Jump to content


Photo

[MOD] [SCRIPT] Multiboot via loop file [19/12]

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
392 replies to this topic

#321
Walwon

Walwon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (OSF)

Well, this will take longer for the first boot simply because a2sd is turned on by default and it will read the information in sd-ext and some apps will be incompatible with ssrls7 since they are made for cm-10.


So you suggest that the problem with booting this loopROM might be due to the incompatibility of apps located in my sd-ext? That is what I suspected as well.

  • 0

#322
Walwon

Walwon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (OSF)

Well, this will take longer for the first boot simply because a2sd is turned on by default and it will read the information in sd-ext and some apps will be incompatible with ssrls7 since they are made for cm-10.


After >15' still nothing, just the green guy...

  • 0

#323
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

After >15' still nothing, just the green guy...


Oh, you aren't getting past the "green guy"? Well that is a problem with the kernel then if it doesn't even make it to the "android" flashing text.

That should have nothing to do with the sd-ext, that has to do with a borked installation (either a problem with ss7sys, or a problem with recovery flashing the boot.img), does the red led turn off at all or does it stay on?

It's possible to mount the ss7sys loop file to check out if the installation into it worked, just do this:

1. Start terminal session
2. cd /sdcard/multiboot
3. mkdir test
4. su
5. losetup -f (remember the output of this because you'll use it in step 6)
6. losetup [output of losetup -f in step 5, eg /dev/block/loop#] ss7sys
7. mount -t ext2 [output of losetup -f in step 5, eg /dev/block/loop#] test
8. ls test

If the file appears empty then there was a problem with the installation, if not there was a problem with flashing the boot image (which is likely).

One thing i noticed when i unpacked your ROM was that the boot.img had wierd permission settings, i don't know why but it's easy enough to fix.

  • 0

#324
Walwon

Walwon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (OSF)
Here is a copy from the terminal session :

u0_a5@android:/storage/sdcard0/multiboot # ls test
app
bin
build.prop
etc
fonts
framework
lib
lost+found
media
sd
usr
wifi
xbin
u0_a5@android:/storage/sdcard0/multiboot #


So, the resulting test file is not empty.
The boot process stops on the 'green guy' not only after installing a zip file by cwm, but also when I use the boot script from the terminal.

Edited by Walwon, 19 October 2012 - 08:04 PM.

  • 0

#325
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

Here is a copy from the terminal session :

u0_a5@android:/storage/sdcard0/multiboot # ls test
app
bin
build.prop
etc
fonts
framework
lib
lost+found
media
sd
usr
wifi
xbin
u0_a5@android:/storage/sdcard0/multiboot #


So, the resulting test file is not empty.
The boot process stops on the 'green guy' not only after installing a zip file by cwm, but also when I use the boot script from the terminal.


Yup, the installation worked fine and unpacking your boot.img and reading the init.rc reveals that it is exactly as it should. The problem seems to be with either flashing the boot.img or mounting system via the init.rc script.

To confirm that it is a problem with flashing the boot image, try this:

1. Start terminal session
2. su
3. cd /sdcard/multiboot
4. erase_image boot
5. flash_image boot Swedish-Snow-RLS7boot.img (i assume this is what the boot.img is called because of the name of the ROM you uploaded).

If the result isn't a success then the output should show that, if it IS a success then the problem is with mounting system.

To restore your boot.img of the nand ROM just do this:

1. Start terminal session
2. su
3. cd /sdcard/multiboot
4. erase_image boot
5. flash_image boot boot.img


  • 0

#326
gunapriyan

gunapriyan

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Dear Snap,

As per your instruction, i had successfully two loop ROMS (CM10-Burstlam and PA-JB).....

I was given System 250MB and Data 100 MB.....

After enter into PA....I am unable to install app.....Faced error message like "Out of Space".....

Is there any wrong in my space allocation?

Note : I am using 8 GB SD.....

Please advise me...

Regards,

Guna

  • 0

#327
De@n

De@n

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Xperia S & Blade

Dear Snap,

As per your instruction, i had successfully two loop ROMS (CM10-Burstlam and PA-JB).....

I was given System 250MB and Data 100 MB.....

After enter into PA....I am unable to install app.....Faced error message like "Out of Space".....

Is there any wrong in my space allocation?

Note : I am using 8 GB SD.....

Please advise me...

Regards,

Guna

Increase Data to 300mbs :)

  • 0
  • Device: Zte Blade

#328
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

Dear Snap,

As per your instruction, i had successfully two loop ROMS (CM10-Burstlam and PA-JB).....

I was given System 250MB and Data 100 MB.....

After enter into PA....I am unable to install app.....Faced error message like "Out of Space".....

