Jump to content


Photo

Acer Gallant Duo root / hacking tools


  • Please log in to reply
93 replies to this topic

#21
jaarvin

jaarvin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:ACER E350

hi all, is it possible the unroot? The auto update fo gallant doesn't try to check the server because rooted. I didn't uninstalled any app for now.
Thank you


Just go in your Superuser application and temporary suspend rooting !

Edited by jaarvin, 23 September 2012 - 09:44 AM.

  • 0

#22
adrenalize_

adrenalize_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire S, ZTE Blade/OSF
I would probably give a full backup a try before doing anything - using Paul's scatter file in his downloads section I'll probably try this when I get time:

http://bm-smartphone...5x3-device.html

You should be able to make a backup of everything - boot.img recovery.img etc and be able to flash everything back.

I have another Mediatek device I'm playing with and if anyone has any tips on creating a scatter file for mediatek devices any advice is welcome!

Edited by adrenalize_, 23 September 2012 - 09:48 AM.

  • 0

#23
jaarvin

jaarvin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:ACER E350

GO!! GO!! GO!!

ftp://94.23.233.147/Smartphones/Liquid%20Gallant/


Thanks !

I am starting to play with your extracts but before flashing it would like to check it and I could not unyaffs your system.img (I tried unyaffs & unyaffs2 I compiled on Mac and windows CYGWIN version)

[EDIT] I also try with a LInux VM and I got same s.t strange :

I compile my tools (latest unyaffs2) but still not possible to extract system.img with these tools (I can do so with other android system.img) ?!
I got : "image size (484419928)is NOT a multiple of (2048 + 64)" and my target directory is empty.

On the other hand I can convert this img to raw (with simg2img) and mount it like a charm with appropriate mount command.

I suppose I did something wrong with my unyaffs and (unyaffs2) .. any idea or recommendation ? specifics options ?

Regards



Regards

Edited by jaarvin, 23 September 2012 - 02:02 PM.

  • 0

#24
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Just go in your Superuser application and temporary suspend rooting !

that should then give you back the ability to OTA updates then am I right?

*Paul also says this root method should affect the OTA reading the dialog on the OP,

  • 0

#25
jaarvin

jaarvin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:ACER E350

that should then give you back the ability to OTA updates then am I right?

*Paul also says this root method should affect the OTA reading the dialog on the OP,


Yes that's it !

Open SuperSU app / Go parameters / uncheck SU activated

That works for me !

  • 0

#26
ginco

ginco

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Yes that's it !

Open SuperSU app / Go parameters / uncheck SU activated

That works for me !


Thank you, works me too, now!

Edited by ginco, 23 September 2012 - 03:23 PM.

  • 0

#27
MrVegaBiggs

MrVegaBiggs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Acer Gallant Duo
Hi everyone ! One question :

Is it the only way to be able to install apps on the SD card (the REAL one) ?

Because rooting my device is not something that please me well... and it seems complecated, besides i'm lazy. :unsure:

  • 0

#28
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Hi everyone ! One question :

Is it the only way to be able to install apps on the SD card (the REAL one) ?

Because rooting my device is not something that please me well... and it seems complecated, besides i'm lazy. data:image/png;base64,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

i thought you was able to do that via the apps bit in the settings...thats the official 1, tho some apps cant be moved via the official way
that official way doesnt require rooting your device

  • 0

#29
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

Thanks !

I am starting to play with your extracts but before flashing it would like to check it and I could not unyaffs your system.img (I tried unyaffs & unyaffs2 I compiled on Mac and windows CYGWIN version)

[EDIT] I also try with a LInux VM and I got same s.t strange :

I compile my tools (latest unyaffs2) but still not possible to extract system.img with these tools (I can do so with other android system.img) ?!
I got : "image size (484419928)is NOT a multiple of (2048 + 64)" and my target directory is empty.

On the other hand I can convert this img to raw (with simg2img) and mount it like a charm with appropriate mount command.

I suppose I did something wrong with my unyaffs and (unyaffs2) .. any idea or recommendation ? specifics options ?

Regards



Regards


You may try to change some values in unyaffs.c before compiling:

#define CHUNK_SIZE 2048 to 4096
#define SPARE_SIZE 64 to 128

  • 0

#30
jaarvin

jaarvin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:ACER E350

You may try to change some values in unyaffs.c before compiling:

#define CHUNK_SIZE 2048 to 4096
#define SPARE_SIZE 64 to 128


Thanks,

With my unyaffs version, CHUNK and SPARE could be passed as arguments but I only try a complete set for chunk size, I did not for spare ! I'll try !

