Jump to content


Photo

OFFICIAL ICS ENGLAND


  • Please log in to reply
261 replies to this topic

#21
Colin Whiteside

Colin Whiteside

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@spacehost

Will this have all that Vodafone crap installed?


Yes. If you're rooting though that shouldn't prove a problem, and odds are that Paul Modaco (if he's still making an ICS ROM) and the ROM makers here will have a stripped-down version of it out in a matter of days.

  • 0

#22
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969
so if i'm on infusion i have to downgrade to GB then back to official ics??

  • 0

#23
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, Huawei G300, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Hope there are significant changes/improvements despite version number being all too familiar. ICS slowdowns, memory management, apps not responding, mountpoint issues and hw accelerated ui are just a few things that spring to mind. Will not be happy if some of these issues have not been addressed.

Our device and lesser devices can handle it. Look at ics/jellybean on the blade. In terms of responsiveness it's light years ahead of any of the g300 ics releases. I've got both.

Something is awfully wrong with ics on the g300 and Vodafone better not be palming us off with more of the same.

  • 1

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#24
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:Vowney V5 and coolpad F1 8297w

No idea why but from what I can see the only difference between the two zips is the pdf file included.


strange the pdf file is there on both the packages i have just downloaded.?????

  • 0

#25
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
has anyone been able to root/unlock the bootloader with Unlockbootloader.exe?

also....whats the difference between the 2?

  • 0

#26
Jamie :)

Jamie :)

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangor, Northern Ireland.
  • Interests:Computers, Android, Music and some other things.
  • Devices:GT-I8160, Nexus 7.
  • Twitter:@jamielawtherr

Hope there are significant changes/improvements despite version number being all too familiar. ICS slowdowns, memory management, apps not responding, mountpoint issues and hw accelerated ui are just a few things that spring to mind. Will not be happy if some of these issues have not been addressed.

Our device and lesser devices can handle it. Look at ics/jellybean on the blade. In terms of responsiveness it's light years ahead of any of the g300 ics releases. I've got both.

Something is awfully wrong with ics on the g300 and Vodafone better not be palming us off with more of the same.


I've noticed lower spec other devices being much faster too, Especially on GB, the Galaxy Ace seems so much faster! There is something seriously wrong with the phone, I haven't tried CM10 yet though

@FrankieADZ I'm downloading it now, with 11 minutes left.. I'll try UnlockBootloader when its flashed

Edited by Jamie :), 18 September 2012 - 03:29 PM.

  • 0

#27
Colin Whiteside

Colin Whiteside

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@spacehost

Something is awfully wrong with ics on the g300 and Vodafone better not be palming us off with more of the same.


Vodafone really aren't going to have much say over how the ROM performs, unfortunately, and aren't going to be in a position to make demands of Huawei to improve it. They're a far larger and more powerful company than Vodafone and if Huawei decide that G936 is all we're getting we're going to have to rely on the community to improve it.

  • 0

#28
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

I've noticed lower spec other devices being much faster too, Especially on GB, the Galaxy Ace seems so much faster! There is something seriously wrong with the phone, I haven't tried CM10 yet though

@FrankieADZ I'm downloading it now, with 11 minutes left.. I'll try UnlockBootloader when its flashed

Cheers mate :).
Im downloading both now, but I'd just like to know if it works before I go ahead and install it.

  • 0

#29
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts

Vodafone really aren't going to have much say over how the ROM performs, unfortunately, and aren't going to be in a position to make demands of Huawei to improve it. They're a far larger and more powerful company than Vodafone and if Huawei decide that G936 is all we're getting we're going to have to rely on the community to improve it.


Im also wondering why uts not ota first and also why previous versions of ics can be upgraded. Some things we can only speculate but im a happy camper( for now!)

  • 0

#30
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

strange the pdf file is there on both the packages i have just downloaded.?????