Is there any wrong in my space allocation?

Note : I am using 8 GB SD.....

Please advise me...

Regards,

Guna


100MB is WAY too low. As De@n said, make it 300.

Personally i never make it less than 500 simply because i share it between ROMs and i like having enough room left to install all apps i'm using and enough left over for those apps that i simply want to try out. Do NOT share it between versions though, that is a recepie for disaster.

You can share the data partition between those two roms but remember that if you change a setting in one ROM it will change in the other too.

Edited by Snap.IT, 20 October 2012 - 04:31 PM.

  • 0

#329
Walwon

Walwon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (OSF)

<br /><br />Yup, the installation worked fine and unpacking your boot.img and reading the init.rc reveals that it is exactly as it should. The problem seems to be with either flashing the boot.img or mounting system via the init.rc script.<br /><br />To confirm that it is a problem with flashing the boot image, try this:<br /><br />1. Start terminal session<br />2. su<br />3. cd /sdcard/multiboot<br />4. erase_image boot<br />5. flash_image boot Swedish-Snow-RLS7boot.img (i assume this is what the boot.img is called because of the name of the ROM you uploaded).<br /><br />If the result isn't a success then the output should show that, if it IS a success then the problem is with mounting system.<br /><br />To restore your boot.img of the nand ROM just do this:<br /><br />1. Start terminal session <br />2. su<br />3. cd /sdcard/multiboot<br />4. erase_image boot<br />5. flash_image boot boot.img

<br /><br />After step 4. there is an error:<br />'not erasing bad block at 0x01c0000'<br />than at step 5. it says: 'not writing bad block at 0x01c0000'.<br />Does it mean that there is some problem with the sd card internal memory, or just the boot file

Edited by Walwon, 20 October 2012 - 07:21 PM.

  • 0

#330
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

After step 4. there is an error:
'not erasing bad block at 0x01c0000'
than at step 5. It says: 'not writing bad blok at 0x01c0000'.
Does it mean that there is some problem with the sd card or just the boot file?


It's way worse than that, you have a bad block on your NAND boot partition. This is most probably a hardware issue (if it's not it has to do with a bad TPT and that can be resolved by TPT'ing again).

Since it is marked bad it shouldn't present a problem under normal circumstances.

But since it does and different versions of erase and write boot boot image programs can be flakey i'll make you a kernel update file to try.

In my next version the script will include this function by default, it will make a flashable kernel package in your loop roms folder (along with a flashable package of saved nand ROM in your multiboot folder).

Flashable kernel package: https://dl.dropbox.c...ow-RLS7boot.zip

  • 0

#331
HDuser

HDuser

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Devices:Zte blade
Can we install ROM in EXT partition? that would be more easy and fast? what you guys think?......

  • 0

#332
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

Can we install ROM in EXT partition? that would be more easy and fast? what you guys think?......


There is already an option to do that in another script on this forum.

The problem as i see it is that you need to partition your card and the amount is limited to one ROM on your NAND and one in your two ext partitions (one for /system and one for /data). If you are using /sd-ext for your nand you can't use a swap partition in that scenario since the maximum number of primary partitions is 4, you can't use extended with logical drives either.

Quite frankly i have seen absolutely no speed improvement over using loop files at all provided that you have a proper read-ahead set (which does a helluvalot for loop files on /sdcard but nothing for other partitions mounted as /system).

To use a separate ext partition for loop files makes no difference what so ever if that's what you were thinking about, however it does solve another problem, that you can't unmount /system to mount /sdcard as usb storage and access it on your computer.

  • 0

#333
Walwon

Walwon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (OSF)

It's way worse than that, you have a bad block on your NAND boot partition. This is most probably a hardware issue (if it's not it has to do with a bad TPT and that can be resolved by TPT'ing again).

Since it is marked bad it shouldn't present a problem under normal circumstances.

But since it does and different versions of erase and write boot boot image programs can be flakey i'll make you a kernel update file to try.

In my next version the script will include this function by default, it will make a flashable kernel package in your loop roms folder (along with a flashable package of saved nand ROM in your multiboot folder).

Flashable kernel package: https://dl.dropbox.c...ow-RLS7boot.zip


Well, except for the problems with your script, my phone seems to behave normal. I don't have any problems with it.
Each time after unsuccessful experiment with the script I just restored boot by cwm advanced recovery and everything worked fine again.

I could try reTPT-ing in an attempt to remove this bad block in boot but probably I would do it only if I decide to change the ROM again some time in the future. I wouldn't like to reconfigure all my apps now.
Do you think that formatting boot from within cwm "mounts and storage > format boot" could help? This would be much easier, faster, and more safe that TPT (?).

