Jump to content


Photo

I need some advice

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1
kn100

kn100

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate OMC
Hello, I bought the G300 in the hopes it would be a swap in upgrade for my previously excellent ZTE Skate. Ever since I've had it, it's been nothing but trouble:
  • Wifi reception is TERRIBLE. Compared to my Monte Carlo and pretty much every other wifi device I own, this one can barely hold a signal where the others have no problem.
  • Network reception is pretty terrible - I get 0 bars where my old monte carlo would have 2 or 3
  • Calls drop a lot - Self explanatory
  • Occasional lock ups - I'll just start using the phone and it'll lock up for a few seconds and then continue on its way like nothings happened
In a hope to fix this, I did the official upgrade to ICS. Now I've managed to get back down to Gingerbread with my IMEI and all that, it works fine, the issue is, I want to return this piece of crap, as there STILL hasn't been an official ICS update as promised to me by staff there, and I've generally not really had a good time with this phone. The problem is, my bootloader is showing the chinese network rather than voda.

How do I get my bootloader from this chinese one back to stock or at least so it looks stock? Can I change the image or something?

Also any advice on getting a straight return for cash, I don't want a repair and I don't want store credit.

  • 0

#2
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
Flash the ROM below the same way you did the ICS update (dload folder etc) and you will be back to stock exactly as when it was brand new - stock splash, stock boot anim and vodafone branded.

http://www.flibblesa...ne_05010XJM.zip

You might need to downgrade again first via the I5romtoolbox I'm not sure if you can do a straight flash from GB without the downgrade.

  • 0

#3
dfvt

dfvt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy tab 7 Ascend g300
  • Twitter:@dfvtavares
You should return that unit and get a new one

  • 0

#4
kn100

kn100

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate OMC
Nah, I'm done with the G300 - Seeing how willing Huawei were to put out such a crap ICS update and the problems I've had with this thing - I think I'mma just upgrade to the xperia u.

Don't get me wrong, the phone was pretty excellent. It's just a few small annoyances that make it extremely annoying to use as a smartphone.

Edited by kn100, 07 August 2012 - 01:24 PM.

  • 0

#5
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
I admit the G300 ain't perfect and I can understand changing to another phone after having that crap but that is clearly a faulty unit, mine certainly doesn't suffer from the problems you list above.

  • 0

#6
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300
You did official ICS update??

And you also say there is no Official ICS update??

So what "official" update(s) did you apply??

"Leaked Official" Update(s)...??

This is a new definition of "Official"

The device is far from crap, IMHO..

it is a well specified budget Android handset running GB, being sold at a knock down price.....

and I am still waiting for ICS, as Official ICS has not been released.

Edited by irishpancake, 07 August 2012 - 01:43 PM.

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#7
diddydavro

diddydavro

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottinghamshire
I've read in various threads that several people have tried downloading B882 from the forum and flashing it, but the download folder doesn't have the vendor file, so toggles and the Vodafone branding is missing?

  • 0

Huawei Ascend G510, Moto G, Nokia Asha 201, Samsung Galaxy Tab3 / 8", Samsung Galaxy Tab3 / 7", Google Chromecast 


#8
anything-but

anything-but

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Higham,Kent.
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
There has been no *official* ics and anyway, we'll get it when they want to release it, not when we want it. :)

  • 0

#9
dragpyre

dragpyre

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:kumquat, grouper
  • Twitter:@dragpyre
All the flak I get in my thread, and here's a thread with pretty similar issues.


Flash the ROM below the same way you did the ICS update (dload folder etc) and you will be back to stock exactly as when it was brand new - stock splash, stock boot anim and vodafone branded.

http://www.flibblesa...ne_05010XJM.zip

You might need to downgrade again first via the I5romtoolbox I'm not sure if you can do a straight flash from GB without the downgrade.


It's not vodafone branded because there is no Vendor file. Vodafone apps and toggles will be missing.

You did official ICS update??

And you also say there is no Official ICS update??

So what "official" update(s) did you apply??


He clearly states the following:

How do I get my bootloader from this chinese one back to stock or at least so it looks stock? Can I change the image or something?



So he flashed B926, which IS official (in China anyway)

I created this document highlighting the issues with my phone: https://docs.google....ekdhTU01NUNySTA
Printed off the issues with the phone from Modaco and Vodafone's forums.
Took it with me to the store, handed it to them.

