Jump to content


Photo

Default Storage ICS Rom

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
Dafthibby

Dafthibby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
When I change the default storage to SD card on 926 and 934 after a while and always on a reboot it returns to Internal storage.

ANy app on the card then gives app not installed message when trying to open.

Its a nusaince but any help to resolve would be appreciated.

  • 0

#2
samjam

samjam

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts
Try to reboot as soon as you have changed storage

  • 0

#3
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
This problem has bugged me in all ICS versions and I've tried many things to fix it but none seem to work. I am now using Infusion rom which when installed was defaulted to Internal storage but after changing it to sdcard it has stayed on sdcard even after many reboots.

Edited by Cyda, 18 August 2012 - 03:49 PM.

  • 0

#4
Wanyal

Wanyal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Mako 16GB, Grouper 16GB
  • Twitter:@Wanyal
I'm having this issue too. I have tried using Infusion to solve the problem, but so far it hasn't worked.

  • 0

#5
Aurimas L.

Aurimas L.

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lithuania
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, Huawei G300
Same s***... I hate when it changes to internal...

  • 0
ZTE Blade with Swedish Snow RLS7 (Android 2.3.5) @ 691Mhz
Huawei Ascend G300 with CM10 @ 1228Mhz

#6
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X
i found that this problem is caused by the SDcard... i was setting up two G300's and noticed one reset back to internal storage after a reboot, where as the other never...

i backed up the SDcard then formatted it in windows as fat32, that fixed the problem for me :D

  • 0

#7
Wanyal

Wanyal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Mako 16GB, Grouper 16GB
  • Twitter:@Wanyal
That can't be it. I've formatted my SD several times since having a B9xx build and have always had this issue.

  • 0

#8
BillBong

BillBong

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
How do you change the default storage? I'm having problems getting ES Explorer to find the EXT SD card - it only sees the internal.

Just seen it's under Storage/Default

Edited by BillBong, 12 September 2012 - 09:16 PM.

  • 0

#9
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Alien Life
  • Devices:Moto X

That can't be it. I've formatted my SD several times since having a B9xx build and have always had this issue.


it fixed the problem for me, not to mention this dose not happen for everyone...

like in my case, i had one that did not have the problem, and one one that did have the problem..
both different size and brand of SDcard... but both using the same rom...

if you have more than one SDcard or have a friend / family with an SDcard you could try testing them and see if is makes a difference,

i found that changing this can have it set the default storage to SDcard at boot (build.prop)
#/*Support ICS double sdcard. The value may be external_sd or internal_sd*/
persist.sys.main_storage=external_sd

if it still defaults to internal storage with this set it probably means that the SDcard is no been recognised at boot, making it think its not there,
and defaulting back to internal starage

  • 0

#10
Potatoes

Potatoes

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
It's true, it doesn't happen for everyone, I've never seen this happen, whenever I've changed to external it's always stayed that way.

  • 0
Posted Image

#11
cchalk

cchalk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815)
DO NOT TRY THIS, IT CAN BOOTLOOP YOUR PHONE!!

I had to restore from backup a few times trying to work this out.

I found that if I change the files in /system/etc external_sd.fstab to internal_sd.fstab and internal_sd.fstab to external_sd.fstab.
Then reboot my 32 GB SD card is mounted to /mnt/sdcard and the internal 2GB card is mounted to /mnt/sdcard2.
Now its working like I want but it I don't understand why?

Edit: I did this on the latest Infusion ROM.

Edited by cchalk, 13 September 2012 - 02:37 AM.

  • 0

#12
snsn

snsn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:8815
  • Twitter:@snsn
it looks like this only happend in ICS 4.0

  • 0

#13
Colin Whiteside

Colin Whiteside

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@spacehost
I think the problem is that it takes Android marginally longer to mount a larger SD card, so it decides one isn't mounted and defaults to internal, until it does mount, when it gets set as SD2. It's infuriating and messes up my whole phone experience. Messing about with the fstabs will fix it, but it's a bit of a faff.

  • 0

#14
atin

atin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
hello all. I have flashed a few roms but don't really know what I am doing so forgive me..

My phone now has a virtual 2gb sd card in internal storage it's confusing me and my apps...

How can reset the internal memory ? Please?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users