Jump to content


Photo

[Recovery] ClockWorkMod 6.0.4.4 for ZTE Acqua

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
219 replies to this topic

#1
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III

This is my build of Koush's ClockWorkMod Recovery 6.0.4.4. This recovery is common to all ZTE devices with board name atlas40 (e.g. ZTE Blade III, ZTE Acqua, V889D, V880E etc).
 

recovery-cwm6044-atlas40.img
md5:9ad543e2c932b20b5fde2bde08da74d1
 
recovery-clockwork-6.0.4.4-atlas40.zip (ClockWorkMod flashable)
md5:015c6115e7f89951c5a3bb7e145de65a
 

This recovery is fully working with goodies such as repeatable keys and adb sideload support. Use volume keys to navigate menus and power button to select.

Do not use this recovery to flash official updates from ZTE website! You need to repack them for ClockWorkMod or use the stock recovery to install.

How to install ClockWorkMod Recovery (windows):
1. download ZTE USB drivers
2. download and install Android SDK tools and platform-tools to get adb and fastboot
3. download recovery-cwm60xx-atlas40.img recovery image
4. create a new directory somewhere and copy adb.exe, fastboot.exe and recovery-cwm60xx-atlas40.img into it
5. plug in your device via USB cable and install drivers
6. cd into the directory you created and execute following commands in terminal window

adb reboot bootloader
fastboot flash recovery recovery-cwm60xx-atlas40.img
fastboot reboot

7. congratulations, you have installed cwm on to your device
8. boot into ClockWorkMod by pressing volume down while powering on or using 'adb reboot recovery'

How to make clean ROM dump/backup of your device (before you root or install cwm): (recommended)
1. follow previous instructions up to step 5
2. boot into recovery instead of flashing it

adb reboot bootloader
fastboot boot recovery-cwm60xx-atlas40.img

3. select backup & restore -> backup

How to root your device via recovery:
1. download latest Superuser and su binary from Superuser website and save it to your sdcard
2. follow instructions on how to install clockworkmod recovery
3. boot into clockworkmod
4. install zip from sdcard -> choose zip from sdcard -> Superuser-3.2-arm-signed.zip

If you have already gained root access with some other root method, you can flash recovery using Terminal Emulator:
1. copy recovery-cwm60xx-atlas40.img to the root of your phone's sdcard
2. execute following commands in terminal emulator

su
dd if=/sdcard/recovery-cwm60xx-atlas40.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p17

Sources for the recovery are available in my github. You can compile it yourself using CM10.1 source tree.


  • 4

#2
ayziaa

ayziaa

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lyon, France
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
  • Twitter:@Ayziaa
Nice to see that things are starting to come together for the aqua. Still waiting for it to land in europe!

Edited by ayziaa, 14 August 2012 - 11:31 AM.

  • 0
Android folder music player for holo lovers :https://play.google....=fr.ayziaa.App2

#3
Avenger 2.0

Avenger 2.0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Thanks, works perfect. Hope you'll find a phone soon. Guess most europeans got the Medion version from the Aldi promotion.

  • 0

#4
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III
Updated the first post with a new version. This should be now fully working (fixed usb mass storage & adb).

  • 0

#5
myfka

myfka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:zte acqua
Will I be able to upgrade to the official 4.0 from this recovery? I installed it, but during the installation update.zip, writes:
verification failed
I ам disabled verifications in menu :
install aborted

Edited by myfka, 25 August 2012 - 01:31 PM.

  • 0

#6
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III

Will I be able to upgrade to the official 4.0 from this recovery? I installed it, but during the installation update.zip, writes:
verification failed
I ам disabled verifications in menu :
install aborted

What device is this? It came with 2.3 I assume?

You really shouldn't install the official packages without doing some modifications. They also includes all the radio partitions/etc that can't backed up with clockworkmod. Even if it worked, you'll have no way of going back to gingerbread.

