Jump to content


Photo

[MOD] [SCRIPT] Multiboot via loop file [19/12]

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
394 replies to this topic

#61
android@sam

android@sam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nagpur,India
  • Interests:Computers, MObilez...
  • Devices:DELL XCD35 aka ZTE BLADE

Boss, "To be able to reboot back to NAND (the ROM on your phones internal storage) you need to copy the boot.img of your current ROM into the multiboot directory." ....Where can i find my current ROM boot.img?

Or if you just lost your ROM update.zip,then go into the terminal type su and then following command
dump_image boot /sdcard/makelooprom-android/multiboot/boot.img

Edited by android@sam, 31 August 2012 - 06:43 PM.

  • 0

Sony Ericsson UI On your ZTE BLADE

"CYANSCAPE"


#62
gunapriyan

gunapriyan

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Using "sh makelooprom-anroid" fix permission problem.....

Steps i did...

1. Do you want to make an image file to hold the system for this ROM? Yes
2. What do you want to call your system image? Y
3. Wat size ? 500 MB
...
...
...
Writing Superblocks..............
...
...
...
Do you want to make an image file to hold the data for this ROM? Yes
...
...
What do you want to call your data image? Yes
...
...
...
What size do you want your data image to be ? 200 MB
...
...
...
Writing superblocks....
...
...
...
Type the name of the ROM....
Type the name of data image...

...........................

Gapps...

.....
Select Gapps....

.....
Permission Error....
...
...
Name of ROM ()
Name of data ()
....
....
Finally....2 folders are created....But nothing in it.....

...

In loop-roms folder...() is there ....but empty....some "y" is created in root with 200 MB....
....
....

What can i do?

Is there any wrong i am doing?

Please help me....(I am using CM10-Konsta...)

Regards,

Guna

Edited by gunapriyan, 31 August 2012 - 06:56 PM.

  • 0

#63
android@sam

android@sam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nagpur,India
  • Interests:Computers, MObilez...
  • Devices:DELL XCD35 aka ZTE BLADE
@guna
Are you using the zip or the new tae version of the tool?

  • 0

Sony Ericsson UI On your ZTE BLADE

"CYANSCAPE"


#64
gunapriyan

gunapriyan

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
used new tar version...

If you need, i can eloborate my process....

If i wrong means, correct me...

I had tried to use "CM9-Burstlam" ROM.....I am using CM10-Konsta ROM.....is there any problem on that?

Edited by gunapriyan, 31 August 2012 - 07:09 PM.

  • 0

#65
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995
There is something wrong with the shell on some ROMs, if you can't start the script using ./makelooprom-android it won't work.

I've tried to use exec instead but the end result is the same, no permissions to execute.

I wonder what would happen if i made an ext2 loopfile, mounted it and ran the whole shebang within the loopfile. I'll check it out.

  • 0

#66
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995
Heh, making an ext2 loop rom for running the script worked just fine, but i'm going to have to rewrite most of the script to make it work properly.

  • 0

#67
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
Once you've done all that I'm going to try and put it into one simple to use app.

  • 0
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#68
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995
Fixed it, it now runs as sh makelooprom-startup instead of ./makelooprom.

  • 1

#69
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

Once you've done all that I'm going to try and put it into one simple to use app.


That would be awesome.

The script should be self running now with all the directory changes included so that it can be called from wherever you are, well at least as long as the /sdcard symlink exists which it does seem to be in all roms i've tested.

  • 0

#70
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

used new tar version...

If you need, i can eloborate my process....

If i wrong means, correct me...

I had tried to use "CM9-Burstlam" ROM.....I am using CM10-Konsta ROM.....is there any problem on that?


Here's an example of my latest install using the new version, the only difference is that you now type sh makelooprom-startup for the rom and sh makeloopgapps-startup for the gapps and other packages as you can see in my example below.

# cd sdcard/MakeLoopROM
/sdcard/MakeloopROM # sh makelooprom-startup

20000+0 records in
20000+0 records out
20480000 bytes transferred in 3.340 secs (6131736 bytes/sec)
mke2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=1024 (log=0)
Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
5016 inodes, 20000 blocks
1000 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=1
Maximum filesystem blocks=20709376
3 block groups
8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
1672 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
8193

Writing inode tables: done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done



Do you want to make an image file to hold the system for this ROM? (not neccessary if it's an upgrade from a previous ROM) Y for yes any other key for no.


y


What do you want to call your system image?


cm-10-konstat-system


What size do you want your system image to be (in MB's)?


180
184320+0 records in
184320+0 records out
188743680 bytes transferred in 49.203 secs (3836019 bytes/sec)
mke2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=1024 (log=0)
Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
46184 inodes, 184320 blocks
9216 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=1
Maximum filesystem blocks=67371008
23 block groups
8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
2008 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
8193, 24577, 40961, 57345, 73729

Writing inode tables: done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

This filesystem will be automatically checked every 31 mounts or
180 days, whichever comes first. Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.


