Jump to content


Photo

BBC iplayer and Adobe AIR on x86 devices

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Hi guys
I'm not sure if you guys have been following the developments on BBC iplayer but now they have standardised the format for mobile devices on Android. This has caused iplayer to be incompatible both on the BBC iplayer website as well as not having an app for x86 devices. This is a major downfall for me personally!
I thought we'd have better playback with the developments from BBC but it has caused even more problems!!!

The main issue is due to Adobe AIR not being compatible with x86 processors!!!!! Aaaaargh!!!!!

Can anything be done....?!

  • 0

#2
Ribs85

Ribs85

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:March, North Cambridgeshire
  • Devices:Nexus 4 16GB
Adobe air "should" work. Worms uses it and that works fine.

  • 0

#3
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
But I've checked up and read this response to a forum:
http://forums.adobe....838875?tstart=0

Also it's not showing as a compatible mobile device on their website:
http://www.adobe.com...tech-specs.html

When I tried downloading AIR from google play it shows as incompatible....!

Edited by punjabi, 20 September 2012 - 06:31 PM.

  • 0

#4
Ribs85

Ribs85

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:March, North Cambridgeshire
  • Devices:Nexus 4 16GB
Hrmmm. Maybe worms does something different. I've seen adobe air errors on it before

  • 0

#5
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Well, if we don't get Adobe AIR to change their mind about compatibility with x86 devices then we'll be left out in the cold with developments like the new BBC Media Player...

  • 1

#6
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
It is compiled for Armv7 like flash player, so it cannot work on x86 unless compiled for x86. If it works on armv6 it should work on x86, but it is does not(apart the Armv6 hacked vesion), which is why abode flash player in market in incomapitible for us as it is Armv7. How intel got an x86 version I do not know, I assume Abode done it for intel or intel recompiled it themselves, so if someone has contact with intel they could be asked, probably be waste of time going to abode about it.

  • 0

#7
Ben.Wilbee

Ben.Wilbee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
You can still use the old flash based website to watch iplayer on san diego, just set your browsers 'user agent' to desktop. Tested using Dolphin HD.

  • 0

#8
i am not a hacker

i am not a hacker

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidenhead, England
  • Devices:ZTE Blade and Orange San Diego
Yeah but the performance is worse then

  • 0
Nexus 10
Orange San Diego

#9
vermat17

vermat17

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Nexus 4, OSF
Will ICS make any difference to this???

  • 0

#10
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

Will ICS make any difference to this???


Can't see why it would. If it's compiled for Armv7 then nothings changed. Performance in a browser should be better perhaps.

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#11
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Abode Air is now available for OSD since the Arm translation is sorted, only when you download, it fails every time with a message, package file invalid?

  • 0

#12
Gibson.1

Gibson.1

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
BBC Iplayer app appears on the market on ICS, whether it works or not I don't know.

  • 0

#13
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
I've just watched a full episode on BBC iplayer. It works very well, not as good as my iPhone 4S mind you but it's getting there... I think with another update or two well be up to scratch with iOS.

There's no need to install Adobe AIR for iplayer, it just installs its own with the player ( I read that somewhere).

Hey can't wait for the Jelly Bean update then the iplayer will really shine I've heard.

  • 0

#14
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,887 posts
Watching too much TV on a 'phone is bad for your eyes... which is why I bought a tablet... WITH Flash, out of the box. See, there's a simple solution to every "problem".

  • 0

#15
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
we have flash out of the box, and hdmi output to watch on large dislay lol

Edited by jikobutsu, 09 October 2012 - 10:02 AM.

  • 0

#16
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

we have flash out of the box, and hdmi output lol

And WiFi direct (although I'm still trying to work that one out).

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#17
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
I looked Wi-Fi direct up on Wikipedia And I found that its Really something to do with directly connecting with another phone Via Wi-Fi Without the need to connect to A router. 😊

  • 0

#18
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

  • 0

#19
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

I looked Wi-Fi direct up on Wikipedia And I found that its Really something to do with directly connecting with another phone Via Wi-Fi Without the need to connect to A router. 😊


http://www.wi-fi.org...rn/wi-fi-direct :-
"displaying those pictures from a portable device to a monitor or TV screen"

http://www.techradar...ld-care-1065449 :-
"Wi-Fi Direct is part of DLNA, and Android too
In November, the Digital Living Network Alliance (DLNA) announced that it was including Wi-Fi Direct in its interoperability guidelines, and Google has added Wi-Fi Direct support to Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich (for example it's in the Samsung Galaxy Nexus's networking options). DLNA says it "expects DLNA Certified and Wi-Fi Certified Wi-Fi Direct smartphones to grow strongly through 2016." That could be an awful lot of smartphones."

Presuming your TV is compatible(pretty sure our Sony is, but haven't tried it yet) you can connect without wires.

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#20
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Well then, the BBC iplayer app has been updated. Now we can't watch any TV programmes on it because you need to have BBC Media player installed. Which isn't compatible with Intel x86 processors!!! Because of Adobe AIR!!

This is ridiculous... I can't have a going that wont play BBC iplayer... Any suggestions guys... Do you think Adobe or the BBC change their mind considering there are quite a few Intel based phones (coming) out now...? 😞

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users