Jump to content


Photo

Best A2SD method?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200
Right let's face it. The built in method of a2sd just doesn't work. I barely had any apps installed and get memory full with all possible apps moved to sd.

I think the options are,

Link2sd, tried this but requires a lot of user interaction even set to auto link.

Demon (I think it's called that?), requires initial setup in terminal.

Old style (Pauls script), I used to have a script that I think Paul wrote. Place it in init.d and it automatically make all apps go to ext.

What do you think is the best way? Does anyone have Pauls script lying around?

As a note I barely play any games so my space issues are from just general apps!

  • 0

#2
Liamness

Liamness

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco II
  • Twitter:@liamness
I have to move the cache too if I want to install a lot of apps. Probably affects performance slightly.

  • 0

#3
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade
which rom are you using? If on the CM9 just install the A2SD zip in CWM recovery, partition the sd card (in recovery), then install a2sdgui from play store and set to install on sd card.
job done.

could also consider re-partitioning the phone if space is an issue.

Edited by chris231, 06 August 2012 - 11:27 AM.

  • 1
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#4
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200
Thanks for suggestions guys. Think I'm already on the minimum partition size for cm9.

  • 0

#5
CurtisAndroidSF2

CurtisAndroidSF2

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartlepool
  • Interests:Graphic Design, Music, Photography, Android, Technology & Gaming.
  • Devices:HUAWEI ASCEND P1
I'm currently running FNC but I've previously ran CM9 and CM7, and on each ROM I just partitioned my SD via CWM, flashed the A2SD zip file via CWM then downloaded A2SDGUI from the Market then went to Dalvik Cache, selected Dalvik Cache on SD-EXT then clicked Move and Rebuild- Phone rebooted then I had around 150mb of internal and I'm still on about 130 and I have 70 apps installed.

Thanks, hope this helps.

  • 1

Devices


Huawei Ascend P1 (Untouched, for now)

iPhone 4 16gb Jailbroke (6.1.3 semi-tethered) (Sold)

HTC ONE V (Unlocked Bootloader/TWRP installed) running CM10 (Sold)

ZTE Crescent (OSF2)- Paranoid Android 4.1 (Sold)

Samsung Galaxy I5500- CM7 (Sold)

________________________________

My Photography


My Ported Roms:

MoKeeOS (Alpha) | GB MIUI (Alpha) | KonstaKang (Alpha)

| AtomicMod (Beta) |

SwedishSnow (Fully working) | H3 Blues


Help me by testing out my ported ROMs and let me know what works/doesn't work and post here


#6
gabriwinter

gabriwinter

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
I use links2sd and I've never had any problems with autolink

  • 0

#7
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade

Thanks for suggestions guys. Think I'm already on the minimum partition size for cm9.


you could also consider a 200mb partition for cm9. You just need to remove the unecessary apk apps from the rom(zip) and gapps before flashing.

my cm9 + gapps uses about 180mb system.

use a (tiny) app called diskinfo to see what your partitions are...

  • 0
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#8
emulov

emulov

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Hello from Russia))

please explain in detail how to configure?
rom CM9 200mb partitioning

Edited by emulov, 07 August 2012 - 11:28 AM.

  • 0

#9
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
I always used to run "a2sd cachesdreset" on stock partitioning and never have any problems.

Obviously that changes in Jelly Bean...

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

You're likely to get a quicker response from me on Twitter.

#10
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade

Hello from Russia))

please explain in detail how to configure?
rom CM9 200mb partitioning


If not already done so, TPT over to the phone you new partition layout. (see TPTs on the forum) be careful to choose one matches your phone.
These will wipe the phone (ie delete everything)

get the CM9 rom and gapps.

extract the zips and delete out apks and other stuff you don't use/need. This has been discussed on the CM9 thread.
re-zip the rom and gapps, make sure that the directory structure remains intact.

I normally auto-sign them (google auto-sign), this may not be necessary if you turn off verification in CWM recovery.

then flash as normal.

  • 0
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#11
emulov

emulov

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

If not already done so, TPT over to the phone you new partition layout. (see TPTs on the forum) be careful to choose one matches your phone.
These will wipe the phone (ie delete everything)

get the CM9 rom and gapps.

extract the zips and delete out apks and other stuff you don't use/need. This has been discussed on the CM9 thread.
re-zip the rom and gapps, make sure that the directory structure remains intact.

I normally auto-sign them (google auto-sign), this may not be necessary if you turn off verification in CWM recovery.

then flash as normal.

Thank you! I know how to) I can flash, removed the unnecessary ... tell me in detail how to configure A2SD

Edited by emulov, 09 August 2012 - 06:32 PM.

  • 0

#12
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade
You need to partition your SD card if you haven't already.
Doing this will delete all data on the sd card. So backup first.
Boot into cwm recovery and use the menus to partition sd. I'd select 512mb for the size or less.
Select zero for swap and allow to run.
Now using the mount usb option copy over the a2sd scrpt from Daz's post and install.

The above should be done after installing the ROM and gapps.
Now bootup phone
Install a2sdgui from play store.
Run this and make sure that zipalign and apps on sd are light.
Reboot if you toggle these settings.
Now apps are and will b installed to the sd card

  • 0
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#13
the_crevis

the_crevis

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, ZTE Crescent
  • Twitter:@the_crevis
I'm on cm9 (just got a second hand mint condition vivacity for £31 off ebay ;) ) and i've partitioned my sdcard but links2sd doesn't won't work, if i flash the a2sd script the phone won't boot up and s2e doesn't think i have a partition, neither does freespace. However, my pc recognises the 512mb partition and i've tried formatting it in fat32, ext2 and ext3, nothing works. I recon its a problem with the ext partition not being mounted, its driving me nuts cause i need more space for apps! any ideas?