Regards

  • 0

#31
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

Thanks,

With my unyaffs version, CHUNK and SPARE could be passed as arguments but I only try a complete set for chunk size, I did not for spare ! I'll try !

Regards


Could you share your source ?
May be usefull.

  • 0

#32
frakie

frakie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Gallant Duo
Ok, I did it, and everything went ok, but...
After rooting the phone I followed these instructions http://www.aaviah.co...or-amazing.html to hide the soft buttons, and while replacing the framework-res.apk something went wrong, the phone rebooted exactly in that moment :o ..
And now it gets stuck at the green "acer" sign at boot time :( ...

What can I do now to make it start again?

  • 0

#33
MrVegaBiggs

MrVegaBiggs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Acer Gallant Duo
FrankieADZ : no, not possible. The phone think that its 2Go memory allocated to personal files and apps are an SD card ("sdcard"). The real SD card, 8 Go in my case is recognized as "sdcard2". The settings let me mobe application files on "USB memory" or "phone". In both cas it's not on the real SD card.
It seems that ONLY some applications can help to do that but they need a rooted device... I just hate that stupid partitioning

  • 0

#34
jaarvin

jaarvin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:ACER E350

Could you share your source ?
May be usefull.


Pas de problème :-)

I just search with google :

Here are the links i found :
http://code.google.com/p/yaffs2utils/
http://code.google.c...unk/simg2img.py
http://www.bernhard-...ts/unyaffs.html
http://andwise.net/?p=403
http://android-dls.c...ack_Boot_Images
http://muzso.hu/?page=1

unyaffs and sym2img can be used with system.img
boot.img differ

All theses sources could be compiled under linux and mac (I think that even with cygwin a windows plateform remains very limited)

There is also an unyaffs binary available here (same dir that .img) :

ftp://94.23.233.147/Smartphones/Liquid%20Gallant/

I tried different values for CHUNK and SPARE without success (any way it seems that SPARE should be CHUNK / 32)

Regards

Edited by jaarvin, 25 September 2012 - 04:24 PM.

  • 0

#35
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

I would probably give a full backup a try before doing anything - using Paul's scatter file in his downloads section I'll probably try this when I get time:

http://bm-smartphone...5x3-device.html

You should be able to make a backup of everything - boot.img recovery.img etc and be able to flash everything back.

I have another Mediatek device I'm playing with and if anyone has any tips on creating a scatter file for mediatek devices any advice is welcome!

I'll post a guide when I get a minute. :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#36
iMonz

iMonz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Gallant Duo
Can we install a custom recovery like 4Ext or similar? Is it possible right now? After root, of course.
Is there any custom rom on the way out? I don't wanna know when, but only if it is on the way....take your time and thanks for your work!

  • 0

#37
jaarvin

jaarvin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:ACER E350

I would probably give a full backup a try before doing anything - using Paul's scatter file in his downloads section I'll probably try this when I get time:

http://bm-smartphone...5x3-device.html

You should be able to make a backup of everything - boot.img recovery.img etc and be able to flash everything back.

I have another Mediatek device I'm playing with and if anyone has any tips on creating a scatter file for mediatek devices any advice is welcome!


[EDIT]

Tried ! but /proc/mtd is empty !

I also found one of your post about G500 and the Gallant also use /proc/emmc instead as below :

partno: start_sect nr_sects partition_name
emmc_p1: 00000020 00000002 "ebr1"
emmc_p2: 0010f720 00100000 "cache"
emmc_p3: 0020ff20 00200000 "usrdata"
emmc_p4: 00410720 003328e0 "fat"
emmc_p5: 00009f00 00002800 "sec_ro"
emmc_p6: 0000ef20 00100000 "android"

The Mediatek engineers mode also works for this phone

Edited by jaarvin, 26 September 2012 - 08:11 PM.

  • 0

#38
jaarvin

jaarvin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:ACER E350
Found this same website than adrenalize_ post :

http://bm-smartphone...g-tutorial.html

dedicated to MT6575

A 4share link point to a repository with different tools for each 65xx chipset

Edited by jaarvin, 26 September 2012 - 01:43 PM.

  • 0

#39
frakie

frakie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Gallant Duo
Hi Vache,
I tried your BETA rom, but the flash tool crashed loading the DSP_BL module (S_DL_PC_BL_INVALID_GFH_FILE_INFO (5066)).

Hints?

  • 0

#40
carlettob72

carlettob72

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Gallant Duo

I'll post a guide when I get a minute. data:image/png;base64,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

P


Hi Paul,
any news about this guide.... B)
I want to do a full backup before rooting....I'm a beginner and I don't want to mess something without a way to roll back...

Bye

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users