Jump to content


Photo

[MOD][TOOL] DUAL BOOT FOR ZTE BLADE/MODIFY-BOOT TOOL [14/08]

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#21
razzmataz1478

razzmataz1478

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HULL
  • Interests:Flashing ROMs, Being distracted by my skate
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

I don't think there is a boot.img for that, it may be used via chroot though. Good luck on that! :)

EDIT:

Since you always replace the same values (ie. yaffs2 to ext4, a specific nand partition to a specific sd partition) what about creating a patcher, that way you wouldn't need to create a separate boot.img for every single rom.


You mean like an sh script that will unyaffs, change values, thencreate the ext img?

Edit: ignore me

Edited by razzmataz1478, 09 August 2012 - 02:56 PM.

  • 0

Posted Image

Current Phone:

Xperia T


Previous Phones:

Orange Monte Carlo

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic (Nokia C6-00 CFW)

Sony Ericsson v640i

Nokia 3120

Various other Nokia phones.

Not the best history of phones Posted Image


#22
android@sam

android@sam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nagpur,India
  • Interests:Computers, MObilez...
  • Devices:DELL XCD35 aka ZTE BLADE

I don't think there is a boot.img for that, it may be used via chroot though. Good luck on that! :)

EDIT:

Since you always replace the same values (ie. yaffs2 to ext4, a specific nand partition to a specific sd partition) what about creating a patcher, that way you wouldn't need to create a separate boot.img for every single rom.

Working on the same project currently/

  • 1

Sony Ericsson UI On your ZTE BLADE

"CYANSCAPE"


#23
..Abel..

..Abel..

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Devices:Zte Blade / Dell XCD 35
  • Twitter:@Ace_Able
AwesomE ! :)

  • 1

Posted Image
JELLY BEAN :)


#24
vNa5h

vNa5h

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Dell XCD35 (ZTE Blade)

And what about s2e with this mod, can i just create another ext3 partition ?


Yeah ..
how would s2e accept one from two partitions

  • 1

Dell XCD35 a.k.a ZTE Blade a.k.a Orange San Fransisco

Powered by

CM10.1 KonstaKANG, Soundmagic PL11 earphones, Samsung class 6 16GB



Apps installed

TV Shows / Movies .....I have watched....


#25
pengeren

pengeren

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:Zte Blade
What tool (user friendly) can i use on windows to edit boot.img ? Thanks.

  • 0

#26
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,444 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III

What tool (user friendly) can i use on windows to edit boot.img ? Thanks.

None, windows file systems can't handle linux style symbolic links.

I've posted a user friendly boot.img kitchen for linux that's just perfect for this use. I'm sure you can use a ubuntu live-cd or similar.
http://www.modaco.co...ootimg-kitchen/

  • 0

#27
razzmataz1478

razzmataz1478

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HULL
  • Interests:Flashing ROMs, Being distracted by my skate
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

What tool (user friendly) can i use on windows to edit boot.img ? Thanks.


Use virtual box, I use it to compile ROMs on.

  • 0

Posted Image

Current Phone:

Xperia T


Previous Phones:

Orange Monte Carlo

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic (Nokia C6-00 CFW)

Sony Ericsson v640i

Nokia 3120

Various other Nokia phones.

Not the best history of phones Posted Image


#28
android@sam

android@sam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nagpur,India
  • Interests:Computers, MObilez...
  • Devices:DELL XCD35 aka ZTE BLADE
Added tool for modifying boot.img

  • 0

Sony Ericsson UI On your ZTE BLADE

"CYANSCAPE"


#29
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
@android@sam
If you release the source of the tool, I could join the project and I can help you a little with that.

Edited by XMasterNinni, 10 August 2012 - 06:06 PM.

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#30
vNa5h

vNa5h

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Dell XCD35 (ZTE Blade)

Yeah ..
how would s2e accept one from two partitions


???

  • 0

Dell XCD35 a.k.a ZTE Blade a.k.a Orange San Fransisco

Powered by

CM10.1 KonstaKANG, Soundmagic PL11 earphones, Samsung class 6 16GB



Apps installed

TV Shows / Movies .....I have watched....


#31
gunapriyan

gunapriyan

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Developer, Can you place a Video for Install (Step by Step)? Please. Thanks in advance.

  • 1

#32
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

???


Most (all?) mount scripts for S2E use /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 so that is the second primary partition on the SD-card.

You can, of course, just change that in the mount script is you want to use another partition. You can have a maximum number of four primary partitions.

