Jump to content


Photo

[ROM][JB] Paranoid Android - CM10 - Tablet UI Hybrid [Updated 23/08/12]

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
This is my build of the one and only Tablet and Phone UI Hybrid...


Paranoid Android


*******************************************************

This ROM is mainly for developers/testers/advanced users and it's not recommended for everyday use. This is still a very early version (AOSP sources were released only a few weeks ago) and CM10/PA is progressing rapidly.

- KonstaT

*******************************************************


The Paranoid Android team finally released their source code!

Features
- based on CyanogenMod10 (Android 4.1.1) - Jelly Bean
- ParanoidAndroid 1.99
- Fully phone/tablet UI Hybrid - YOU say what you would like to have in Phone mode or in Tablet Mode!

Prerequisites
- ROM requires at least 220MB on system partition

Download
- ROM: http://tinyw.in/sF7W
- Gapps: http://www.mediafire...vz3dhm92m5giyyp (Thanks to KonstaT!)

Installation instructions (if upgrading from CM10 or previous version see upgrade instructions below)
- Download ROM, Gapps ZIPs to your SD card
- Boot into clockworkmo
- Backup your current ROM (optional but highly recommended)
- Wipe Data / factory reset
- Wipe cache
- Advanced / Wipe dalvik cache
- Mounts & Storage / format system (just to be sure)
- install zip from SD card - choose ROM zip
- install zip from SD card - choose Gapps zip
- reboot

Upgrade instructions - without wiping data
- Download ROM, Gapps ZIPs to your SD card
- Boot into ClockworkMod
- Backup your current version (optional but recommended)
- Wipe cache
- Advanced / wipe dalvik cache
- Mounts&storage / format system
- install zip from SD card - choose ROM zip
- install zip from SD card - choose Gapps zip
- reboot
- if you experience sability problems or other undesired behaviour, go for fresh install!!!

Working:
  • RIL (mobile network & data)
  • Wifi
  • Bluetooth (& bt-tethering)
  • GPS
  • Audio (playback/input/routing/headphones/etc)
  • Video playback (as well as it did in ICS)
  • SD card
  • USB-storage
  • Browser
  • Touchscreen/multi-touch
  • Sensors
  • LEDs
Partially working:
  • Hardware acceleration/OpenGL/Project Butter - getting better
  • Camera (Preview doesn't work) (Thanks to KonstaT)
Not working:
  • Hardware video decoding because of missing OMX, e.g. YouTube HQ (will never work, use an external app)
  • Wifi tethering (use an external app, e.g. WiFi Tether for Root Users)
  • USB-tethering
  • FM radio
  • Everything else
Credits:
- KonstaT -> I used your CM10 device config
- C3C0
- tilal6991 -> fixed PA Settings
- shezar -> for being my tester
- ParanoidAndroid and CyanogenMod Team

Shezars's thoughts:
All right, some of my thoughts about PA and this port:

(I installed it over Konsta's CM10 without wipe so some of my issues may be caused by that.)

1: it is smooth and the features are mostly working - except camera, fm and the usual stuff.
2: PA is somewhat hard to configure - I haven't found a way to change the default dpi so I have to go through every damn app there is.
3: Tablet UI's navbar has issues with clock size - it's a bit bigger than the navbar itself, looks ugly. The navbar itself is small and hard to read. One can change its size but that makes it stretch out of the screen. I'd love it in a usable size.
4: Phablet UI's navigation bar suffers from the same issue if I remember correctly... And I'm not sure it has anything useful for a phone - the notification area is all that's different from the phone UI and it only gets smaller.
5: Stock UI is the best in my opinion. Without Hybrid mode it's just "plain old" CM10 with navbar, but with it you can use per-app configurations. I would say this is the recommended mode.

I was able to squeeze the rom into 140 MB by only deleting stuff from it and the gapps package (and I have a stripped version of LatinIME compiled with only Hungarian dictionary). But by default it's BIG with all the apps, media stuff and stuff.

I would recommend using it only if you have enough patience and don't freak out if systemui dies from a misconfiguration. :)

Edited by XMasterNinni, 24 August 2012 - 07:47 AM.

  • 4

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#2
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Changelog:

15/08 - initial release
23/08 - Fixed Camera partially, synced with latest PA and CM10 repos

Edited by XMasterNinni, 23 August 2012 - 06:57 PM.

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#3
docck

docck

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:zte libra + viewpad 10s
And what about app2sd scripts (because s2e work only for cm7 and cm9)? Which script is recommended (please write a short instruction)?

  • 0

#4
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
I don't know, I don't really use a2sd...

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#5
shezar

shezar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Győr, Hungary
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@bugadani
All right, some of my thoughts about PA and this port:

(I installed it over Konsta's CM10 without wipe so some of my issues may be caused by that.)

