Jump to content


Photo

Whoa, cm10 builds for our liquid?

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

#1
parvata

parvata

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Devices:liquid E
well maybe....

Here is the deal I have taken the cm9 git repository from thepasto and then dropped the kernel, device/acer/salsa, vendor/acer/salsa and made some changes to cm10 and I was able to compile an image on cm10 for the liquid. I have flashed the image on to my liquid. Guess what happened.....:-) You want the good news or the bad news?

Well, the good news is I didn't brick my phone :-P and I was able to boot to the android shell. Now the bad news is that the UI did not come up. When I saw logcat I saw that there was a segfault in liblights. I did not have time to take a deeper look into this. I will when I have time but please all you guys don't keep your hopes up. Maybe some other dev can help me or I canhelp them. I did not contact thepasto for help yet because I wanted to take a initial look before seeking his help. Anyway here is what I did to compile the image. Let me know if I am doing something wrong or need any more infromation. Good luck to us!
# checkout cm10 JB
repo init -u git://github.com/CyanogenMod/android.git -b jellybean

# compilation commandes
- copy device/acer/salsa, vendor/acer/salsa and the kernel from cm9
- run the get_GooMan.sh - obsolete, get from market. Change the shell to bash in the first line of this script
- ./vendor/cm/get-prebuilts
- . ./build/envsetup.sh && brunch salsa 2>&1 | tee ./build.log


#changes:
Added to frameworks/base/cmds/servicemanager/service_manager.c line 30.
{ AID_COMPASS, "yamaha.hardware.sensors" },
---
changed: frameworks/av/media/libmediaplayerservice/StagefrightRecorder.cpp line 1443

if (0 && mIsMetaDataStoredInVideoBuffers) {
---
changed: libstagefright//MPEG4Writer.cpp line 1983
if (!mIsAudio && 0) {
---
In /device_salsa.mk replace frameworks/base with frameworks/native
---
In device/acer/salsa/overlay/frameworks/base/core/res/res/values/config.xml:88
changed config_networkLocationProvider to config_networkLocationProviderPackageName
In device/acer/salsa/overlay/frameworks/base/core/res/res/values/config.xml:91
changed config_geocodeProvider to changed config_geocodeProviderPackageName
---
Got the msm_rotator.h from
http://code.google.c...erloin&name=ics
./bionic/libc/kernel/common/linux/msm_rotator.h
---
In device/acer/salsa/libaudio/AudioPolicyManager.cpp change return type for getDeviceForStrategy to audio_devices_t
and the declaration also to audio_devices_t.
---
Change all LOG* to ALOG* in libaudio as well as liblights
---
In
hardware/qcom/display/liboverlay/mdpWrapper.h: In function 'void overlay::mdp_wrapper::dump(char const*, const msm_rotator_data_info&)':
hardware/qcom/display/liboverlay/mdpWrapper.h:250:5: error: 'const struct msm_rotator_data_info' has no member named 'version_key'
hardware/qcom/display/liboverlay/mdpWrapper.h:254:28: error: 'const struct msm_rotator_data_info' has no member named 'src_chroma'
hardware/qcom/display/liboverlay/mdpWrapper.h:255:28:
Commented all these lines
---
Added to /device/acer/salsa/BoardConfig.mk
# disable errors from msm_rotator driver
QCOM_NO_SECURE_PLAYBACK := true
TARGET_NO_HW_VSYNC := true

Changed
BOARD_SYSTEMIMAGE_PARTITION_SIZE := 0x0c800000
to
BOARD_SYSTEMIMAGE_PARTITION_SIZE := 0x0ca00000

---
Comment lines 204, 205 in kernel/acer/salsa/include/linux/netfilter/x_tables.h
// const struct xt_match *match;
// const void *matchinfo;
---

ToDo:
Remove the definition in hardware/qcom/display/liboverlay/overlayRotator.cpp
#define QCOM_NO_SECURE_PLAYBACK 1

Remove in /device/acer/salsa/BoardConfig.mk
# disable errors from msm_rotator driver
QCOM_NO_SECURE_PLAYBACK := true ??
TARGET_NO_HW_VSYNC := true ??

---
Need to Check if these work:
- BT A2DP (music, ring while listening )

Thanks to thepasto for the personal chat over gtalk. Hoping to get more things to clarify in the coming future.

Edited by parvata, 16 August 2012 - 04:36 AM.