Do you want to make an image file to hold the data for this ROM? (not neccessary if it's an upgrade from a previous ROM or you want to share a data image with another ROM) Y for yes any other key for no.


y


What do you want to call your data image?


cm-10-konstat-data


What size do you want your data image to be (in MB's)?


500
512000+0 records in
512000+0 records out
524288000 bytes transferred in 154.700 secs (3389062 bytes/sec)
mke2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=1024 (log=0)
Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
128016 inodes, 512000 blocks
25600 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=1
Maximum filesystem blocks=67633152



Type the name of the ROM you copied to this directory without the file ending. For example if your ROM file name is cm-7.2.0-blade.zip you type cm-7.2.0-blade


cm-10-20120829-KonstaKANG-blade


unzipping your ROM


Saving base and cmdline of boot.img from current ROM (cm-10-20120829-KonstaKANG-blade) for future use




Extracting the boot.img of current ROM (cm-10-20120829-KonstaKANG-blade)


Page size: 2048 (0x00000800)
Kernel size: 3511076 (0x00359324)
Ramdisk size: 173245 (0x0002a4bd)
Second size: 0 (0x00000000)
Board name:
Command line: androidboot.hardware=blade console=null
Writing boot.img-kernel ... complete.
Writing boot.img-ramdisk.gz ... complete.
30000+0 records in
30000+0 records out
30720000 bytes transferred in 12.645 secs (2429418 bytes/sec)
mke2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=1024 (log=0)
Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
7520 inodes, 30000 blocks
1500 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=1
Maximum filesystem blocks=30932992
4 block groups
8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
1880 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
8193, 24577

Writing inode tables: done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

This filesystem will be automatically checked every 26 mounts or
180 days, whichever comes first. Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.
30000+0 records in
30000+0 records out
30720000 bytes transferred in 6.912 secs (4444444 bytes/sec)
mke2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=1024 (log=0)
Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
7520 inodes, 30000 blocks
1500 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=1
Maximum filesystem blocks=30932992
4 block groups
8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
1880 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
8193, 24577

Writing inode tables: done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

This filesystem will be automatically checked every 37 mounts or
180 days, whichever comes first. Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.
30000+0 records in
30000+0 records out
30720000 bytes transferred in 5.119 secs (6001172 bytes/sec)
mke2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=1024 (log=0)
Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
7520 inodes, 30000 blocks
1500 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=1
Maximum filesystem blocks=30932992
4 block groups
8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
1880 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
8193, 24577

Writing inode tables: done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

This filesystem will be automatically checked every 35 mounts or
180 days, whichever comes first. Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.
570 blocks


What is the name of the system image you'll be using for this ROM? If you made a system image before for this ROM then use that name ()


cm-10-konstat-system


What is the name of the data image you'll be using for this ROM? If you made a data image before for this ROM then use that name ()


cm-10-konstat-data




If this is a Jelly Bean (CM10) ROM type y for yes, if it's not, type n for no.
y


Creating ramdisk cpio archive ...


Find compiled boot.img inside output folder as cm-10-20120829-KonstaKANG-bladeboot.img


Now fixing your updater-script so you can install this ROM into your loop image


format("yaffs2", "MTD", "system", "0", "/system");




Do you want this installation to format the data image used with this ROM?
Answer Y for yes if it's a new installation and N for no if you are upgrading
and want to keep the data on the data image. (Say yes if you would run wipe
data/factory reset in recovery if this was a normal install)
y


The data image used with this ROM will be formatted during installation


All done, time to pack your ROM up again, it will be called cm-10-20120829-KonstaKANG-blade-loopinstall.zip and will be in multiboot/cm-10-konstat-system/loop-roms


Moving all files to your /sdcard/multiboot directory





Everything worked, cm-10-20120829-KonstaKANG-blade is ready for loop installation.


Happy multibooting :)

Snap.IT aka Jinxxed

/sdcard/MakeLoopROM # sh makeloopgapps-startup

Type the name of the package you copied to this directory without the file ending. For example if your ROM file name is gapps-jb.zip you type gapps-jb


CM9-KonstaKANG-GEN3



unzipping your package




What is the name of the system image you'll be using for this ROM? If you made a system image before for this ROM then use that name ()


cm-10-konstat-system


What is the name of the data image you'll be using for this ROM? If you made a data image before for this ROM then use that name ()


cm-10-konstat-data


Now fixing your updater-script so you can install this ROM into your loop image


run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mount", "/system");


All done, time to pack your package up again, it will be called CM9-KonstaKANG-GEN3-loopinstall.zip and will be in multiboot/loop-roms/cm-10-konstat-system


Moving all files to your /sdcard/multiboot directory
Everything worked, CM9-KonstaKANG-GEN3 is ready for loop installation.

