Jump to content


Photo

EE san diego what speeds will we download at?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
gaz1969

gaz1969

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Devices:orange san diego
Just wondering,with this EE coming soon and the OSD not being 4g,are we at a massive dissadvantage and what speeds will we be able to acheive on our phones?

Thanks Gaz

  • 0

#2
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
I already have EE.

But I rarely use 3g so would not know if it better or not,

Attached Files


Edited by jikobutsu, 11 October 2012 - 02:25 PM.

  • 0

#3
gaz1969

gaz1969

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Devices:orange san diego
be intersting if you could do a speedtest while just connected to EE and see what speeds the phone will do if you are borded for 2 mins :)

  • 0

#4
i am not a hacker

i am not a hacker

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidenhead, England
  • Devices:ZTE Blade and Orange San Diego
I thought ee is 4g? Anyway I peak at 930 Kb/s not kilabit. That's on hsdpa

  • 0
Nexus 10
Orange San Diego

#5
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF
This is from http://ee.co.uk/faq?...ralEE&WT.srch=1 :-

"To use 4G you’ll need 4G coverage, a 4G compatible phone, 4G SIM card and 4GEE plan on EE", ie. almost no phones at all at the moment.

"There won’t be any pay as you go plans available on EE at launch but look out for great pay as you go offers on EE in the future."

"I’m an Orange / T-Mobile customer. What does the launch of EE mean for me?
Everything Everywhere, the company behind Orange and T-Mobile, is launching a new brand and network called EE. As an Orange or T-Mobile customer you’ll now use EE’s new 3G network, the biggest in the UK, so soon you’ll start to see ‘EE’ on your phone or device screen. We’re also replacing your local T-Mobile and Orange stores with exciting new EE stores, giving you access to almost twice as many stores as today. When EE launches, we'll make it easy and straightforward for eligible Orange and T-Mobile customers to move to EE. We'll update you on this nearer to launch"

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#6
geoff1951

geoff1951

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, Nexus 4
Just seen BlueMoon's post as I was typing this -

EE is the year-or-so-old name of the joint Orange/t-mobile business and networks. Networks are already inter-useable, the shops are next to be re-branded. The 4G aspect is coincidental (well, maybe a deliberate PR strategy) with the rebranding announcement. EE is the first in the UK to offer 4G but like 3G works alongside 2G at the moment, so 4G will work alongside those two.

The EE (or is it ee?) quote says it with a bit more guff.

  • 0

#7
scuzzbucket

scuzzbucket

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:E. Midlands
  • Interests:Stuff. Lots of stuff.
  • Devices:Xperia Neo
I call them "EEk, that'll be expensive ".

  • 0

#8
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,891 posts
"Everything, everywhere"? More accurately... "Nothing, ANYWHERE".

  • 0

#9
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,656 posts
For me it's 'Put up with the crapp-EE signal for 3 months then get the phone unlocked so I can use 3 instead'. Or quicker if we find an unlock method.

  • 0

#10
i am not a hacker

i am not a hacker

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidenhead, England
  • Devices:ZTE Blade and Orange San Diego
I thought ee was faster than H

  • 0
Nexus 10
Orange San Diego

#11
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

I thought ee was faster than H

Only if your phone supports it, the OSD doesn't. There's actually 2 different versions of the Galaxy S III out, the original non ee version and a new ee capable one. As you can imagine there's a lot of annoyed S3 owners out there...

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#12
i am not a hacker

i am not a hacker

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidenhead, England
  • Devices:ZTE Blade and Orange San Diego
Jikobutsu has ee on his OSD. See the screenshot above

  • 0
Nexus 10
Orange San Diego

#13
i am not a hacker

i am not a hacker

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidenhead, England
  • Devices:ZTE Blade and Orange San Diego
Jikobutsu has ee on his OSD, see the screenshot above

  • 0
Nexus 10
Orange San Diego

#14
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

Jikobutsu has ee on his OSD, see the screenshot above


No he doesn't, he has the carrier name EE instead of Orange or T-Mobile. He is not sending or receiving at ee speeds, it's 3G/HSPA(?) max.

Blame the marketeers for spreading confusion.

Edit :- ee speeds meaning here 4G

Edited by BlueMoonRising, 15 October 2012 - 05:26 PM.

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#15
chinstroker

chinstroker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:nottingham , uk
  • Devices:osd and asus nexus 7
  • Twitter:@chinstroker1862

No he doesn't, he has the carrier name EE instead of Orange or T-Mobile. He is not sending or receiving at ee speeds, it's 3G/HSPA(?) max.

Blame the marketeers for spreading confusion.

Edit :- ee speeds meaning here 4G


So no speed boost if I switched to 4g on orange San Diego

  • 0

#16
tilal6991

tilal6991

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei U8150
I don't think you get it. The OSD is NOT 4G compatible. How can you possibly get 4G of the phone doesn't have the antenna to receive it.

  • 1
If you like my work or if I helped, click the Plus button.

#17
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Yes I just have the carrier name EE but that is all, as tilal said, the osd is not capable of 4g.

  • 0

#18
schkinx

schkinx

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:england
  • Devices:xolo x900 .. Nexus 7 cm10
On virgin , getting speeds ranging from 10 - 60 kbps during say 10 am to 10 pm . Got up early one morning and tested the speed ( about 5 am ) , got 6.8 Mbps . wide ranging is what i'd call the speed :P

Anyway , got a another 10 weeks to go before i can unlock , then i'm off to 3 .

  • 0

#19
chinstroker

chinstroker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:nottingham , uk
  • Devices:osd and asus nexus 7
  • Twitter:@chinstroker1862
Ah i had misread. I have managed a 7mb download on speedtest.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users