Jump to content


Photo

power button

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#21
zodh

zodh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:intel san diego
Good afternoon. I can not find gpio-keys.kl on my pc

  • 0

#22
chinstroker

chinstroker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:nottingham , uk
  • Devices:osd and asus nexus 7
  • Twitter:@chinstroker1862
I managed to root and make the power button switch about ten mins after posting. Works a treat

  • 0

#23
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one

Good afternoon. I can not find gpio-keys.kl on my pc


you could also edit the gpio-keys.kl on the phone itself if you have root, just find the file and edit it

  • 0

#24
JRAtk027

JRAtk027

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Orange/Intel San Diego
I've had this problem twice. I got it replaced for free the first time, about 3 months ago after having it for about a month. But this time they had to send it off for repairs for "up to 2 weeks". AND they didn't even admit any wrong-doing on their half, when it's obviously a design flaw. Absolutely ridiculous. As well as that, the back of the phone kept popping off at random, this isn't a known issue, but should've warranted a replacement. I will probably have to result to consumer law to back me up on this one if they continue.

Edited by JRAtk027, 25 October 2012 - 01:32 PM.

  • 0

#25
chinstroker

chinstroker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:nottingham , uk
  • Devices:osd and asus nexus 7
  • Twitter:@chinstroker1862
My power/wake amendment has stopped working now...cant seem to wake with the camera button. Pretty sure its a rogue app or superuser change thats caused it but can put my finger on what exactly - any thoughts anyone?

  • 0

#26
Roids

Roids

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (Orange SF)
I just wanted to recommend an app called TapTapTap that also unlocks your phone based on input from the proximity sensor. I don't use a case that totally covers the proximity sensor. With TapTapApp I can unlock the phone with 2 swipes across the sensor. Takes a little while to learn the perfect finger movement/action, I prefer left to right (ironically, tapping is hopeless). Works 1st time about 85% of the time. The hit on my battery is acceptable, and I am definitely prolonging my power buttons life. Other similar apps are available, can anyone recommend a better implementation?

Update: Took my own advice and investigated the app 'Light Lock', which arguably unlocks more consistently.

Edited by Roids, 28 October 2012 - 09:09 AM.

  • 0

#27
muttly

muttly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:OSD
Hi all, firstly the mod works great however if my screen is shut for over 10 mins the camera button fails to turn on the screen again. Anyone else with this problem?

  • 0

#28
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,654 posts
Looks like the phone went into deep sleep and any other button cannot wake the phone. Not sure how this can be resolved at the moment.

  • 0

#29
chinstroker

chinstroker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:nottingham , uk
  • Devices:osd and asus nexus 7
  • Twitter:@chinstroker1862

Hi all, firstly the mod works great however if my screen is shut for over 10 mins the camera button fails to turn on the screen again. Anyone else with this problem?


Me. I had this issue. Opted for the manual piece of cardboard under the button by removing the back which is a perfect fix (if the crappy power button losing its click was your original problem)

  • 0

#30
muttly

muttly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:OSD
That sounds like a perfect solution, do you mind taking a picture of your fix so I could copy it.

  • 0

#31
chinstroker

chinstroker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:nottingham , uk
  • Devices:osd and asus nexus 7
  • Twitter:@chinstroker1862
Ill try to take one later but really want to disturb it! Literally put your thumb nail down the casing behind the power button and lightly lift it up. Give the button a press and youll see where the piece needs to go

  • 1

#32
chinstroker

chinstroker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:nottingham , uk
  • Devices:osd and asus nexus 7
  • Twitter:@chinstroker1862
I used a screw driver to push the card into position. Works a treat

  • 0

#33
RHodgett

RHodgett

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:San Diego (Virgin Mobile)
its happened to me too. going to try and take it back to CEX for a replacement.

  • 0

#34
Humphries1

Humphries1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Having the same problems

Edited by Humphries1, 02 December 2012 - 12:53 PM.

  • 0

#35
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,654 posts

Having the same problems


That's nice but these type of 'me too' posts are utterly pointless.

  • 0

#36
Humphries1

Humphries1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Diego

That's nice but these type of 'me too' posts are utterly pointless.

Sorry precious. Update- still broke :)

Edited by Humphries1, 03 December 2012 - 03:00 PM.

  • 0

#37
nadezz

nadezz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
I'm now a little paranoid that this will happen to me. I bought my OSD on ebay. Is this covered by a warranty? If so, what details are needed to get a repair (i can contact the seller and request some details if they are not private)

  • 0

#38
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,654 posts

I'm now a little paranoid that this will happen to me. I bought my OSD on ebay. Is this covered by a warranty? If so, what details are needed to get a repair (i can contact the seller and request some details if they are not private)


A copy of the original receipt is helpful but not essential. As long as you know the purchase date then it'll still be covered under the 1 year manufacturers warranty which is handled by SBE Ltd in the UK. However they are rather slow so be prepared to be without the phone for at least a month. Just pop a bit of card under the button like suggested. It'll work fine and won't cause any additional problems. Only send the phone for repair when it has a serious issue and be sure to remove the cardboard you placed under the button.

  • 1

#39
mickael

mickael

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France Joncy
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Can you make picture please ?

I test POWER Wake tweak but like you say don't work when phone deep sleep

Thanks

  • 0

Motorola RAZRi 4.1.2 JB

Unlocked Bootloader - CWM - Root


#40
nadezz

nadezz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Diego

A copy of the original receipt is helpful but not essential. As long as you know the purchase date then it'll still be covered under the 1 year manufacturers warranty which is handled by SBE Ltd in the UK. However they are rather slow so be prepared to be without the phone for at least a month. Just pop a bit of card under the button like suggested. It'll work fine and won't cause any additional problems. Only send the phone for repair when it has a serious issue and be sure to remove the cardboard you placed under the button.


What is the whole cardboard thing? Is there a video tut?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users