I haven't looked at the scripts yet but i'm going to assume it mounts /system to /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 so the easiest way to use S2E would be to make four partitions (fat32 - ext3 for second rom - ext3 for second data and ext3 for S2E) and change the mount script in init.d to mount /sd-ext to /dev/block/mmcblk0p4

Edited by Snap.IT, 10 August 2012 - 07:20 PM.

  • 0

#33
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,444 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III

Download and unzip the tool to any directory.Here i will consider for the cygwin users, say c:\modify-boot.
Now,open the terminal or cygwin bash shell(for windows users) and mount the directory by typing:
​ cd c:\modify-boot and press enter.
...

Have you actually tested this that it works with cygwin? If you split boot.img and pack it back together without any modifications, bytesize of the new boot.img is different from the original image. From what I've read, it's because windows file system breaks symbolic links.


Now the tool will tell you to copy init.rc file.So copy the the correct version of init.rc (i have labelled them) to the /bootimg_(some nos will be here)/boot.img-ramdisk folder.Don't for forget to rename it to init before copying it!!

init.rc is not some blob that you can just copy from one ROM to another. I would highly oppose if someone was to use to that init.rc in Swedish Snow. init.rc is also different in CM7 and ZTE stock based ROMs.

Because it's matter of editing only few lines, you'll probably be able to change them using sed. This would also make it possible to automate the whole splitting/modding/packing process.

  • 1

#34
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995
Avast is giving me a virus warning on the file mkbootfs.exe and moves it to quarantine.

Virus is win32:Kukacka.

Doesn't matter much to me since i won't be using windows for the actual procedure but it's something that you should remove ASAP.

  • 0

#35
phnha2003

phnha2003

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
I put Swedish-Snow-RLS7 boot.img in bootimg_xxxxx... and get

Kernel found at offset 2048 in boot.img

Extracting kernel ...
Error: No zImage found!
Extracting ramdisk ...
Error: No ramdisk folder found!

Contents of bootimg_081212_120734:

total 0

what's happen

  • 0

#36
Sulthekk

Sulthekk

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 619 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Avast is giving me a virus warning on the file mkbootfs.exe and moves it to quarantine.

Virus is win32:Kukacka.

Doesn't matter much to me since i won't be using windows for the actual procedure but it's something that you should remove ASAP.


Kukacka :D

  • 0

#37
android@sam

android@sam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nagpur,India
  • Interests:Computers, MObilez...
  • Devices:DELL XCD35 aka ZTE BLADE

I put Swedish-Snow-RLS7 boot.img in bootimg_xxxxx... and get

what's happen

Check the size of your boot.img.Have it been successfully unziped from the rom?

  • 0

Sony Ericsson UI On your ZTE BLADE

"CYANSCAPE"


#38
android@sam

android@sam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nagpur,India
  • Interests:Computers, MObilez...
  • Devices:DELL XCD35 aka ZTE BLADE
Update for tool coming soon.Thid version of the tool will adapt the whole rom for dual booting!!

  • 0

Sony Ericsson UI On your ZTE BLADE

"CYANSCAPE"


#39
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

Update for tool coming soon.Thid version of the tool will adapt the whole rom for dual booting!!


I was successful in installing both nand and SD-Roms but i had to change the updater script for CM10, you're missing a line to set permissions for su and since i'm using RA recovery i had to change the mount and format lines.

I also changed the nand rom's init scripts so that it will mount sd-ext to the fourth partition and finally i changed the RA recovery so that it understands that the fourth partition is SD-Ext when making backups/restoring backups.

Since most people don't use RA (but i kinda have to because it's the only recovery that actually works with ext4 and my gen3 device) i won't post it here without request.

  • 0

#40
android@sam

android@sam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nagpur,India
  • Interests:Computers, MObilez...
  • Devices:DELL XCD35 aka ZTE BLADE

I was successful in installing both nand and SD-Roms but i had to change the updater script for CM10, you're missing a line to set permissions for su and since i'm using RA recovery i had to change the mount and format lines.

I also changed the nand rom's init scripts so that it will mount sd-ext to the fourth partition and finally i changed the RA recovery so that it understands that the fourth partition is SD-Ext when making backups/restoring backups.

Since most people don't use RA (but i kinda have to because it's the only recovery that actually works with ext4 and my gen3 device) i won't post it here without request.

You are most welcome! !

  • 0

Sony Ericsson UI On your ZTE BLADE

"CYANSCAPE"





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users