Jump to content


Photo

Proximity sensor help

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#21
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
yeah, pressing on it seems to wake it up sometimes.. hardware problem?
CM3602 in z-device test

Edited by Smiff2, 16 September 2012 - 06:01 PM.

  • 0

#22
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 339 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300

yeah, pressing on it seems to wake it up sometimes.. hardware problem?
CM3602 in z-device test


Seems to be hardware related, as none of the GB or ICS ROMs have made any difference.

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#23
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
just to be clear here: if you have a bad sensor, ICS roms are even worse? since the only workaround afaik is pressing power button to turn screen on and off, does pressing power in an ICS rom also turn the screen back on or do something else?

and obviously, you cannot enable the end call with power button option, if you have this bug!

  • 0

#24
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 339 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300
In a ICS ROM power button ends call only (if set to do so in settings, otherwise it does nothing) - I have tried the volume key wake-up tweaks but this doesn't work here - Sometime I can wake the screen up by pressing the screen in the sensor area.

Edited by nsmacd1, 16 September 2012 - 10:29 PM.

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#25
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
this is a disaster then. had the phone over a month so not sure about returning it (ISME deal!). Will stick to GB roms and tell user to press power button, once to turn screen off before putting to face, again during or after call. brilliant!

  • 0

#26
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
bit more info: the sensor itself is working fine, this is caused by the front glass moving slightly in front of the sensor, or the "hole" being slightly misaligned on some phones, causing false reading of 0. the sensor in G300 only reads 0 or 9, unlike the one in Blade for example. not sure how to fix this without dismantling phone and trying to shim out the front glass or something.

Edited by Smiff2, 17 September 2012 - 11:07 AM.

  • 0

#27
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 339 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300
Mine will work when covered, but not when uncovered - ie will go from 9 to 0 but not 0 to 9 unless the area is pressed hard

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#28
Smiff2

Smiff2

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Blade, U8510, G300
yes same

  • 0

#29
cjcandrei

cjcandrei

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Ascend G300
Hi,
Seems I have solved my proximity sensor problem that was similar to yours. Like some of you mine worked only from 9 to 0. I've observed that if I press a little bit harder on the screen in the area that the sensor is located it will function properly for 20s or so. So what I've done. Open the case, unscrew the eight screws and open the plastic body. I've inserted a piece of paper folded a couple of times between the power button and the plastic case so it will put some pressure on the area of the sensor. I've put it all together and voila. Now it works ok. I'll see if it lasts...

  • 0

#30
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 339 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300

Hi,
Seems I have solved my proximity sensor problem that was similar to yours. Like some of you mine worked only from 9 to 0. I've observed that if I press a little bit harder on the screen in the area that the sensor is located it will function properly for 20s or so. So what I've done. Open the case, unscrew the eight screws and open the plastic body. I've inserted a piece of paper folded a couple of times between the power button and the plastic case so it will put some pressure on the area of the sensor. I've put it all together and voila. Now it works ok. I'll see if it lasts...


Any chance of a pic as to the location of the paper please, as I have tried in various locations around the power button and inside plastic cover and external plastic cover, but had had no luck yet.

Thanks!!

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#31
RaoulTeeuwen

RaoulTeeuwen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
Thanks to this thread at least i have a work around for the black-screen-when-call-received problem of one of my kids G300's.

I downloaded Doms Diagnostic Tools and ran a single test of the proximity sensor. When 1st launched, the sensor reported something close nearby (hence the behaviour of turning the screen off). When i started 'massaging'/pressing the right top corner of the glass, i got other read outs. So i can instruct my teen she has to press that top corner to get the screen back and be able to end a call... I just also found where to config ICS to accept the power button to end a call: it's under accessiblity settings.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users