Suffice to say, my £110 appeared back in my account this morning.

Good luck.

  • 0
Posted Image

If you like one of my posts, or if it helps you out, vote it up! :)

(now updated device list and added twitter. Come stalk me ;) )

#10
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

It's not vodafone branded because there is no Vendor file. Vodafone apps and toggles will be missing.

Strange, it says UK Vodafone in the file name and when I used it I am pretty sure my phone went back to exactly how it was when I bought it, same wallpaper, same splash screen everything.

  • 0

#11
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP, GalaxyTab 2 7.0"

I've read in various threads that several people have tried downloading B882 from the forum and flashing it, but the download folder doesn't have the vendor file, so toggles and the Vodafone branding is missing?

diito
i flashed it over ics and it broke some of the parts of the phone(ie camera and contacts,and no toggles on the notification bar)

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#12
luvvt

luvvt

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Devices:G300
Yep just reinsatlled B882 from B927 and no notification toggles

Re: Boot logo, i found that when you reinstate the imei, the boot logo reverts back to the chinese version boot logo. This was carried over from saving the imei from B926.

Solution for me was to install this rom over ics .........http://www.modaco.com/topic/355563-romics-miuiv4-274-for-the-huawei-ascend-g300last-updated-0407/

Then flashing sebastians boot logo .........http://www.modaco.com/topic/353530-mod-change-your-splash-screen/

Resaving the imei with the new boot logo whilst still on on miuv4-274

Applying this new imei saved img after installation of new rom.

As for the vendor file i am yet to find a solution.

I have gone back to B885 as is the only official stock release ota in preperation for official ics

http://forum.vodafon...ei-ascend-g300/

  • 0

#13
Konstipated Kiwi

Konstipated Kiwi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 254 posts
Vodafone staff were wrong to promise you an ICS update by this time. Huawei themselves have only ever indicated it would be released in Q3 (i.e. between the start of July and the end of September).

It does sound as though you've got a dodgy unit, though, judging by your comments. If you have the extra dosh to spare then by all means buy a more expensive model (I would, if I could). However, if £100 is the extent of your budget then I, personally, would persevere with getting your handset replaced. You won't get a better specced Android phone on this budget. The only comparable one I can think of is the Lumia 710, which is a Windows phone.

  • 0

#14
dragpyre

dragpyre

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:kumquat, grouper
  • Twitter:@dragpyre

Vodafone staff were wrong to promise you an ICS update by this time. Huawei themselves have only ever indicated it would be released in Q3 (i.e. between the start of July and the end of September).

It does sound as though you've got a dodgy unit, though, judging by your comments. If you have the extra dosh to spare then by all means buy a more expensive model (I would, if I could). However, if £100 is the extent of your budget then I, personally, would persevere with getting your handset replaced. You won't get a better specced Android phone on this budget. The only comparable one I can think of is the Lumia 710, which is a Windows phone.


The Xperia Mini Pro is floating around for around £100-£110, and that has an upgrade to ICS already out, no plans for Jellybean though.
Only real difference is screen size and resolution, which is smaller, aside from that, its comparable.

http://www.gsmarena....ni_pro-3713.php


EDIT: The Xperia Ray is available for £120-£130 online also, with ICS too.
http://www.gsmarena....ia_ray-3972.php

The ZTE Crescent is a good Sub £100 choice, but you'd have to put up with a weaker processor.
http://www.gsmarena....sco_ii-4330.php

The Monte Carlo (ZTE Skate) is again a good choice, with a large development community, larger screen, but again, weaker processor.
http://www.gsmarena...._carlo-4619.php

Edited by dragpyre, 07 August 2012 - 10:43 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

If you like one of my posts, or if it helps you out, vote it up! :)

(now updated device list and added twitter. Come stalk me ;) )

#15
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

All the flak I get in my thread, and here's a thread with pretty similar issues.




It's not vodafone branded because there is no Vendor file. Vodafone apps and toggles will be missing.



He clearly states the following:



So he flashed B926, which IS official (in China anyway)

I created this document highlighting the issues with my phone: https://docs.google....ekdhTU01NUNySTA
Printed off the issues with the phone from Modaco and Vodafone's forums.
Took it with me to the store, handed it to them.

Suffice to say, my £110 appeared back in my account this morning.

Good luck.