  • 0
LG Nexus 4 (daily driver) - CM10.2
ZTE Crescent (backup) - CM9
ZTE Blade - Deceased
If I helped you at all then remember to hit that green up arrow! Posted Image

#14
emulov

emulov

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Now using the mount usb option copy over the a2sd scrpt from Daz's post and install.


it? http://crescent.theb...2-a2sd-ext3.zip

  • 1

#15
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade

it? http://crescent.theb...2-a2sd-ext3.zip


yes once you've partitioned the sd card in CWM, install this in CWM

then bootup and install a2sdgui from play and set zipalign and apps2sd

  • 0
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#16
chris231

chris231

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton-on-Trent, Staffs
  • Interests:Barefoot waterskiing.
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent(SF2) + Blade

I'm on cm9 (just got a second hand mint condition vivacity for £31 off ebay ;) ) and i've partitioned my sdcard but links2sd doesn't won't work, if i flash the a2sd script the phone won't boot up and s2e doesn't think i have a partition, neither does freespace. However, my pc recognises the 512mb partition and i've tried formatting it in fat32, ext2 and ext3, nothing works. I recon its a problem with the ext partition not being mounted, its driving me nuts cause i need more space for apps! any ideas?


never had this happen before....
did you do the partitioning in CWM recovery? if yes then good... (partition only 512mb)
did you flash rom, then gapps, then a2sd and then boot? if yes then good...

the partitioning should really be done before all this flashing (or a least that's how I prefer it)

once booted up install a2sdgui and forget all the other apps to do with moving apps about or the whole thing will probably go bad.
diskinfo is good for checking what's going on.

if you go down the S2E option then I don't thing you should be flashing the a2sd.zip file, will likely conflict.

Chris

Edited by chris231, 15 August 2012 - 12:33 PM.

  • 1
If my post helps you out please click the green up arrow.
Thanks

#17
cartwheelbob

cartwheelbob

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:ZTE Crescent (Vivacity)

never had this happen before....
did you do the partitioning in CWM recovery? if yes then good... (partition only 512mb)
did you flash rom, then gapps, then a2sd and then boot? if yes then good...

the partitioning should really be done before all this flashing (or a least that's how I prefer it)

once booted up install a2sdgui and forget all the other apps to do with moving apps about or the whole thing will probably go bad.
diskinfo is good for checking what's going on.

if you go down the S2E option then I don't thing you should be flashing the a2sd.zip file, will likely conflict.

Chris


Did you get the micro SD card with the phone? Try a different one, even buy a new one they are cheap as chips. There should be no issue with paritioning if you use CWM to do so, the partition should be recognised by your phone and a2sd no problem. I have even tried 1gb partition just messing about and still didnt have an issue.

Sorry meant to multi quote-
the_crevis I'm on cm9 (just got a second hand mint condition vivacity for £31 off ebay ;) ) and i've partitioned my sdcard but links2sd doesn't won't work, if i flash the a2sd script the phone won't boot up and s2e doesn't think i have a partition, neither does freespace. However, my pc recognises the 512mb partition and i've tried formatting it in fat32, ext2 and ext3, nothing works. I recon its a problem with the ext partition not being mounted, its driving me nuts cause i need more space for apps! any ideas?

Edited by cartwheelbob, 15 August 2012 - 01:59 PM.

  • 1

#18
Bob Mann

Bob Mann

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
i find that cwm isnt the best for sd card partitioning, i prefer to use http://www.partitionwizard.com create a fat32 partition first and then create the rest as ext2 i only use 512mb partition too (the card is a 16gb Kingston Class 4) but was slightly over by a couple mb just to be sure.

I use a2sdgui to move the cache to sd card.

then i go into the console as su,
then run

pm setInstallLocation 2

so i dont have to manage moving applications to my SD card.

I dont notice any performance issues like i used to have with data2sd used with the HTC Desire (my old phone) 2-3 apps would fill a desires internal memory in no time lol

  • 0

#19
lohtse

lohtse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Too Many.HTC/Samsung/XDA/ZTE
am on fish n chips and be buggered if apps will install to ext partition...

any ideas why?

tried links2sd and keeps requiring to remount script followed by a reboot.. so is some what pointless...

  • 0

#20
the_crevis

the_crevis

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, ZTE Crescent
  • Twitter:@the_crevis

it? http://crescent.theb...2-a2sd-ext3.zip

never had this happen before....
did you do the partitioning in CWM recovery? if yes then good... (partition only 512mb)
did you flash rom, then gapps, then a2sd and then boot? if yes then good...

the partitioning should really be done before all this flashing (or a least that's how I prefer it)

once booted up install a2sdgui and forget all the other apps to do with moving apps about or the whole thing will probably go bad.
diskinfo is good for checking what's going on.

if you go down the S2E option then I don't thing you should be flashing the a2sd.zip file, will likely conflict.

Chris


Did you get the micro SD card with the phone? Try a different one, even buy a new one they are cheap as chips. There should be no issue with paritioning if you use CWM to do so, the partition should be recognised by your phone and a2sd no problem. I have even tried 1gb partition just messing about and still didnt have an issue.

Thanks for the help guys! :) in the end for some reason the a2sd script that i got off darktremors website made the phone not bootup :S but then i tried the linked a2sd script above and it worked perfectly! :) Don't know why it was so hard to get it to work :L I'm a n00b at the a2sd thing but i thought i was reasonably good with the whole android thing! :P

Edited by the_crevis, 15 August 2012 - 09:42 PM.

  • 0
LG Nexus 4 (daily driver) - CM10.2
ZTE Crescent (backup) - CM9
ZTE Blade - Deceased
If I helped you at all then remember to hit that green up arrow! Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users