EDIT:
I have formatted boot in cwm, but it didn't help. When I do "flash_image boot boot.img" there is still the same error about bad block.


What is this kernel package supposed to do? I have flashed it through cwm and once more the boot process stopped on the 'green android guy' and I had to pull out the battery, put it back, enter into recovery mode, and restore boot.

Edited by Walwon, 21 October 2012 - 08:26 PM.

  • 0

#334
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

Well, except for the problems with your script, my phone seems to behave normal. I don't have any problems with it.
Each time after unsuccessful experiment with the script I just restored boot by cwm advanced recovery and everything worked fine again.

I could try reTPT-ing in an attempt to remove this bad block in boot but probably I would do it only if I decide to change the ROM again some time in the future. I wouldn't like to reconfigure all my apps now.
Do you think that formatting boot from within cwm "mounts and storage > format boot" could help? This would be much easier, faster, and more safe that TPT (?).

EDIT:
I have formatted boot in cwm, but it didn't help. When I do "flash_image boot boot.img" there is still the same error about bad block.


What is this kernel package supposed to do? I have flashed it through cwm and once more the boot process stopped on the 'green android guy' and I had to pull out the battery, put it back, enter into recovery mode, and restore boot.


The problem is that since there is a bad block the boot.img isn't written correctly (which is strange since it's marked bad already) i made the kernel update package to format and write a raw boot image via recovery, unfortunately that didn't work either. :(

Even if you TPT you can just restore your CWM backup so no reinstall is neccessary, a TPT won't touch your sdcard at all so your previous backups can be restored afterwards, it probably won't help but i'm at a loss of what else to try. There is a good chance that your boot partition will cause problems in the future though so make frequent backups of your data so you won't lose it.

Did the red led turn off during any of your attempted boots?

  • 0

#335
Walwon

Walwon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (OSF)

The problem is that since there is a bad block the boot.img isn't written correctly (which is strange since it's marked bad already) i made the kernel update package to format and write a raw boot image via recovery, unfortunately that didn't work either. :(

Even if you TPT you can just restore your CWM backup so no reinstall is neccessary, a TPT won't touch your sdcard at all so your previous backups can be restored afterwards, it probably won't help but i'm at a loss of what else to try. There is a good chance that your boot partition will cause problems in the future though so make frequent backups of your data so you won't lose it.

Did the red led turn off during any of your attempted boots?



OK. I will do TPT to see if it would remove the bad block.

Yes, the red LED turns off during boots, but after this there are no more noticable changes.



EDIT 1:
I did TPT. There were no errors displayed during the process. After TPT I have installed your recent CWM touch (stable) and restored ROM from cwm backup. It booted without any problems and seems working properly. But when in terminal I do "erase_image boot" there is still: "not erasing bad block at ....". So, TPT didn't change anything... :-(


EDIT 2:
I have even decided to use KonstaT's all-in-one Swedish-Snow-RLS7-TPT.zip for TPT. After this SS RLS7 worked perfectly. Than I used Amphora's v10f TPT, installed you touch recovery, and recovered CM10 from CWM backup. There were no signs of any error at any time. Each time the ROMs and CWM booted without any problems. But even after this double TPT there is still the same info about bad block in terminal when I try to erase_image boot...

Why is it that the boot.img that is flashed by TPT or installed together with CWM or restered from backup works OK but it doesn't work through terminal?

Well, I suppose I can live with it.
Thanks again for your help! :-)

Edited by Walwon, 22 October 2012 - 09:18 AM.

  • 2

#336
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

OK. I will do TPT to see if it would remove the bad block.

Yes, the red LED turns off during boots, but after this there are no more noticable changes.



EDIT 1:
I did TPT. There were no errors displayed during the process. After TPT I have installed your recent CWM touch (stable) and restored ROM from cwm backup. It booted without any problems and seems working properly. But when in terminal I do "erase_image boot" there is still: "not erasing bad block at ....". So, TPT didn't change anything... :-(


EDIT 2:
I have even decided to use KonstaT's all-in-one Swedish-Snow-RLS7-TPT.zip for TPT. After this SS RLS7 worked perfectly. Than I used Amphora's v10f TPT, installed you touch recovery, and recovered CM10 from CWM backup. There were no signs of any error at any time. Each time the ROMs and CWM booted without any problems. But even after this double TPT there is still the same info about bad block in terminal when I try to erase_image boot...

Why is it that the boot.img that is flashed by TPT or installed together with CWM or restered from backup works OK but it doesn't work through terminal?