/sdcard/MakeLoopROM # sh makeloopgapps-startup

Type the name of the package you copied to this directory without the file ending. For example if your ROM file name is gapps-jb.zip you type gapps-jb


gapps-jb-20120815-KonstaKANG


unzipping your package




What is the name of the system image you'll be using for this ROM? If you made a system image before for this ROM then use that name ()


cm-10-konstat-system


What is the name of the data image you'll be using for this ROM? If you made a data image before for this ROM then use that name ()


cm-10-konstat-data


Now fixing your updater-script so you can install this ROM into your loop image


run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mount", "/system");


All done, time to pack your package up again, it will be called gapps-jb-20120815-KonstaKANG-loopinstall.zip and will be in multiboot/loop-roms/cm-10-konstat-system


Moving all files to your /sdcard/multiboot directory
Everything worked, gapps-jb-20120815-KonstaKANG is ready for loop installation.




Edited by Snap.IT, 31 August 2012 - 11:51 PM.

  • 0

#71
raizor6th

raizor6th

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTEblade V880 512mb
android terminal emu says no such file or directory after typing sh makelooprom-startup

any idea why is this happening to me?

  • 0

#72
android@sam

android@sam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nagpur,India
  • Interests:Computers, MObilez...
  • Devices:DELL XCD35 aka ZTE BLADE

android terminal emu says no such file or directory after typing sh makelooprom-startup

any idea why is this happening to me?

You should first mount the makelooprom directory first ro proceed.Type the following commands in term:

su
cd /sdcard/MakeLoopRom
sh makelooprom-startup

Edited by android@sam, 01 September 2012 - 03:29 AM.

  • 0

Sony Ericsson UI On your ZTE BLADE

"CYANSCAPE"


#73
n1729

n1729

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Both of those roms work perfectly when i'm converting them, there is something else that is wrong here, i don't know what but it would help if i knew what ROM you're running the script on.

The fact that you get "permission denied" when trying to run ./makelooprom-android tells me that there is something wrong with your permissions, you need to be su.

For some reason there is a problem with PA roms (i get the exact same response you do when running it on PA roms), it works fine on KonstaKANG though, the problem persists after upgrading SU so i don't know what is going on.

I tried it on both cyanscape rom and then on Burstlam's CM9. Both time i got the same problem.
So i used "sh ./makelooprom-android", then it works fine. But at the end it shows" You have an unusual updater script".
I used CM7.2 and cyanscape rom for convertion.
I hope this helps.

Will use tar file and report back.

Edited by n1729, 01 September 2012 - 05:22 AM.

  • 0

#74
stanoo

stanoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
Good work I'm using Linux to create the multi boot rom but when I flash in Cwm it I get stuck in the green Man and I'm forced to restore my nand backup, is there something that I'm doing wrong?

  • 0

#75
raizor6th

raizor6th

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTEblade V880 512mb
that is exactly what i did before i get the error and i tried it many times following the steps at the OP. The error occured after typing sh makelooprom-startup

im using cm10 konstaKANG latest build.

"no such file or directory"

any idea?

Edited by raizor6th, 01 September 2012 - 10:44 AM.

  • 0

#76
gunapriyan

gunapriyan

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Snap, You had specified CM10's procedure. I need CM9 as secondary ROM. Using CM10 as Primary. Then what can i change in your procedure.....Thanks in advance...

  • 0

#77
razzmataz1478

razzmataz1478

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HULL
  • Interests:Flashing ROMs, Being distracted by my skate
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Snap, You had specified CM10's procedure. I need CM9 as secondary ROM. Using CM10 as Primary. Then what can i change in your procedure.....Thanks in advance...


Changes from CM10:

Zip name says CM9 instead of CM10.

Type n where it asks you if the rom is jellybean.

  • 0

Posted Image

Current Phone:

Xperia T


Previous Phones:

Orange Monte Carlo

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic (Nokia C6-00 CFW)

Sony Ericsson v640i

Nokia 3120

Various other Nokia phones.

Not the best history of phones Posted Image


#78
gunapriyan

gunapriyan

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Snap, makelooprom-startup[25]: ./makelooprom-android: can't execute : Permission denied.....

  • 0

#79
De@n

De@n

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Xperia S & Blade

Snap, makelooprom-startup[25]: ./makelooprom-android: can't execute : Permission denied.....


Same :huh:

  • 1

#80
Snap.IT

Snap.IT

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3, Alcatel OT995

Snap, makelooprom-startup[25]: ./makelooprom-android: can't execute : Permission denied.....

Same :huh:


Re-read the OP. The procedure has changed for this version.

It is now sh makelooprom-startup.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users