1: it is smooth and the features are mostly working - except camera, fm and the usual stuff.
2: PA is somewhat hard to configure - I haven't found a way to change the default dpi so I have to go through every damn app there is.
3: Tablet UI's navbar has issues with clock size - it's a bit bigger than the navbar itself, looks ugly. The navbar itself is small and hard to read. One can change its size but that makes it stretch out of the screen. I'd love it in a usable size.
4: Phablet UI's navigation bar suffers from the same issue if I remember correctly... And I'm not sure it has anything useful for a phone - the notification area is all that's different from the phone UI and it only gets smaller.
5: Stock UI is the best in my opinion. Without Hybrid mode it's just "plain old" CM10 with navbar, but with it you can use per-app configurations. I would say this is the recommended mode.

I was able to squeeze the rom into 140 MB by only deleting stuff from it and the gapps package (and I have a stripped version of LatinIME compiled with only Hungarian dictionary). But by default it's BIG with all the apps, media stuff and stuff.

I would recommend using it only if you have enough patience and don't freak out if systemui dies from a misconfiguration. :)

Regarding a2sd and stuff: if it works with Konsta's rom, it will probably work here.

Edited by shezar, 15 August 2012 - 09:31 AM.

  • 1

#6
lunario

lunario

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:zte blade (sapo a5)

And what about app2sd scripts (because s2e work only for cm7 and cm9)? Which script is recommended (please write a short instruction)?


use mount2sd for jellybean roms http://www.xda-devel...script-editing/

  • 0

#7
ZTR

ZTR

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Galaxy S i9000,Dell XCD 35
  • Twitter:@Zakitheracer

use mount2sd for jellybean roms http://www.xda-devel...script-editing/


does the aroma installer work for u guys?

Cause its not working here....

  • 0
ROM:CM10.1 KonstaKANG 24/07/13
Recovery:CWM 6.0.2.7

#8
innesness

innesness

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

3: Tablet UI's navbar has issues with clock size - it's a bit bigger than the navbar itself, looks ugly. The navbar itself is small and hard to read. One can change its size but that makes it stretch out of the screen. I'd love it in a usable size.


Ditto. This issue is a deal-breaker for me for now, I have no doubt Ninni will be fixing this soon as these are just alpha builds so far. Currently the navbar is too small & the status bar clock is too big--any attempt I make to fix this issue via PA Settings results in the notification drawer going offscreen when I expand it.

This issue seems to only be on the JB builds; CM9 version is perfectly gorgeous eye-candy.



Other than the issue shezar mentioned, this ROM is perfectly smooth & stable, CM9 version on the other hand has some very minor lag issues. Fantastic work overall--I'm just obsessive-compulsive when it comes to aesthetics, haha. Congrats Ninni!

Edited by innesness, 15 August 2012 - 04:01 PM.

  • 0

#9
lunario

lunario

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:zte blade (sapo a5)

does the aroma installer work for u guys?

Cause its not working here....


works here but it shows upside down ;)

make sure you install it through clockwork mod

Edited by lunario, 15 August 2012 - 03:21 PM.

  • 0

#10
Hayden3430

Hayden3430

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

works here but it shows upside down ;)

make sure you install it through clockwork mod


Same here.

  • 0

#11
lunario

lunario

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:zte blade (sapo a5)

Same here.



just install it using the home button then when use the volume buttom to choose default and that's it installed even upside down ;)

  • 0

#12
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
New build today, clocksize and everything caused by a false configuration should be fixed (i can't promise!)

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#13
gunapriyan

gunapriyan

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
XMasterNinni Thanks for your Paranoid JB. Once Camera fix in JB, Definitely I will test this. Anyway thanks for dynamic action.

  • 0

#14
vNa5h

vNa5h

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Dell XCD35 (ZTE Blade)

dynamic action.


:blink:

  • 0

Dell XCD35 a.k.a ZTE Blade a.k.a Orange San Fransisco

Powered by

CM10.1 KonstaKANG, Soundmagic PL11 earphones, Samsung class 6 16GB



Apps installed

TV Shows / Movies .....I have watched....


#15
gunapriyan

gunapriyan

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
;)

:blink:


  • 0

#16
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
:wacko::wacko::blink:

  • 0

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#17
..Abel..

..Abel..

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Devices:Zte Blade / Dell XCD 35
  • Twitter:@Ace_Able
really good !! And I got to say its quite smooth ... although it will get time to get configurations right but its worth it

Edited by ..Abel.., 17 August 2012 - 02:44 PM.

  • 0

Posted Image
JELLY BEAN :)


#18
emajar

emajar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nairobi,Kenya
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@emajar27
Tried this Rom:
1)Its smooth..so far the only annoying thing is Facebook FC like it used to do in ICS ROMS.. I cant post.. maybe you borrow Idea from Burstlam.. he has it fixed in His CM 10 build.
2)I got !1 Random reboot.. I dint notice when but since I have SIM lock enabled I found on Sim lock.

  • 0

#19
XMasterNinni

XMasterNinni

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
New build today!

  • 2

ZTE Porting Tool



Ever wondered how to Port ROMs from one Phone to another? Well it isn't that easy if you do it manually. But, luckily, there is a simple tool, which makes it easy for you to port ROMs. Curious?


Easy ROM Porting for Everyone


#20
generalnikitos

generalnikitos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

New build today!


cant wait=)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users