Well, I suppose I can live with it.
Thanks again for your help! :-)


This doesn't make much sense to me, if the led turns off the kernel has booted, that would mean that the problem isn't with the boot.img after all, it's with the mounting of the loop files via the init.rc script since it doesn't even display the bootanimation. That is also extremely strange since you've mounted /sdcard/multiboot/ss7sys and it mounted fine and i've installed your loop rom after creating the loop files and that worked too.

If it had been that it's a problem with the terminal flash_image and erase_image then flashing the kernel package i uploaded would have fixed that.

It's obvious that something somewhere is wrong but i have no idea what it is at this point in time. I'm still running your converted SSRLS7 without problems along with mokee, CM-10 and PA-JB.

  • 0

#337
Walwon

Walwon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (OSF)

This doesn't make much sense to me, if the led turns off the kernel has booted, that would mean that the problem isn't with the boot.img after all, it's with the mounting of the loop files via the init.rc script since it doesn't even display the bootanimation. That is also extremely strange since you've mounted /sdcard/multiboot/ss7sys and it mounted fine and i've installed your loop rom after creating the loop files and that worked too.

If it had been that it's a problem with the terminal flash_image and erase_image then flashing the kernel package i uploaded would have fixed that.

It's obvious that something somewhere is wrong but i have no idea what it is at this point in time. I'm still running your converted SSRLS7 without problems along with mokee, CM-10 and PA-JB.



Yeah, that is very strange.
Just to be completely sure, I installed your SS7 kernel package once more, than I installed the SS7 loop zip, and rebooted the phone. As during previous attempts, "a green android guy" logo appeared, after a moment red LED went off and nothing more happened after several minutes of waiting. But after restoring boot from CWM backup, CM10 is booting properly, everythging is back to 'normal' and working well...

If the script and my files work in your case, it probably means that the problem must be with my phone.
As I said, as long as it boots and operates my current ROM properly, it is not a big issue for me. If I want to have fully operating system, I can always go back to SS7 by restoring it my CWM backup although it is not as convenient as using the multiboot script.

Thanks once more!

  • 0

#338
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

Yeah, that is very strange.
Just to be completely sure, I installed your SS7 kernel package once more, than I installed the SS7 loop zip, and rebooted the phone. As during previous attempts, "a green android guy" logo appeared, after a moment red LED went off and nothing more happened after several minutes of waiting. But after restoring boot from CWM backup, CM10 is booting properly, everythging is back to 'normal' and working well...

If the script and my files work in your case, it probably means that the problem must be with my phone.
As I said, as long as it boots and operates my current ROM properly, it is not a big issue for me. If I want to have fully operating system, I can always go back to SS7 by restoring it my CWM backup although it is not as convenient as using the multiboot script.

Thanks once more!


It may have something to do with SSRLS7 specifically, if you want to you could try mokee for a fully functional ROM and see if that works. :)

I was really hoping to resolve this but it seems that there is just something i can't figure out that makes it impossible for your phone to boot the SSRLS7. :(

  • 0

#339
Walwon

Walwon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (OSF)

It may have something to do with SSRLS7 specifically, if you want to you could try mokee for a fully functional ROM and see if that works. :)

I was really hoping to resolve this but it seems that there is just something i can't figure out that makes it impossible for your phone to boot the SSRLS7. :(


No, it is not just SSRLS7. I have followed your advice and tried MoKeeOS. Your script didn't return any errors and created all the required files and folders but after flashing the resulting MoKeeOS loopROM zip through CWM the phone did not boot (the red LED turns off and that's all; I need to restore boot from CWM backup to boot back into CM10).
Maybe I will try to come back to SSRLS7 as a nandROM and try your script there to install CM10 as a loopROM.

EDIT:
I have restored SSRLS7 from CWM backup and tried to install within it the MoKeeOS loopROM but the result was still the same - boot process stoped after the red LED turned off.

Edited by Walwon, 25 October 2012 - 07:37 AM.

  • 0

#340
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

No, it is not just SSRLS7. I have followed your advice and tried MoKeeOS. Your script didn't return any errors and created all the required files and folders but after flashing the resulting MoKeeOS loopROM zip through CWM the phone did not boot (the red LED turns off and that's all; I need to restore boot from CWM backup to boot back into CM10).
Maybe I will try to come back to SSRLS7 as a nandROM and try your script there to install CM10 as a loopROM.

EDIT:
I have restored SSRLS7 from CWM backup and tried to install within it the MoKeeOS loopROM but the result was still the same - boot process stoped after the red LED turned off.


That's just ... i don't know what to say about it, it makes absolutely no sense to me. :(

New version is up today, won't help you but it's a lot nicer for those that can use it.

  • 1




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users