Jump to content


Photo

[GUIDE] Upgrade and Downgrade the G300 between GB, ICS and JB with downloads.

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
203 replies to this topic

#101
2thin2swim

2thin2swim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sheffield
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Hi, thanks for these instructions. Slight problem...

From Section 6 (downgrading from ICS to vodafone GB), near the top:
  • When prompted reboot your phone, By holding the Power Button down and selecting "Reboot" (I presume you mean "restart")
  • The device will then begin a reboot loop this will go through many different stages and can take up to 5 minutes.

    At this stage, the phone just shows the Huawei logo, then goes into the CWM-based recovery screen. It then says "E:Invalid command argument" - Any advice?

Edited by 2thin2swim, 05 October 2012 - 10:51 AM.

  • 0

#102
portachking

portachking

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Hi, thanks for these instructions. Slight problem...

From Section 6 (downgrading from ICS to vodafone GB), near the top:

  • When prompted reboot your phone, By holding the Power Button down and selecting "Reboot" (I presume you mean "restart")
  • The device will then begin a reboot loop this will go through many different stages and can take up to 5 minutes.

    At this stage, the phone just shows the Huawei logo, then goes into the CWM-based recovery screen. It then says "E:Invalid command argument" - Any advice?



I came here to ask the exact same question. Same issue exactly.

  • 0

#103
2thin2swim

2thin2swim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sheffield
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Why am I getting a panicky feeling about this...? Have I screwed the pooch?

  • 0

#104
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
Try pulling the battery for 30 seconds and then try restarting the phone. I've known this error to happen at times and a battery pull to cure it.

  • 0

#105
droiddruid

droiddruid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle, UK
Continue following the guide, specifically the steps involving CWM.

  • 0

#106
2thin2swim

2thin2swim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sheffield
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Try pulling the battery for 30 seconds and then try restarting the phone. I've known this error to happen at times and a battery pull to cure it.


Tried that - in fact, its the only way to break the cycle.

  • 0

#107
2thin2swim

2thin2swim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sheffield
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Continue following the guide, specifically the steps involving CWM.


Can't try that - locked in a vicious "OFF < > CWM screen" loop. But thanks for the attempt.

Is this the only possible solution?

  • 0

#108
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Can't try that - locked in a vicious "OFF < > CWM screen" loop. But thanks for the attempt.

Is this the only possible solution?

As you can get in to CWM, have you tried flashing a new ROM?

  • 0

#109
droiddruid

droiddruid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle, UK
From the recovery menu (Volume Buttons go up and down and Home is Select and Back is Back.) Select the following and in this order.
Wipe Cache Partition > Yes
Wipe Data / Factory Reset > Yes
Advanced > Wipe Battery Stats > Yes
Advanced > Wipe Dalvik Cache > Yes
Advanced > Fix Permissions > Yes
Reboot > Yes
This will then reboot your phone (On some ROM's it many not boot now but do not worry)
Download and extract the contents of an official stock GB update. [For the official Vodafone Online Upgrade to ICS choose the B885 or B892 firmware.]

  • 1

#110
portachking

portachking

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

From the recovery menu (Volume Buttons go up and down and Home is Select and Back is Back.) Select the following and in this order.
Wipe Cache Partition > Yes
Wipe Data / Factory Reset > Yes
Advanced > Wipe Battery Stats > Yes
Advanced > Wipe Dalvik Cache > Yes
Advanced > Fix Permissions > Yes
Reboot > Yes
This will then reboot your phone (On some ROM's it many not boot now but do not worry)
Download and extract the contents of an official stock GB update. [For the official Vodafone Online Upgrade to ICS choose the B885 or B892 firmware.]


Thank you. You are just wonderful!

  • 0

#111
portachking

portachking

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Hmm, I'm having trouble resetting the IEMI to 0.

I've followed the guide several times to (downgrading from ICS to GB) and its still showing the original IEMI. Any suggestions?

  • 0

#112
0066ad

0066ad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
This downgrade should be updated, without all this middle update app and restoring imei, alot off people are
having problems with it.

There is none of this needed, it is very confusing.

The force downgrade is much easier no middle package and no imei hack,
and only takes two minutes

  • 0

#113
baluepauk

baluepauk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:huawei ascend g300
My huawei g300 is with build no B880. I was tried to upgrade its firmware by OTA method.When I finished download its update file, I was installed it. But it was not upgraded .Why? What I need to do it again? Can I upgrade my phone with as your guide. Can I upgrade its current firmware to B 926 firmware? Help me.

  • 0

#114
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts

This downgrade should be updated, without all this middle update app and restoring imei, alot off people are
having problems with it.

There is none of this needed, it is very confusing.

The force downgrade is much easier no middle package and no imei hack,
and only takes two minutes


How do you do this pls?

  • 0

#115
0066ad

0066ad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

How do you do this pls?


It is already on modaco look here
http://www.modaco.co...8/#entry2011243

Credits go to tcpaulh

Edited by 0066ad, 07 October 2012 - 10:02 AM.

  • 0

#116
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Worth a try as it's less hassle but in some circumstances it will hang a third of the way through even with the middle file. If this happens then the zero imei method might be necessary.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#117
0066ad

0066ad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
It worked for me with no problems, now back on atomicmod with overclock
my phone has never been better. Thanks tcpaulh and also tillaz for the great
rom it's a pity, it's is not in development anymore in my opinion it's the best
rom for this phone at the moment

Edited by 0066ad, 07 October 2012 - 10:30 AM.

  • 0

#118
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,001 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
:)

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#119
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
Already new about middle package which doesn't work. thought it was something i never heard about.

  • 0

#120
0066ad

0066ad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
I didn't use the middle package, just put b885 update app in the dfolder switched on holding vol +/-
two minutes after i had gingerbread back on my phone

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users