use imei 0 trick it will work.
You have at least two options to try ;) Just go for it. One or another, just try and see.

  • 0

#8
ovecka

ovecka

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
The tool will simply allow you to install the official B888 ROM. From there you can do whatever you want with it, be it rooting or installing CWM, ...
You simply flash the middlepackage the usual update.app way and after that you are free to flash B888 the same way. Just follow the guide. There aren't any changes to IMEI but I've backed it up anyway just to be sure.

  • 0

#9
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
The middle package doesn't work for everyone (no idea why). I tried it and it just hung so had to use the Imei 0 method.

  • 0

#10
maritimesbob

maritimesbob

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall, UK
  • Devices:Nexus 4, HTC One X+
So how do I change the IMEI to zero?

  • 0

#11
ovecka

ovecka

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
https://docs.google....QHNo/edit?pli=1

but try the middlepackage way first.

  • 0

#12
schkinx

schkinx

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:england
  • Devices:xolo x900 .. Nexus 7 cm10
Tried B927 and running out of memory , always have around 170-190mb free on the B8** roms but only getting around 60mb free on B927 , so i'm going back to GB

  • 0

#13
Hogweed

Hogweed

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 392 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Tried B927 and running out of memory , always have around 170-190mb free on the B8** roms but only getting around 60mb free on B927 , so i'm going back to GB

If you really do "always have about 170-190mb" free on B8** ROMs then you are arguably wasting the phone's capabilities! Might as well get Huawei to sell the phone with only 350 MB RAM :-)

I'm still on GB but with Holo Launcher (ICS style launcher) and boy does it eat my RAM. Obviously has a serious memory leak. Starts off taking less than 30MB but works its way up towards 100 over time. Had to put up the VM memory limits to prevent it hanging in fact. I do have quite a lot of apps installed though and have been playing with loads of widgets across multiple home screens etc. and my constant screen editing may be triggering the memory leaks. I consider the memory there to be used though and if it gives me a much "sexier" phone into the bargain, I'm all for it. I do have memory management tweaked in ROM toolbox as well as build.prop and I find that memory is freed up rapidly when needed for a new app. Heavy games players might have issues though but my limited game playing still seems smooth enough.

But despite the bugs (it is still fairly new) I love it - makes the phone so much nicer to use, but I do restart the launcher a couple of times a day. Holo Launcher at https://play.google....olauncher&hl=en

Bottom line - go by how the phone "feels" not by how much free RAM it has. Even 60MB of free RAM is enough for many average apps and the phone will free up more if needed.

Edited by Hogweed, 30 July 2012 - 04:29 PM.

  • 0

#14
schkinx

schkinx

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:england
  • Devices:xolo x900 .. Nexus 7 cm10
I leave advanced task killer to sort out the memory management , and it does " Normally " sit around 170 - 190 mb once its done its job . I have never had any problems with the phone slowing down or feeling sluggish .

I was simply referring to the fact that there is over 100mb of memory being lost somewhere , considering ICS is supposed to be more efficient .

Edited by schkinx, 30 July 2012 - 05:11 PM.

  • 0

#15
wwwjunk

wwwjunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Not lost somewhere. ICS uses more ram than gingerbread. But ram is there to be used.
I have ICS and it only has 50MB free all the time. And it's smooooth.
Empty ram = wasted ram = wasted money ;)

PS: no task killers here. Never used that.

Edited by wwwjunk, 30 July 2012 - 05:14 PM.

  • 0

#16
schkinx

schkinx

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:england
  • Devices:xolo x900 .. Nexus 7 cm10
Thanks guys , i never knew that lol :)

  • 0

#17
Hogweed

Hogweed

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 392 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

I leave advanced task killer to sort out the memory management , and it does " Normally " sit around 170 - 190 mb once its done its job . I have never had any problems with the phone slowing down or feeling sluggish .


But if you run a previously used app which has now been culled by the aggressive task killer it must be slower to start than if it hadn't been killed. Why on earth would you want to kill sufficient in-memory apps just to have about 180 MB free at all time? That really seems like total overkill to me - Android left them in memory for a reason after all.

But if you are fine with your phone the way it is then that's what really matters but you might want to experiment a bit if you wish.

Edited by Hogweed, 30 July 2012 - 05:35 PM.

  • 0

#18
schkinx

schkinx

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:england
  • Devices:xolo x900 .. Nexus 7 cm10
more of an old habit than anything lol , I've removed the task killer and gonna see how it goes :)

  • 0

#19
maritimesbob

maritimesbob

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall, UK
  • Devices:Nexus 4, HTC One X+

I used http://www.modaco.co...ade-tool-found/ method with the middlepackage update.app that worked flawlessly. It's just as easy as flashing any other official UPDATE.APP ROM.


Ok, so I flash the above update then what, do I then need to flash B888?

Also, do I need to run the update every time I wish to flash a GB rom, even a custom rom through cwm?

I am unsure what the above tool does apart from allowing a downgrade possible.

Edited by maritimesbob, 30 July 2012 - 08:49 PM.

  • 0

#20
ovecka

ovecka

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Ok, so I flash the above update then what, do I then need to flash B888?

Also, do I need to run the update every time I wish to flash a GB rom, even a custom rom through cwm?

I am unsure what the above tool does apart from allowing a downgrade possible.


1) Yes, you can flash B888 the same way.
2) No, only when coming from ICS to GB or vice versa.
3) I have no idea but it does what I want it to do. :)

Edited by ovecka, 31 July 2012 - 06:11 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users