Jump to content


Photo

Acqua-Medion Life P4012 CWM-Custom Recovery

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#21
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
I grabbed the update file and took a look at the boot.img..

did you remember to add usbconfig into sbin (and a service for it in init.rc)...

tho looking at it they seem to be just writting to the registers directly from init.rc now

write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/enable 0
    write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/idVendor 18d1
    write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/idProduct 2d00
    write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/enable 1

I'd do both to be sure.

  • 0

#22
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Open C
  • Twitter:@konstatuomio
Yeah, there even seems to be a separate init script for USB in the stock recovery image. Also usbconfig and usbchangemode are in /sbin but there is no service created for them anywhere. And I indeed am missing idVendor/idProduct/etc in init.rc. It looks like this in the stock recovery:
on property:sys.usb.config=diag
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/enable 0
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/idVendor 19D2
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/idProduct 0112
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/f_diag/clients diag
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/functions diag
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/enable 1
	setprop sys.usb.state $sys.usb.config
on property:sys.usb.config=diag,adb
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/enable 0
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/idVendor 19D2
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/idProduct 0213
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/f_diag/clients diag
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/functions diag,adb
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/enable 1
	setprop sys.usb.state $sys.usb.config
	start adbd
# Restart adbd so it can run as root
on property:service.adb.root=1
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/enable 0
	restart adbd
	write /sys/class/android_usb/android0/enable 1

Thanks, I have now few more ideas to sort this out. I'll try to do a new build on the weekend when I have more time to play with kernel and what not...

  • 0

#23
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Open C
  • Twitter:@konstatuomio
Here is a new build for someone to try. Please test adb and mass storage and report back. :)

I compiled kernel from source with CONFIG_ZTE_FTM_FLAG_SUPPORT unset. Otherwise I used default config extracted from the regular kernel. Kernel zImage size dropped from 8.3mb to 3.9mb. Someone might assume that kernel source should match the binary shipped with the device, but no - not with ZTE. :P This is untested of course, so there is a small chance it doesn't even boot.

Also added bunch of stuff for usb and hopefully fixed adb and usb mass storage.

recovery-cwm5028-acqua.img
.
md5:5c5f6b1904690c9a6f0c6a4f54a3d1e5

  • 0

#24
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Here is a new build for someone to try. Please test adb and mass storage and report back. :)

I compiled kernel from source with CONFIG_ZTE_FTM_FLAG_SUPPORT unset. Otherwise I used default config extracted from the regular kernel. Kernel zImage size dropped from 8.3mb to 3.9mb. Someone might assume that kernel source should match the binary shipped with the device, but no - not with ZTE. :P


For some reason (probably a typo in the build pipeline) zte are not using ziped kernels, its the same on the blade2 & roamer2, the config produces a ziped kernel images, and the devices will boot with a ziped kernel... Im going to assume they picked the wrong file out of the kernel build directory and no-one has spotted it.

  • 0

#25
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua

Here is a new build for someone to try. Please test adb and mass storage and report back. :)


Tested. Both boot-only and flashed...same results.
Upon entering the recovery, Windows found new drivers:
USB Composite Device =Check, ready to use
USB Mass Storage Device =Check, ready to use
Linux File-CD Gadget USB Device =Check, ready to use
$ro.product.model = X, no driver found

USB access--full access to the SD card upon mounting. :D
ADB......sorry, no .No devices attached. :(

  • 0

#26
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Open C
  • Twitter:@konstatuomio
We're getting there. ;) Another one.

recovery-cwm5028-zte-acqua.img
.
md5:63715a21e988f216775284f5ffde8ed5

  • 0

#27
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua

We're getting there. ;) Another one.


Slowly but surely. I have confidence. :)
Same result as above except now instead of $ro.product.model = X, no driver found:
Android = X No driver found

USB = OK
ADB = No.

Also, (and this is a very minor detail also present in the stock recovery), the text is very tiny. IF there is any EASY way to increase the size of the menu-choice text in the recovery, that would be a fine improvement. If it's a bother, forget about it.

Edited by Yurbuh Tuggly, 19 August 2012 - 05:54 AM.

  • 0

#28
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Open C
  • Twitter:@konstatuomio
I have high hopes that this has both adb and usb mass storage working (or neither :P). Please test and report back.

ADB is not something that a regular user would (probably ever) need on recovery mode, but it would still be nice to have a 100% working cwm. If this doesn't work, I'll probably give up for now. I'll push the sources to my github for the one that worked out the best.

acqua-cwm5028.img
http://www.mediafire...0rc06h90re8azjd
md5:69b4323af736f4f87ca81f32880feffe

  • 0

#29
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua

I have high hopes that this has both adb and usb mass storage working (or neither :P). Please test and report back.

ADB is not something that a regular user would (probably ever) need on recovery mode, but it would still be nice to have a 100% working cwm.


BINGO! :D

ZTE Composite ADB Interface = Check Ready to use.

USB = Good.
ADB = Good

List of devices attached
0123456789ABCDEF recovery


This one's the keeper. Well done!

  • 0

#30
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Open C
  • Twitter:@konstatuomio
Great, my job here is done then. ADB device name is of course incorrect but I'll let that one slide. ;) Now you'd just need some custom ROMs...

I pushed the source to my github if someone wants to improve it and I updated my thread with the new version.

  • 0

#31
stefdesign

stefdesign

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:ZTE-Skate
Where to get some custom ROMs for this device (Coldfusion based on CyanogenMod 9 of 10 for example)?
Or is there somewhere a port-tool (like this one but with porting of zte skate (for example) -> zte skate acqua) to try it safely on this phone?

okay, my last question has already been answered

Edited by stefdesign, 19 August 2012 - 05:05 PM.

  • 0

#32
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Open C
  • Twitter:@konstatuomio

Where to get some custom ROMs for this device (Coldfusion based on CyanogenMod 9 of 10 for example)?
Or is there somewhere a port-tool (like this one but with porting of zte skate (for example) -> zte skate acqua) to try it safely on this phone?

okay, my last question has already been answered


Does it make CyanogenMod better if it comes re-branded? ;)

No, you can't port ROMs from Skate. It's an ARMv6 device, this has ARMv7 chipset.

You could try porting ROMs from other msm7x27a devices like ZTE N880E, ZTE V889D, ZTE Blade II, Huawei G300, HTC Desire V, Samsung Galaxy Mini 2 and Samsung Galaxy Ace Plus (Samsungs have different screen resolution though). If you ask me, it would be better to start by modifying your current stock ROM at this point. There is no point in porting some half-working CM9/CM10 build from other devices - you should be building it from source for this device yourself.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users