Jump to content


Photo

How To root your San Diego

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
237 replies to this topic

#121
SmoKe42

SmoKe42

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Guys,
i found a way to root our deer San Diego!
i just edited the script from Binary from XDA forum. so thanks him ^^
and it is working, but we need the x86 version of busybox.
so if someone find it, please post it:
to root your san diego, you need:
ICS
Intel android driver
your phone with debug usb on (Parameters->about->advanced parameters-> tick the first line )
to download this archive https://www.box.com/...o6x3i82t3z4xzqo
and run the RunMe.bat,

your devices should reboot twice, and then you have root and the superuser application!

enjoy
PS: because we dont have the right version of busybox, some applications will not run, like LBE privacy guard

sorry for the linux user, i did not edit the script, i think you just need to change in the do_copy function, to remove the /data/tmp/busybox before mount -o .:-> i edited the file and updated the archvie, but i have not test it

I don't understand, by requesting ICS to root the phone, it means that Ice Cream Sandwich is required or I missed something? Because the ICS update for the OSD isn't still here...

Edited by SmoKe42, 09 October 2012 - 08:56 AM.

  • 0

#122
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

I don't understand, by requesting ICS to root the phone, it means that Ice Cream Sandwich is required or I missed something?

Yes, you need to install the Xolo ICS update first before attempting root.

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#123
SmoKe42

SmoKe42

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Yes, you need to install the Xolo ICS update first before attempting root.

The question is: How can I do this because my phone is the Orange version of OSD... So I guess there is a non negligible chance of bricking my device, right?

(Sorry, I forgot the elementary rules of courtesy: Hello and thanks a lot =) )

Edited by SmoKe42, 09 October 2012 - 09:10 AM.

  • 0

#124
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

The question is: How can I do this because my phone is the Orange version of OSD... So I guess there is a non negligible chance of bricking my device, right?


There's a noobs guide to upgrading to ICS on this site. Basically just copy the Xolo update to root and run the update from USB.

"So I guess there is a non negligible chance of bricking my device, right?", err, your grammar is turning my head inside out, but if you mean could you brick it updating than no, it's safe to upgrade(I was on Orange GB and can confirm it's simple and quick).
Rooting is another matter entirely and I wont be attempting it for a long while yet.

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#125
SmoKe42

SmoKe42

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

There's a noobs guide to upgrading to ICS on this site. Basically just copy the Xolo update to root and run the update from USB.

"So I guess there is a non negligible chance of bricking my device, right?", err, your grammar is turning my head inside out, but if you mean could you brick it updating than no, it's safe to upgrade(I was on Orange GB and can confirm it's simple and quick).
Rooting is another matter entirely and I wont be attempting it for a long while yet.

Ok, sorry for my bad english and thanks for the answer!

  • 0

#126
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

Just found this line in build.prop,"ro.build.characteristics=nosdcard"


Surely not that simple lol, only one way to find out =nosdcard to =sdcard and see what happens, as some of us know,
build.prop tweaks can change things just by adding or altering a line so it could work.
Also, it does not have to be something hard to enable because they did not expect us to get in with root, so a simple build.prop tweak would be enough, knowing we had no way to edit it unless rooted. Anyway enough theory, Gonna give it a go.


Edit: Thought it was to easy to be true, no sd card ;) As ricky & flibblesan are saying,it looks like a kernel level thing.

Edited by jikobutsu, 09 October 2012 - 10:42 AM.

  • 0

#127
dereek

dereek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Intel Xolo x900
Thanks a lot really.. but will factory reset bring my xolo back to ics... and unroot it???

  • 0

#128
SmoKe42

SmoKe42

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
Updated to ICS and rooted.
So far so good, everything is OK. Avast Anti-Theft was correctly installed in root mode.

  • 0

#129
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Is there a way to uproot the device, should we need to...?

  • 0

#130
vermat17

vermat17

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Nexus 4, OSF

Surely not that simple lol, only one way to find out =nosdcard to =sdcard and see what happens, as some of us know,
build.prop tweaks can change things just by adding or altering a line so it could work.
Also, it does not have to be something hard to enable because they did not expect us to get in with root, so a simple build.prop tweak would be enough, knowing we had no way to edit it unless rooted. Anyway enough theory, Gonna give it a go.


Edit: Thought it was to easy to be true, no sd card ;) As ricky & flibblesan are saying,it looks like a kernel level thing.


Paul, any chance you could have a look at this? ;)

  • 0

#131
Atlask

Atlask

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Devices:Orange Intel Inside
Hey,who 've tried to overclock the atom B)

  • 0

#132
i am not a hacker

i am not a hacker

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidenhead, England
  • Devices:ZTE Blade and Orange San Diego
No one, we can't overclock as that involves the kernel and bootloader which we can't unlock

  • 0
Nexus 10
Orange San Diego

#133
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982
im back lol got my new phone today

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#134
vermat17

vermat17

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Nexus 4, OSF
You got a new OSD??

  • 0

#135
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982
yes i did lol 3rd one

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#136
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982
can some one pass me the update file size in bytes incase xolo have change the update.zip

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#137
fastohm

fastohm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:orange san diego, blade
Which one?

Size: 299 MB (313,708,504 bytes)

Size on disc: 299 MB (313,708,544 bytes)

  • 0

#138
punjabi

punjabi

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Yeah Ricky youre back!
Great to hear from again mate.
Let the games begin............!
8-)

  • 0

#139
Simon O

Simon O

    @flibblesan

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,696 posts
MD5 of update.zip is 88f70256b361eb89722de45f5cf50bce according to my copy. Size is 313,708,504 bytes (313.7 MB on disk)

Size on disk is different due to me having a Mac probably.

  • 0

#140
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
What happens to the OTA update zip after upgrade, does it get deleted as I cannot find it in user data or system ?

Edited by jikobutsu, 09 October 2012 - 10:58 PM.

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users