Jump to content


Photo

How To root your San Diego

- - - - -

237 replies to this topic

#61
darkvicious

darkvicious

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
thx for your job

  • 0

#62
benichou

benichou

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
for the sdcard, i think if we uncomment a line in the /etc/vol.fstab file( one wich starts with #dev_mount sdcard_ext/ at the end of the file, just delete the #) with rootexplorer by exemple, we can have it mounted at the boot.
but i have no sdcard at the moment, so if someone can try this ? :)

  • 0

#63
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
@mr jabbah,
Intel drivers: http://software.inte...ice-usb-driver/

Edited by jikobutsu, 08 October 2012 - 09:13 AM.

  • 0

#64
MrJabbah

MrJabbah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
many thanks, Rooted now. What we need now is someone to install windows 8 on it :P

  • 0

#65
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

for the sdcard, i think if we uncomment a line in the /etc/vol.fstab file( one wich starts with #dev_mount sdcard_ext/ at the end of the file, just delete the #) with rootexplorer by exemple, we can have it mounted at the boot.
but i have no sdcard at the moment, so if someone can try this ?


Yeah that looks like it makes sense, obviously intel used the sd card slot themselves and a simple # would be enough to hide it, just like if you add a 1 or any letter to the start of a game data folder and delete the game, the data is not found by the game, something I have done before when a game is playing up, uninstall and reinstall but keep the data.

Although I am a little worried at trying myself, last time I did this on a g300 I ended up with a total brick. :lol: A different situation but very similar, we was trying to swap the 2Gb internal storage with the 700+mb data partition.....it went horribly wrong.

Edited by jikobutsu, 08 October 2012 - 09:56 AM.

  • 0

#66
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Can I just check guys.... The process you guys are on about with the busy box binaries and all that, does that mean we'll have a more 'stable' and 'complete' root process without the flashing screen, etc? 😊

  • 0

#67
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Yes that is what is believed to be the case.

  • 0

#68
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Great stuff then... It's just a matter of waiting know I guess until I get home and root this thing once and for all! 😀

  • 0

#69
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

Great stuff then... It's just a matter of waiting know I guess until I get home and root this thing once and for all!


It is not stable now though, if you root you will get flashing screen problem but after several reboots it goes away. Probably best if you wait for someone to edit the scripts as flibblesan said to make it more stable with regards to busybox.

  • 0

#70
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego

It is not stable now though, if you root you will get flashing screen problem but after several reboots it goes away. Probably best if you wait for someone to edit the scripts as flibblesan said to make it more stable with regards to busybox.


Will do. Thanks for the advice and the work you're putting into testing. 😄

  • 0

#71
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

could someone not make a bootstrap recovery like on Motorola?


Could this work then ?

  • 0

#72
benichou

benichou

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
I think the flashing screen is du to the exploit himself, because for me, it is only between the two reboot during the root process, but i do not have any others flashs.
And about the simlock, since i have it for more than 3 months, in france we can ask orange to an unlock code. I asked it 2 weeks ago from their website, but i did not receive the code... Maybe even orange do not know how to unlock it :(
anyone else to get an unlock code?
About the SD card, i uncommented the line, and reboot, no effect but i have no scard to test, but it does not brick the pone :)

  • 0

#73
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

About the SD card, i uncommented the line, and reboot, no effect but i have no scard to test, but it does not brick the pone


At least it does not brick. So it could of worked, but as you do not have sd card there is no way to know......the temptation don't think I can resist :lol:

Line edited, sd card in, rebooting......

No nothing, same as last time I tried. Could it not simply be permissions ? we have root now so can change them.

I love how snug the back clips back on, and comes off easy with fingernail, all my other androids had such flimsy backs on them that made all kinds of moans & creaks when taking off or putting on :lol:

Edited by jikobutsu, 08 October 2012 - 11:37 AM.

  • 0

#74
darkvicious

darkvicious

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts

I think the flashing screen is du to the exploit himself, because for me, it is only between the two reboot during the root process, but i do not have any others flashs.
And about the simlock, since i have it for more than 3 months, in france we can ask orange to an unlock code. I asked it 2 weeks ago from their website, but i did not receive the code... Maybe even orange do not know how to unlock it
anyone else to get an unlock code?
About the SD card, i uncommented the line, and reboot, no effect but i have no scard to test, but it does not brick the pone

"Moi je l'ai débloquer en payant 76 euro à orange en juin ,j'ai mis 1mois pour obtenir le bon code car avant il m'ont filé le mauvais code le dernier chiffre était pas bon"

I have paid 76 euro unlock orange in June, I put 1 month to get the correct code before because I have spun the wrong code the last digit was not good

Edited by darkvicious, 08 October 2012 - 11:35 AM.

  • 0

#75
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Just looked and permissions for sd card & sdcard_ext are same, "0777"

Could the init.sdcard1.rc init.sdcard2.rc have anything to do with it ?

If orange claim we will have sd card with their update then we know the sd card slot is good, surely just some permissions somewhere need sorting. But then the question comes, why did we not get sd card with xolo ICS upgrade ?

Attached Files


Edited by jikobutsu, 08 October 2012 - 11:56 AM.

  • 0

#76
benichou

benichou

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
too bad for the sd card, maybe a true android modder can help us. i will try to search on the internet :)

@Darkvicious ok, je vais réessayer alors, et je lis aussi pc inpact :)

  • 0

#77
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Hopefully paul will get another one to play with now there is root :D

  • 0

#78
Santiago97

Santiago97

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:OSD, ZTE Blade
Won't we need to specify a mount point for the sd card in android .fstab?

  • 0

#79
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
screen of android.fstab

Attached Files


  • 0

#80
Santiago97

Santiago97

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:OSD, ZTE Blade
The existing /sdcard mounts the inbuilt memory. Maybe something like /sdcard1 mounted to mmcblk1 or similar?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users