Btw, there's a newer update than the Medion one in ZTE site for Greek Acqua.
http://wwwen.zte.com.../mobile/Greece/
http://wwwen.zte.com...23227496766.zip

ro.build.display.id=ICS_WIND_P740AV1.0.0B02
ro.build.date=Tue Jul 24 14:47:35 HKT 2012
ro.build.sw_internal_version=ICS_WIND_P740AV1.0.0B03

  • 0

#7
myfka

myfka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:zte acqua
I have zte acqua v880e, I tried to flash and the Greek and
German through your boot, but it is stitched.
I'm not much understand, but the firmware
100% of my phone, just probably blocked by
the operator. Backup of 2.3 I did. I would be
grateful if you help me and tell in detail what
to do. Thank you.

  • 0

#8
myfka

myfka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:zte acqua

  • 0

#9
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III

new Slovak rom
http://wwwen.zte.com.../mobile/Slovak/

Yeah, it seems to be the most recent.
ro.build.display.id=ICS_P740AV1.0.0B07
ro.build.date=Wed Aug  1 11:51:40 CST 2012
ro.build.sw_internal_version=ICS_P740AV1.0.0B07

I would really rather not advice anyone on how to flash these official updates. I don't have a device to test with and I really don't want to be held responsible for bricking anyone's device. It shouldn't be too difficult to modify if you are familiar with flashable zips and updater-script. Just make sure that you are not flashing any partitions (e.g. radio) that can't be restored to the original state. That rules out pretty much everything except system and boot.

  • 0

#10
myfka

myfka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:zte acqua
maybe you give a link where it says more to fix
archive for flashing

  • 0

#11
Droidevil

Droidevil

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:zte skate acqua
Hi all, are there any international firmwares?
And another question, whether cyanogenmod for this phone?

  • 0

#12
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III

maybe you give a link where it says more to fix
archive for flashing

There really isn't any guides to this. These are just things that you need to know. ;)

It really isn't that simple if you try to update from gingerbread to ICS. ICS would probably need a different partition layout on your device. RIL implementation is most likely different (you'll need different radio). You might even need some lower lever flashing tool from ZTE to do all this.

Hi all, are there any international firmwares?
And another question, whether cyanogenmod for this phone?

What do you mean by international firmware? That Slovak build couple of posts up is a generic build. Knowing ZTE this usually means that it has full language support.

MSM7x27A is still an active platform so there is no reason why this device couldn't have fully working (and even official) CM build. It's only matter of someone making one. :P

  • 0

#13
Avenger 2.0

Avenger 2.0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Looks like backup restore doesn't work. E:format_volume: no MTD partition "dev/block/mmcblk0p19" Error while formatting /system!

  • 0

#14
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III
Well that's not very good then. :P I have no idea why would recovery think system is mtd partition though (it's noted as ext everywhere).

I'll look into this but I still can't test any of this because I don't have the device myself.

  • 0

#15
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua
Just did a full backup (initiated with Rom Toolbox, but that should not matter), and then immediately turned around, rebooted into Recovery the normal way, and chose to restore it.
Happy to report that all went well...no errors or bad messages at all.

  • 1

#16
Avenger 2.0

Avenger 2.0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
I did not flash clockworkmod recovery, just booted it. Maybe this is the problem?

  • 0

#17
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua
At this point, there is no reason not to flash the latest recovery from KonstaT...everything I have tried works flawlessly...so go ahead and see if that solves your backup/restore issue. You can always reflash back to stock if you want to...but I find it hard to find a reason to want to.

  • 0

#18
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III
I was building recoveries so I thought I might as well compile one for Acqua. This is ClockWorkMod 6.0.1.2. I'd like to know if the issue that we had in 5.5.0.4 builds with key input still persists or does the new kernel fix it. Please test and report back. :)

acqua-cwm6012.img
.
md5:8687c36558fa144c666452dc255279ab

  • 0

#19
Yurbuh Tuggly

Yurbuh Tuggly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Medion P4012/ZTE Acqua

Please test and report back.

Boot without flash.
Loads OK. Can scroll with volume key. Cannot select anything with any key or button. :(

Edited by Yurbuh Tuggly, 17 September 2012 - 06:04 PM.

  • 0

#20
KonstaT

KonstaT

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:Moto G, ZTE Blade III
Ok, thanks for testing. There's still some underlying issue that I also had with some early Blade builds. Would be interesting to know what it is...

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users