  • 2
Keeping the Acer development alive takes a lot of time and effort. Kindly consider supporting my contributions towards Acer development now and into the future.
Posted Image

#2
Ma7moud

Ma7moud

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Egypt
  • Devices:Acer Liquid A1
  • Twitter:@9_CanZ
I wish i could help but i know nothing about playing with Android source code.
I would try to test if you reach alpha build, and would make it my main ROM if wifi, calling, data, and headset audio are working, and no more than 8 reboots per day :P i'm ok with any other bugs
Good luck :D

  • 0
Phone : Acer Liquid A1 (Color: Red)
BIN : 4.002.14.EMEA.GEN1

Recovery: TWRP
ROM : CM 7.2 (Ainillia version) (128MHz ~ 960MHz - Smartass V2) (Thanks lupohirp, Thepasto, Ainillia and the team)

#3
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
Crash in liblights and can be fixed by removing the const in the declaration of the module properties in lights.c.

  • 2
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#4
parvata

parvata

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Devices:liquid E
If anyones is interested in looking at the logcat of the seg fault take a look here: https://sites.google...redirects=0&d=1
tilal6991 I will take a look at your suggestion. I have not tried it yet.

  • 0
Keeping the Acer development alive takes a lot of time and effort. Kindly consider supporting my contributions towards Acer development now and into the future.
Posted Image

#5
lupohirp

lupohirp

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
I'm working on it but now i'm on holiday and i will return on sunday evening :) i've complied already auccesfully a alpha build but didn't have the time to test it

  • 2

Feel free to

Posted Image


#6
parvata

parvata

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Devices:liquid E

Crash in liblights and can be fixed by removing the const in the declaration of the module properties in lights.c.


Thanks for the fix. Yes, I got this problem solved now. There were some other libraries that were missing from cm10. Made some progress today but still no UI yet.

@lupohirp may be we can collaborate our efforts to reduce redundancy?

  • 0
Keeping the Acer development alive takes a lot of time and effort. Kindly consider supporting my contributions towards Acer development now and into the future.
Posted Image

#7
Borkata

Borkata

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 320 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC EVO 3D; NI ADAM Tablet
parvata,

Have you git repo with the JB device tree. Maybe I can help. I have successfully ported sources for ICS to JB for another device.

BR,
Borkata

  • 0

#8
parvata

parvata

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Devices:liquid E

parvata,

Have you git repo with the JB device tree. Maybe I can help. I have successfully ported sources for ICS to JB for another device.

BR,
Borkata

No, I do not have. I am using cm10 and thepasto's repository.

  • 0
Keeping the Acer development alive takes a lot of time and effort. Kindly consider supporting my contributions towards Acer development now and into the future.
Posted Image

#9
Ainillia

Ainillia

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Interests:Everything related to technology
  • Devices:Acer A1
I wish i could help

  • 0
Want to Posted Image ?

Or maybe i'm loosing my time devlopping ? :mellow:

#10
parvata

parvata

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Devices:liquid E
if anybody could help me with gralloc, surfaceflinger and the hwcomposer that would be great. Below are two logs one from cm9 for liquid that boots with UI and the cm10 is the one that boots to android but does not show the UI. From comparing the logs the significant difference that I see is that in the cm10 looks like android's default gralloc module is loaded instead of the architecture specific driver. Maybe this is the reason I am not able to see the UI? Can anyone enlighten me how to choose the qcom gralloc module in cm10 or what I could be doing wrong so that I can bring up the UI? I think thepasto is very busy.

cm9 logs, https://sites.google...redirects=0&d=1
cm10 logs, https://sites.google...redirects=0&d=1

Thanks for any information.

  • 0
Keeping the Acer development alive takes a lot of time and effort. Kindly consider supporting my contributions towards Acer development now and into the future.
Posted Image

#11
Ma7moud

Ma7moud

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Egypt
  • Devices:Acer Liquid A1
  • Twitter:@9_CanZ
from comparing the logs it looks to me like there is a file missing maybe?
E/HAL	 (  137): load: module=/system/lib/hw/hwcomposer.qsd8k.so
E/HAL	 (  137): Cannot load library: link_image[1916]:   137 could not load needed library 'libQcomUI.so' for 'hwcomposer.qsd8k.so' (load_library[1118]: Library 'libQcomUI.so' not found)

EDIT: I searched for a while and i found the same problem on an early test of JB on the HTC myTouch 4G, they managed to show the UI by disabling all forms of hardware acceleration in build.prop
and removing the board.platform line, but that caused the systemUI and launcher apps to crash on boot because they say JB doesn't support software acceleration

Edited by Ma7moud, 18 August 2012 - 05:43 AM.

  • 0
Phone : Acer Liquid A1 (Color: Red)
BIN : 4.002.14.EMEA.GEN1

Recovery: TWRP
ROM : CM 7.2 (Ainillia version) (128MHz ~ 960MHz - Smartass V2) (Thanks lupohirp, Thepasto, Ainillia and the team)

#12
parvata

parvata

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Devices:liquid E

from comparing the logs it looks to me like there is a file missing maybe?

