Jump to content


Photo

Explained like you're 5: Install custom ROMs from scratch, install the official ICS update, root & more


  • Please log in to reply
246 replies to this topic

#61
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Hmm I got to the re-root section problem free, however I can't get the RootG300.exe to work. When cmd opens the root process begins but then I just get a series of "error: device not found" and it exits.

Any advice?


That's weird you didn't get an error on the first root, but you are on the re-root. Make sure USB debugging is enabled and try plugging your phone into another USB port. Try restarting your phone and computer.

You can try rooting using the first root method again, but you will still probably get the error.

Let me know if and how you solve it.

Edited by beggin, 14 September 2012 - 11:17 PM.

  • 0

#62
Gabriel94

Gabriel94

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania Germany
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G
or install hisuite from huawei, it contains all drivers

Edit:

Oh sorry for not seeing the download link, i didnt open the spoiler.
Installed infusion and its great, thanks guys!

Edited by Gabriel94, 15 September 2012 - 08:27 AM.

  • 0

Proud Owner Of a Motorola Moto G
arzw.jpg


#63
JacksEcho

JacksEcho

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
I literally have no idea what I'm doing so being explained to like a five year old is perfect.
It seemed to be rooted doing it on mac, I get through stage 3 all the way to step 13 perfectly, open supersu and it says "su binary not found"
so obviously I've gone wrong somewhere I just dont know where.

  • 0

#64
MeatGrowBrain

MeatGrowBrain

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

That's weird you didn't get an error on the first root, but you are on the re-root. Make sure USB debugging is enabled and try plugging your phone into another USB port. Try restarting your phone and computer.

You can try rooting using the first root method again, but you will still probably get the error.

Let me know if and how you solve it.


Restarted and still no joy, switched to a different USB port and it worked; many thanks for the suggestions.

  • 0

#65
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

I literally have no idea what I'm doing so being explained to like a five year old is perfect.
It seemed to be rooted doing it on mac, I get through stage 3 all the way to step 13 perfectly, open supersu and it says "su binary not found"
so obviously I've gone wrong somewhere I just dont know where.


Hi, is there an update button when you get the message "su binary not found"?

  • 0

#66
JacksEcho

JacksEcho

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Hi, is there an update button when you get the message "su binary not found"?

Nope, I installed supersu it comes up "there is no SU Binary installed, and super su cannot install it. this is a problem!" and it doesn't load from there, and I also installed superuser and it says "su binary not found" with no option to update either program.

  • 0

#67
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Nope, I installed supersu it comes up "there is no SU Binary installed, and super su cannot install it. this is a problem!" and it doesn't load from there, and I also installed superuser and it says "su binary not found" with no option to update either program.


Try the alternative root method n the same page. Click "My baseband is 2030 and I am using Mac"

Pages 3 and 4 aren't entirely necessary, they are more of a precaution in case something goes wrong. So if you still can't get it to work, you may want to skip straight to page 5.

  • 0

#68
JacksEcho

JacksEcho

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Try the alternative root method n the same page. Click "My baseband is 2030 and I am using Mac"

Pages 3 and 4 aren't entirely necessary, they are more of a precaution in case something goes wrong. So if you still can't get it to work, you may want to skip straight to page 5.

In the 2030 method it comes up "no such file or directory" when I put in the chmod commands, on a scale of one to ten how likely am I to kill my phone if I just skip to 5 and if i do go to 5 should i revert to the original 109808 directions or the 2030. ideally I'd like to be as safe as possible as there is quite a high likelyhood of me doing something wrong.


  • 0

#69
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

In the 2030 method it comes up "no such file or directory" when I put in the chmod commands, on a scale of one to ten how likely am I to kill my phone if I just skip to 5 and if i do go to 5 should i revert to the original 109808 directions or the 2030. ideally I'd like to be as safe as possible as there is quite a high likelyhood of me doing something wrong.

Did you download the new zip, extract it and point the terminal to the folder? If you could paste the terminal log that would be great. I can't see why you are getting "no such file or directory" as I just checked the script and it points to the right directory and has the right files.

Well, the chances of killing your phone are low. But figure out why you are getting "no such file or directory" first. After you have finished page 5 you can backup your IMEI, so you can do this page order:

5, 4, 6, 7

Edited by beggin, 15 September 2012 - 10:33 PM.

  • 0

#70
ratbag

ratbag

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300 U8815
Thanks to all who have contributed to the guides on this site.

I have been following the guide by beggin (http://huaweig300.co...m-from-scratch/) and have hit a wall part way through.

What I have:
* Huawei Ascend G300 U8815.
* Vodafone Australia.
* Windows XP (don’t have ready access to anything else).
* Android version 2.3.6.
* Baseband version 109808.
* Kernal version 2.6.38.6-perf
* Build number U8815-51V100R001C346B893

What I’ve done (following guide):
* USB drivers installed OK.
* Rooted OK.
* Backup IMEI OK.
* Downloaded ics-b936-update.zip OK.
* Failed on ‘Page 5’ – SD card upgrade (unpacked ok – part 1; failed on install – part 2).

