Jump to content


Photo

How To root your San Diego

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
237 replies to this topic

#81
MrJabbah

MrJabbah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Can I just check guys.... The process you guys are on about with the busy box binaries and all that, does that mean we'll have a more 'stable' and 'complete' root process without the flashing screen, etc?

What flashing screen?

  • 0

#82
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
The flashing screen that happens when rooting.

  • 0

#83
razzmataz1478

razzmataz1478

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HULL
  • Interests:Flashing ROMs, Being distracted by my skate
  • Devices:ZTE Skate
Someone in terminal emulator type

su

df

This will post the partitions etc


  • 0

Posted Image

Current Phone:

Xperia T


Previous Phones:

Orange Monte Carlo

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic (Nokia C6-00 CFW)

Sony Ericsson v640i

Nokia 3120

Various other Nokia phones.

Not the best history of phones Posted Image


#84
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Screen

Attached Files


  • 0

#85
MrJabbah

MrJabbah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

The flashing screen that happens when rooting.

I never had a flashing screen, it just rebooted and that was that.

  • 0

#86
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

I never had a flashing screen, it just rebooted and that was that.


And you have root confirmed ?

  • 0

#87
razzmataz1478

razzmataz1478

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HULL
  • Interests:Flashing ROMs, Being distracted by my skate
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Screen


Hm.

And what's the 1GB cache all about, that's crazy!

  • 0

Posted Image

Current Phone:

Xperia T


Previous Phones:

Orange Monte Carlo

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic (Nokia C6-00 CFW)

Sony Ericsson v640i

Nokia 3120

Various other Nokia phones.

Not the best history of phones Posted Image


#88
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
lol, would of been better giving that to us as storage space, what a waste ay.

Just for a more visual joke :lol:

Attached Files


Edited by jikobutsu, 08 October 2012 - 03:48 PM.

  • 0

#89
MrJabbah

MrJabbah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

And you have root confirmed ?

Well its installed superuser, how do you confirm if its rooted?

  • 0

#90
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

Well its installed superuser, how do you confirm if its rooted?


Download root checker from market: https://play.google....290Y2hlY2siXQ..

Edited by jikobutsu, 08 October 2012 - 03:53 PM.

  • 0

#91
MrJabbah

MrJabbah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
Just used Rootcheck, its confirmed my device is rooted with no flashy screen.

  • 0

#92
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

Just used Rootcheck, its confirmed my device is rooted with no flashy screen.


I assume you are on ICS and not gingerbread ?

Do not even think it works on gingerbread anyway, so scrap that question.

Strange how everyone else has screen flashing, but you did not, I love android it is one big complex puzzle :lol:

Edited by jikobutsu, 08 October 2012 - 03:59 PM.

  • 0

#93
MrJabbah

MrJabbah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
Yea, upgraded to ICS today from stock orange rom, went to Xolo gingerbread then to Xolo ICS.

  • 0

#94
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,653 posts

lol, would of been better giving that to us as storage space, what a waste ay.

Just for a more visual joke data:image/png;base64,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


Not a waste. The Play Store downloads files to /cache before installing so a larger cache allows you to download and install larger apps. There are some games that are several hundred MBs large.

  • 0

#95
razzmataz1478

razzmataz1478

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:HULL
  • Interests:Flashing ROMs, Being distracted by my skate
  • Devices:ZTE Skate

Not a waste. The Play Store downloads files to /cache before installing so a larger cache allows you to download and install larger apps. There are some games that are several hundred MBs large.


But then what about phones with a 40mb cache e.g. my Skate. Downloads big apps fine. Doesn't it just overflow to /data or /mnt/sdcard ?

  • 0

Posted Image

Current Phone:

Xperia T


Previous Phones:

Orange Monte Carlo

Nokia 5530 XpressMusic (Nokia C6-00 CFW)

Sony Ericsson v640i

Nokia 3120

Various other Nokia phones.

Not the best history of phones Posted Image


#96
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,653 posts

But then what about phones with a 40mb cache e.g. my Skate. Downloads big apps fine. Doesn't it just overflow to /data or /mnt/sdcard ?


Yes it downloads it somewhere else.

  • 0

#97
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
@Flibblesan, any ideas on what is blocking sd card, or is it as rickywyatt suggested, it is blocked at kernel level ?

  • 0

#98
Ribs85

Ribs85

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:March, North Cambridgeshire
  • Devices:Nexus 4 16GB

@Flibblesan, any ideas on what is blocking sd card, or is it as rickywyatt suggested, it is blocked at kernel level ?

dmesg from a root terminal might shed some light on it... but be prepared to do a lot of reading...

  • 0

#99
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Yeah lol lots of reading, Adb logcat would be nicer though, we would get much more info if we could boot with it running.


Na cannot see nothing with dmesg, just a reference to usb storage being used.

I am sure there was a video with intel using sd card, but then again it was most likely not a production line device, so would have had unlocked bootloader, and everything working I guess. But why drop the sd card ?


Wait.....found a kernal command line with sdcard in it, not to good at reading these things, but it might be something.(line 108 on pastebin)

Kernel command line: init=/init pci=noearly console=logk0 earlyprintk=nologger loglevel=4 hsu_dma=7 kmemleak=off androidboot.bootmedia=sdcard androidboot.hardware=mfld_pr2 emmc_ipanic.ipanic_part_number=6 androidboot.wakesrc=05 androidboot.mode=main
<6>


Entire Dmesg: http://pastebin.com/WAJHgkHm

Edited by jikobutsu, 08 October 2012 - 07:32 PM.

  • 0

#100
stephen m

stephen m

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, Nexus 7 & Xolo x900

Just used Rootcheck, its confirmed my device is rooted with no flashy screen.


So just to confirm. The root process detailed above leaves a flashing screen on some but not all. And is safe!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users