Jump to content


Photo

BBC iplayer and Adobe AIR on x86 devices

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#21
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,654 posts
The package file fails because it only contains native libs compiled for arm7a. It looks like the arm emulator only supports pre arm7 (this would explain why asphalt 6 shows as unsupported on the play store since it's arm7 only - excluding the demo version on our phones). Adobe Air is compiled for arm7 only.

Maybe the Intel ARM emulator will be updated to support arm7.. maybe. Better would be for developers to add x86 libs. It only takes one tiny command to be added to the build files. Adobe need to do this :(

  • 0

#22
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego

The package file fails because it only contains native libs compiled for arm7a. It looks like the arm emulator only supports pre arm7 (this would explain why asphalt 6 shows as unsupported on the play store since it's arm7 only - excluding the demo version on our phones). Adobe Air is compiled for arm7 only.

Maybe the Intel ARM emulator will be updated to support arm7.. maybe. Better would be for developers to add x86 libs. It only takes one tiny command to be added to the build files. Adobe need to do this :(



So do I..... Is there any we can convince them to do this....?

Edited by punjabi, 20 October 2012 - 09:09 AM.

  • 0

#23
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,654 posts
They won't consider it a problem unless somebody big like the BBC requested the Intel support.

  • 0

#24
i am not a hacker

i am not a hacker

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidenhead, England
  • Devices:ZTE Blade and Orange San Diego
Well the Razr i seems to be fairly popular now so we may have a chance in the future

  • 0
Nexus 10
Orange San Diego

#25
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
And Acer are going to launch an intel phone in 2013 as well...

  • 0

#26
john91919

john91919

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Devices:Orange san diego
You can still use iplayer through the website with the desktop box ticked.

  • 0

#27
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego

You can still use iplayer through the website with the desktop box ticked.


I'm trying to do that with chrome but it keeps directing me back to installing the BBC Media player?!

  • 0

#28
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

I'm trying to do that with chrome but it keeps directing me back to installing the BBC Media player?!


use this browser, it overlays stock with more options, including desktop mode: https://play.google....m93c2VycGx1cyJd


edit: just checked, and bbc iplayer works fine :D

Edited by jikobutsu, 24 October 2012 - 05:22 PM.

  • 0

#29
rochitka

rochitka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Guys, what Adobe Flash version do you use? It's been modified to work with the OSD I think I read? Anyone tried it on the Razr I? (I am willing to, got hold of a Razr I today - am deciding whether to keep it or not!)

  • 0

#30
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

Guys, what Adobe Flash version do you use? It's been modified to work with the OSD I think I read? Anyone tried it on the Razr I? (I am willing to, got hold of a Razr I today - am deciding whether to keep it or not!)

It's 11.1 from a virgin Xolo ICS install.

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#31
rochitka

rochitka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

It's 11.1 from a virgin Xolo ICS install.


...which is the update.zip linked here I presume?
http://www.modaco.co...ctly-for-noobs/

Edit: looks like I am barking up the wrong tree here aren't I, it's not going to be as simple as finding a modified apk file... In the update.zip I see a 9MB libflashplayer.so file in system\lib\plugins\com.adobe.flashplayer, which I have no idea what to do with. And a FlashPlayer.apk file which is only 80KB from system\app

Edited by rochitka, 25 October 2012 - 03:18 PM.

  • 0

#32
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

...which is the update.zip linked here I presume?
http://www.modaco.co...ctly-for-noobs/

Edit: looks like I am barking up the wrong tree here aren't I, it's not going to be as simple as finding a modified apk file... In the update.zip I see a 9MB libflashplayer.so file in system\lib\plugins\com.adobe.flashplayer, which I have no idea what to do with. And a FlashPlayer.apk file which is only 80KB from system\app

Do you not already have Flash on the Razr i?

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#33
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

Guys, what Adobe Flash version do you use? It's been modified to work with the OSD I think I read? Anyone tried it on the Razr I? (I am willing to, got hold of a Razr I today - am deciding whether to keep it or not!)


http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1952878

  • 0

#34
rochitka

rochitka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Do you not already have Flash on the Razr i?

Nope :(

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1952878

Thanks! Will check it out...

  • 0

#35
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,654 posts
I think Motorola chose not to include flash because it's no longer supported for Android.

  • 0

#36
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
We're not winning are we...
I hope the BBC do change their minds and make the iplayer compatible for us... Or Adobe...

  • 0

#37
waj1234

waj1234

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
I have xolo ics on mine and the app dont work due to the media player not installing.

However I just installed ics browser+ and set it as desktop in settings and the desktop version of iplayer works perfect on this browser. It says not compatible on stock browser and chrome says download flash when set to desktop view.

Thought this would help those wanting to use iplayer and thought you couldn't.

  • 0

#38
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego

I have xolo ics on mine and the app dont work due to the media player not installing.

However I just installed ics browser+ and set it as desktop in settings and the desktop version of iplayer works perfect on this browser. It says not compatible on stock browser and chrome says download flash when set to desktop view.

Thought this would help those wanting to use iplayer and thought you couldn't.


Thanks for the heads up. How's the video quality through the browser, any good?

  • 0

#39
waj1234

waj1234

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

Thanks for the heads up. How's the video quality through the browser, any good?


it looks pretty good to me. it flashes to a black screen once buffered and goes sharper.

  • 0

#40
utternoob

utternoob

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,660 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chatham
  • Interests:Laughing at chavs, Formula 1, Football and general technology
  • Devices:Skate, OSD, GT-P1010
  • Twitter:@terrymalyon2
Sorry!! Bad info on my part

Edited by utternoob, 28 December 2012 - 06:34 PM.

  • 0
ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD

I may not know a lot, but there are others that do. If you have a problem, just ask

Sent with magic :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users