Yeah, the pdf file is present in both packages and it has the same file contains (e.g. same amount of pages and same info) but yet the md5 hash is different compared to the pdf in the other zip file. I have no idea why this is but the important thing is that the update.app is the same.

Edited by Cyda, 18 September 2012 - 03:41 PM.

  • 0

#31
rosco-85

rosco-85

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4
Probably not worth an upgrade from B934 then...? I take it it's probably the same ROM just with the Voda rubbish added to it? Probably the same case with the New Zealend one too. They were given the B934 build an added their own apps to the cust partition, am I right?

  • 0

#32
Colin Whiteside

Colin Whiteside

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@spacehost

Im also wondering why uts not ota first and also why previous versions of ics can be upgraded. Some things we can only speculate but im a happy camper( for now!)


I think Voda usually pushes out OTA updates on a Thursday, and this hit Huawei's site on a Friday. So it might not be due for another couple of days OTA.

  • 0

#33
Jamie :)

Jamie :)

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangor, Northern Ireland.
  • Interests:Computers, Android, Music and some other things.
  • Devices:GT-I8160, Nexus 7.
  • Twitter:@jamielawtherr
Hm theres no vendor package, phone is restarting to update now

  • 0

#34
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

I think Voda usually pushes out OTA updates on a Thursday, and this hit Huawei's site on a Friday. So it might not be due for another couple of days OTA.

Maybe they might push it to OTA tomorrow.....perfect ROM Wednesday :ph34r:

Hm theres no vendor package, phone is restarting to update now

do tell us what it like...ROOT, etc please :)

Edited by FrankieADZ, 18 September 2012 - 03:43 PM.

  • 0

#35
Jamie :)

Jamie :)

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangor, Northern Ireland.
  • Interests:Computers, Android, Music and some other things.
  • Devices:GT-I8160, Nexus 7.
  • Twitter:@jamielawtherr

Maybe they might push it to OTA tomorrow.....perfect ROM Wednesday data:image/png;base64,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


do tell us what it like...ROOT, etc please data:image/png;base64,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


Been installing for about 5 minutes now, going slowly! Haven't been keeping an eye so hopefully its nearly done and not froze!

  • 0

#36
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300
I'm currently on the B940 - Will I need to downgrade to flash this ROM and if so what do people recommend I downgrade to? - Thanks in advance!

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#37
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts

Been installing for about 5 minutes now, going slowly! Haven't been keeping an eye so hopefully its nearly done and not froze!

mines not even finished downloading....and tbh....I dont know which to install.... :blink:

  • 0

#38
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300

mines not even finished downloading....and tbh....I dont know which to install....


Same here - I'm going for the 2011EFA version if you want to try the other and we can compare notes??

(Still got an ETA of 17:30PM (ish) for download completion)

Edited by nsmacd1, 18 September 2012 - 04:01 PM.

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#39
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, Huawei G300, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh

Vodafone really aren't going to have much say over how the ROM performs, unfortunately, and aren't going to be in a position to make demands of Huawei to improve it. They're a far larger and more powerful company than Vodafone and if Huawei decide that G936 is all we're getting we're going to have to rely on the community to improve it.


If they're pushing a shoddy release then both huawei and vodafone are legitimate points of contact especially after all the assurances received previously. Time to get testing.

Edit: But I agree entirely, the devs here could totally embarass them. I just dont want people thinking that our hardware is a bottleneck. The scope for optimisation is huge.

Edited by tcpaulh, 18 September 2012 - 04:04 PM.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#40
Jamie :)

Jamie :)

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangor, Northern Ireland.
  • Interests:Computers, Android, Music and some other things.
  • Devices:GT-I8160, Nexus 7.
  • Twitter:@jamielawtherr
Yeah it's froze, couldn't tell because it's just the loading bar, no text.. Going to try the middle package then re-flash

Aaand that hasn't worked, out of ideas now!

Edited by Jamie :), 18 September 2012 - 04:09 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users