Jump to content


Photo

Orange ICS Update

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
532 replies to this topic

#521
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
So I wonder....is the bootloader just putting us off because it is intel ?

  • 0

#522
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts
The bootloader requires a signed boot and recovery. There have been other devices in the same sort of situation which do have custom roms etc thanks to some nifty 2nd-init type tools.

Actually on the subject of this.. assuming the kernel code is out there (and knowing Intel I expect it will be) I've been wondering about custom kernels. Obviously it won't be possible to replace the current kernel - and really we wouldn't need to as it works fine - but one should be able to expand it with the use of kernel modules. This is something I want to try if I can get the code.

So here's my bottom line: The phone does have a locked bootloader (as is common on many phones now) but we can modify the system, we have root and we aren't locked out from accessing the system recovery or fastboot. So there is still an awful lot of things we can do.

And Intel seem to be quite supportive of Android. http://software.inte...m/en-us/android

  • 1

#523
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one
Wonder if there's a way to flash the engineering bootloader that paul had now somehow ???

  • 0

#524
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
@flibblesan, could we get IPtables into the kernel ? root apps like droid wall need them.

  • 0

#525
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one

@ShootomanUK do you still have the system.img ?



Rooted Orange ICS System.img

Part 1 - http://d-h.st/oHp
Part 2 - http://d-h.st/qp7
Part 3 - http://d-h.st/lln
Part 4 - http://d-h.st/blS
Part 5 - http://d-h.st/QTF

Size = 767MB (zipped 422MB)

File: system.img
CRC-32: 6284eba7
MD4: 493cf331c2cfe1f78126b1aa00b895d2
MD5: 5680228594584579a332fbee21429f8c
SHA-1: 919a9e8119824d9ac08158fbd748e6adfc909447

  • 0

#526
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts
Also Motorola (God bless them) uploaded a lot of source for it's RAZR i, which is very similar to the devices we have. The kernel will be useful if we ever get the bootloader unlocked. Maybe some other bits here but I don't know what they are. http://sourceforge.n...-i/home/RAZR i/

  • 0

#527
shootomanUK

shootomanUK

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salford, Manchester
  • Devices:AZ210A , WT19i , DynaTAC 8000X
  • Twitter:@not got one
its a shame the razr-i wasn't £200 i would have had one of them lol

  • 0

#528
gemere58

gemere58

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Diego
Whilst not being a complete ignoramus I am having diffuculty gettin to grips with some of the tech speak in this forum. Is there or isn't there a simple zip file to download like that one from the Indian carrier siite that will flash my now XOLO Sand diego back to Orange?
iPlayer has stopped working due to me now requiring BBC Media Player which will download but then shows File Package Invalid - is that because it's XOLO?????
Please help.

  • 0

#529
FIREotter

FIREotter

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Edit - *wrong forum*

my appologies

Edited by FIREotter, 24 January 2013 - 06:16 PM.

  • 0

#530
almighty15

almighty15

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
Anyone have this in an update.zip file for download?

  • 0

#531
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

Anyone have this in an update.zip file for download?

Use the tool setup.bat to download it although it is a patch upgrade rather than the full rom like the Xolo update.zip. This means you can only use it to go over a Ginger Bread install.

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#532
Roids

Roids

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (Orange SF)
I'll post in this existing thread, in case this is very old news, but my Orange SD which I bought with GB, and which then got updated to ICS OTA and which I have *never* modified in any other way at all was offered a small 'mu' update last night (29 Jan 2013), 12 MB in size. I didn't accept and install it, thinking it just likely to be plugging holes.

Edited by Roids, 30 January 2013 - 10:28 AM.

  • 0

#533
DaveSimonH

DaveSimonH

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland, UK
  • Devices:Alcatel Idol S, Nook HD+
Among other things it plugs root, avoid.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users