A log file sd_update.log written to my dload directory says this:

filename = /mmc1/dload/update.app
call RCV_MODULE_END_EVENT failed,module = OEMSBL_VER_LIST
new partition program is diffrent with current used .
new partition is ok, update begin...
new partition program failed.
update new partition failed.
call RCV_MODULE_END_EVENT failed,module = PARTITION
QCSBLHD_CFGDATA fail.
OEMSBL_VER_LIST,is_rx_finish=0,is_operate_succ=1,current_operate=2
call dload_machine data process failed,module = QCSBLHD_CFGDATA
QCSBLHD_CFGDATA fail.
OEMSBL_VER_LIST,is_rx_finish=0,is_operate_succ=1,current_operate=2
call dload_machine data process failed,module = QCSBLHD_CFGDATA
QCSBLHD_CFGDATA fail.
OEMSBL_VER_LIST,is_rx_finish=0,is_operate_succ=1,current_operate=2
call dload_machine data process failed,module = QCSBLHD_CFGDATA
QCSBLHD_CFGDATA fail.
OEMSBL_VER_LIST,is_rx_finish=0,is_operate_succ=1,current_operate=2
call dload_machine data process failed,module = QCSBLHD_CFGDATA
QCSBLHD_CFGDATA fail.
OEMSBL_VER_LIST,is_rx_finish=0,is_operate_succ=1,current_operate=2
call dload_machine data process failed,module = QCSBLHD_CFGDATA
CMD=0xf,moduleaddr = 0xf0000000, len_tmp=0x2524
dload_sd_ram_data_proc->(retry >= DLOAD_RETRY) failed!

Phone still seems to be working (though when the update fails, I have to pull the battery, which unnerves me ever so slightly).

Now I gather from reading some posts that for some releases of ICS one must first upgrade to an intermediate ICS (at least that’s what it seems like). What confuses me a little is the guide appears to be telling me to go from GB to ICS B936, without any intermediate transition. Then later, I’m meant to flash it again with a ROM chosen from this site.

Until now my experience was limited to rooting phones.

Any help appreciated.

Edited by ratbag, 17 September 2012 - 07:28 AM.

  • 0

#71
ferriscat

ferriscat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:g300
Just want to say thanks for making it so easy to do!! phone is now awesome!!

  • 0

#72
pinemarten

pinemarten

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
I am really new to this so excuse my very basic question. I dont know how to this part, i know it seems like its explained but I have never even seen this part on my Mac before.

From your computer, open Terminal (Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal) and point it to the folder Root Gingerbread Mac.

I get as far as the cmd page(if thats whats its called on mac) but dont know what to type to point it in the direction of the folder.

Thanks in advance.

  • 0

#73
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

I am really new to this so excuse my very basic question. I dont know how to this part, i know it seems like its explained but I have never even seen this part on my Mac before.

From your computer, open Terminal (Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal) and point it to the folder Root Gingerbread Mac.

I get as far as the cmd page(if thats whats its called on mac) but dont know what to type to point it in the direction of the folder.

Thanks in advance.


I don't have a Mac, but here's an article that should help you. See the Navigating the Terminal section:

http://smokingapples...-terminal-tips/

If you still need help just Google "How to Mac terminal"

  • 0

#74
inamesh

inamesh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Thank you very much for your guide.
I'm slightly familiar with linux and generally good with computers but this is my first Android and well, starting off was very VERY confusing!

Your guide made things very clear.
Bravo!

  • 0

#75
oldfella

oldfella

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
following your steps fine from Step 4 as I already have drivers installed on Win 7 64 bit as was running CM9

installed the upgrade fine, and the root and bootloader worked.

now I cant get clockwork loaded as I am getting device not found.

tried running fastboot devices and its not seeing the phone

after the bootloader I think I saw Windows flash up something about loading device drivers for a Linux type device

any help appreciated - thank you

  • 0

#76
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

following your steps fine from Step 4 as I already have drivers installed on Win 7 64 bit as was running CM9

installed the upgrade fine, and the root and bootloader worked.

now I cant get clockwork loaded as I am getting device not found.

tried running fastboot devices and its not seeing the phone

after the bootloader I think I saw Windows flash up something about loading device drivers for a Linux type device

any help appreciated - thank you


There's an important part in the Install the USB drivers section where you have to change the driver update settings in Windows. Unplug your phone, follow the instructions on the page (you do NOT need to reinstall the drivers again) and plug your phone in again. Windows will then automatically download and install any missing drivers.

Edited by beggin, 19 September 2012 - 07:44 PM.

  • 0

#77
oldfella

oldfella

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
thanks for the response - tried that, it doesnt seem to be happening, I had previously tried uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers, including the device properties

what is odd is that when I connect the phone and before clicking USB connect, ie in what should be ADB mode

Windows is seeing drive F which is the section on the phone with the ADB drivers

  • 0

#78
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

thanks for the response - tried that, it doesnt seem to be happening, I had previously tried uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers, including the device properties

what is odd is that when I connect the phone and before clicking USB connect, ie in what should be ADB mode

Windows is seeing drive F which is the section on the phone with the ADB drivers


What exact step can you not perform from the guide? Are you getting an error message?

  • 0

#79
oldfella

oldfella

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
I have installed ICS, rooted and done the bootloader

when I try clockworkmod I get waiting for device

fastboot is similarly not seeing the phone

but Windows 7 64 bit is seeing drive F called Mobile Partner which includes the Handset drivers

when I USB connect I see the other 2 drives

  • 0

#80
beggin

beggin

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

I have installed ICS, rooted and done the bootloader

when I try clockworkmod I get waiting for device

fastboot is similarly not seeing the phone

but Windows 7 64 bit is seeing drive F called Mobile Partner which includes the Handset drivers

when I USB connect I see the other 2 drives


Any chance you can post a picture of your phone when you try to install ClockworkMod? Also, have you tried unplugging your phone during waiting for device and plugging it into another USB port on the back of your computer? How long are you stuck on waiting for device?

Edited by beggin, 19 September 2012 - 11:22 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users