E/HAL	 (  137): load: module=/system/lib/hw/hwcomposer.qsd8k.so
E/HAL	 (  137): Cannot load library: link_image[1916]:   137 could not load needed library 'libQcomUI.so' for 'hwcomposer.qsd8k.so' (load_library[1118]: Library 'libQcomUI.so' not found)

EDIT: I searched for a while and i found the same problem on an early test of JB on the HTC myTouch 4G, they managed to show the UI by disabling all forms of hardware acceleration in build.prop
and removing the board.platform line, but that caused the systemUI and launcher apps to crash on boot because they say JB doesn't support software acceleration


I have tried using software acceleration and I get the same result. I think the problem that I have is even before that during framebuffer mem allocation. An incorrect gralloc driver is being called as you can see. I want to invoke the qsd8k version of the gralloc. Once I load the correct gralloc I can look into this failed message (although I know how to get rid of this message easily). Note tha Adreno the GPU provider for the liquid has released drivers for ICS and JB which has hardware acceleration. I see that thepasto has added these drivers for ICS in cm9. I just learned this yesterday. So, I think we may get HW accel. working on JB (fingers crossed).

  • 0
Keeping the Acer development alive takes a lot of time and effort. Kindly consider supporting my contributions towards Acer development now and into the future.
Posted Image

#13
lupohirp

lupohirp

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
compiled and i have this problem when i flash in recovery:

symlink some symlinks failed status 7 in TWRP recovery.

had a sort of this error when i played with cm9 for p500...must wait that cyanogen update his sources...anyway for a temporary fix anyone can help me?

Edited by lupohirp, 21 August 2012 - 10:29 AM.

  • 1

Feel free to

Posted Image


#14
ugers

ugers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Explay Informer 801
lupohirp
Very strange.I'm compiling cm10(not working build,black screen instead boot logo) but it is installed correctly

Edited by ugers, 21 August 2012 - 03:20 PM.

  • 0

#15
parvata

parvata

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Devices:liquid E

compiled and i have this problem when i flash in recovery:

symlink some symlinks failed status 7 in TWRP recovery.

had a sort of this error when i played with cm9 for p500...must wait that cyanogen update his sources...anyway for a temporary fix anyone can help me?

lupohirp
Very strange.I'm compiling cm10(not working build,black screen instead boot logo) but it is installed correctly


Yes, I do not have any problem either. The same net affect as ugers though (boots to android fine without any UI).

However here is an update with my progress:
I have tried disabling hw acceleration and use software rendering but I could not boot the UI. So, currently playing with loading the hardware composer properly first.
I have downloaded the Adreno GPU drviers for JB from Qualcom Developer Network and I am using them in cm10. They have loaded successfully! I had to modify kgsl, genlock kernel driver code from the msm7x30 kernel code base though.

But the sad thing is the UI still does not show up. Will keep trying when time permits. Hope there is a more experienced developer to help us out.

  • 0
Keeping the Acer development alive takes a lot of time and effort. Kindly consider supporting my contributions towards Acer development now and into the future.
Posted Image

#16
Ainillia

Ainillia

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Interests:Everything related to technology
  • Devices:Acer A1

Yes, I do not have any problem either. The same net affect as ugers though (boots to android fine without any UI).

However here is an update with my progress:
I have tried disabling hw acceleration and use software rendering but I could not boot the UI. So, currently playing with loading the hardware composer properly first.
I have downloaded the Adreno GPU drviers for JB from Qualcom Developer Network and I am using them in cm10. They have loaded successfully! I had to modify kgsl, genlock kernel driver code from the msm7x30 kernel code base though.

But the sad thing is the UI still does not show up. Will keep trying when time permits. Hope there is a more experienced developer to help us out.


Put your sources on GitHub, for exemple, so everyone can propose a "push", or looking at the problems.

  • 1
Want to Posted Image ?

Or maybe i'm loosing my time devlopping ? :mellow:

#17
lupohirp

lupohirp

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts

lupohirp
Very strange.I'm compiling cm10(not working build,black screen instead boot logo) but it is installed correctly


which recovery are you using???i'm using TWRP recovery

  • 1

Feel free to

Posted Image


#18
ugers

ugers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Explay Informer 801

which recovery are you using???i'm using TWRP recovery

TWRP 2.2.1

  • 0

#19
lupohirp

lupohirp

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts

TWRP 2.2.1


so this is too strange...you are building on latest sources???

  • 1

Feel free to

Posted Image


#20
ugers

ugers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Explay Informer 801

so this is too strange...you are building on latest sources???

yes, i'm using last twrp and cm9 sources. Twrp 2.2.1 built me. I flash cm9,miuiv4, cm7 and i don't have any problems

Edited by ugers, 22 August 2012 - 10:47 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users