Obviously kn100 got a lemon, as it seemed to be problematical from the get-go....

as evidenced by the wifi/network/dropped calls/lock-ups he had.

It appears there is either a bad batch of devices out there, or perhaps individual devices which should not have got past QC......

or indeed users have caused some "damage" themselves and are unable to recover.

But the situation here and in other cases, has been exacerbated by the flashing of these "Official" ROM's, or leaks, perhaps not understanding the implications of doing this, and then being left with a device which wears the evidence of this flashing boldly in Chinese!!!

This ends up with the user attempting to return a compromised device after all this stuff has been done, after obviously voiding any warranty they had, notwithstanding their consumer rights under the Sale of Goods Act, or whatever.

If you have a faulty item, it is never a good idea to try to rectify the situation yourself, by attempting stuff which clearly can lead to further damage being inflicted......

much better to return it immediately, and vindicate your consumer rights, without needing or having to cover the tracks of modifications you have attempted, to fix, or just modify the device.

To expect VF, or any other operator, who sell these devices at a subsidised price, to customers locked to their Network, to just accept back devices which obviously have been modified by the users, for whatever reason, is just a step to far.

Ppl who Root, SIM Unlock, flash official unofficial ROM's, even change Stock Recovery for CWM, should be aware of the risks, and be prepared to accept the consequences of their actions........

In fact, most threads by devs have disclaimers relating to these risks, and usually warnings regarding warranties.......

Best of Luck!!

  • 1
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#16
dragpyre

dragpyre

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:kumquat, grouper
  • Twitter:@dragpyre

Ppl who Root, SIM Unlock, flash official unofficial ROM's, even change Stock Recovery for CWM, should be aware of the risks, and be prepared to accept the consequences of their actions..........


SIM unlocking, whether by flashing of a chip inside the phone or the entering of a code, is a perfectly legal practice in the United Kingdom and does not void any warranties. If a network argued that because it was unlocked that they are not responsible, then they are essentially liable to prosecution and investigation by Oftel.

Edited by dragpyre, 08 August 2012 - 12:06 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

If you like one of my posts, or if it helps you out, vote it up! :)

(now updated device list and added twitter. Come stalk me ;) )

#17
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
[email protected] unlock maybe but when you start flashing other phones roms (8818) as well as things that do major changes I don't think you have any rights whatsoever in regards to warranties ect

  • 0

#18
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

SIM unlocking, whether by flashing of a chip inside the phone or the entering of a code, is a perfectly legal practice in the United Kingdom and does not void any warranties. If a network argued that because it was unlocked that they are not responsible, then they are essentially liable to prosecution and investigation by Oftel.


Sure I never said Network or SIM unlocking is illegal....that would just be stupid.

But. it could be dangerous.....ppl who provide these codes warn of this!!

when using codes from eBay and wherever, also, disclosing your devices IMEI number is problematic, don't you agree??

But Network/SIM unlock was just one point I made, and fairly minor one, which you misinterpreted and then quoted the law to bolster your point which was misunderstood by you.....

you really do need to chill and relax.

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#19
dragpyre

dragpyre

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:kumquat, grouper
  • Twitter:@dragpyre

Sure I never said Network or SIM unlocking is illegal....that would just be stupid.

But. it could be dangerous.....ppl who provide these codes warn of this!!

when using codes from eBay and wherever, also, disclosing your devices IMEI number is problematic, don't you agree??

But Network/SIM unlock was just one point I made, and fairly minor one, which you misinterpreted and then quoted the law to bolster your point which was misunderstood by you.....

you really do need to chill and relax.


I am perfectly calm, I just merely misconstrued what you had stated.

Yes, disclosing your IMEI can pose risks, but then again, when you access the Google Play store for the first time, Google takes your device name and IMEI. You can view the information they have on you in relation to your google account(s) @ http://www.google.com/dashboard

Edited by dragpyre, 08 August 2012 - 03:37 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

If you like one of my posts, or if it helps you out, vote it up! :)

(now updated device list and added twitter. Come stalk me ;) )

#20
toge64

toge64

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Bargain android devices... (and high end ones too)
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Galaxy Tab 2
sounds like a faulty unit.

  • 0
Have: Nexus 4, Galaxy Tab 2, HP Touchpad
Sold: Orange OSF/ZTE Blade AMOLED, Huawei Ascend G300




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users