Jump to content


Photo

Root CloudMobile

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
82 replies to this topic

#21
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
No the process made as I said is secure 100 %
Don't warry ;)

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#22
Willem van Oort

Willem van Oort

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid & Cloudmobile
it took me a night to figure out how to get rid of the "device not found" error in the terminal, but I finally found a way:)...
The only thing I haven't been able to do is chmod the /system/xbin/su file, because my CMD doesn't know that command and in rootexplorer it says that the phone can't change the permissions:'(

for the OTA update, do I really need to fastboot again? or is just checking temp unroot sufficient as well?

really a big thanks to you!


EDIT: found the problem on the permissions. You forgot to mention that you need to type "adb shell" before you type the chmod command;)

Edited by Willem van Oort, 17 October 2012 - 10:42 PM.

  • 0

#23
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
Thank for the tip.. I forgot it.. sure you must to reboot with unsecure boot also to update su binary


  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#24
Willem van Oort

Willem van Oort

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid & Cloudmobile

Thank for the tip.. I forgot it.. sure you must to reboot with unsecure boot also to update su binary

I have made everything into a batch file:
@ECHO off
ECHO Warning! This progress will boot an unsecure image
pause
cd C:\ROOT_S500
adb reboot bootloader
ECHO Continue when bootloader is booted.
pause
fastboot -i 0x0502 boot boot_s500_gcc_4.6.img
ECHO Continue when ready with rootstuff.
pause
adb reboot
saved it as ROOT_ACCESS_S500.bat on my desktop so whenever I need some R/W permissions on my system partition, I can open this batch file and don't need to type anything, might be a nice way for everyone using root on S500:)

EDIT: I thought I would make the effort to create a batch file for rooting the S500:) The files found in the first post MUST BE in C:\ROOT_S500, or you have to change the 6th line of this batch file. Save this to your desktop as ROOT_S500.bat Here you go:
@ECHO off
ECHO This progress will root your device. Please make sure ONLY the S500 is listed here:
adb devices
ECHO If not, please abort. If you continue, your S500 will reboot in bootloader mode.
pause
cd C:\ROOT_S500
adb reboot bootloader
ECHO if your phone is in bootloader, please continue, your phone will then running in an unsecure boot.
pause
fastboot -i 0x0502 boot boot_s500_gcc_4.6.img
ECHO please wait until your phone is completely booted and recognized on your computer before continuing.
pause
adb remount
adb push Superuser.apk system/app/
adb push su system/xbin
adb shell
chmod 6755 /system/xbin/su
exit
ECHO your phone should now be rooted! If you want the OTA updates to work, please check out the thread on MoDaCo to figure out how to do so.
ECHO Enjoy and a lot of credits to davidevinavil on the MoDaCo forum
haven't had the time to test it, but it should work fine, if ADB and fastboot are installed correctly

Edited by Willem van Oort, 18 October 2012 - 11:19 AM.

  • 0

#25
wimmme

wimmme

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG G2/Nexus7/AcerS500/iPad3
  • Twitter:@wimmme
Bought you a beer davidevinavil, thanks for showing us how to root :-)

Just a question for the OTA update: i don't seem to have that option "temp unroot". Do I need superuser premium or something ?
What do you mean with the info menu ?

Would like to receive updates when Jelly Bean arrives !

EDIT: found it, updating SuperUser via Play Store did the trick.

Edited by wimmme, 02 November 2012 - 09:48 PM.

  • 0

#26
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
I use bought superuser don't know if there's also on free version

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#27
kazuma6666

kazuma6666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:acer cloudmobile S500

it took me a night to figure out how to get rid of the "device not found" error in the terminal, but I finally found a way:)...
The only thing I haven't been able to do is chmod the /system/xbin/su file, because my CMD doesn't know that command and in rootexplorer it says that the phone can't change the permissions:'(

for the OTA update, do I really need to fastboot again? or is just checking temp unroot sufficient as well?

really a big thanks to you!


EDIT: found the problem on the permissions. You forgot to mention that you need to type "adb shell" before you type the chmod command;)


Well I have the same problem with "device not found". You say it took you a night to resolve it but you don't say what solution you found. Could you tell us?

Thanks.

  • 0

#28
aL3xUtZu ::)

aL3xUtZu ::)

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Samsung I780
Can it later be unrooted, for warranty ? Thanks !

  • 0

#29
Willem van Oort

Willem van Oort

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid & Cloudmobile

Well I have the same problem with "device not found". You say it took you a night to resolve it but you don't say what solution you found. Could you tell us?

Thanks.

You are true, sorry for that. I found some site that suggested using a program called PDAnet. Can't remember the exact steps but I believe that when you install it everything works out fine. You can delete the program afterwards.

Link to similar guide for ADB via PDAnet: http://www.topnotcht...nstallADBdriver

  • 0

#30
kazuma6666

kazuma6666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:acer cloudmobile S500

You are true, sorry for that. I found some site that suggested using a program called PDAnet. Can't remember the exact steps but I believe that when you install it everything works out fine. You can delete the program afterwards.

Link to similar guide for ADB via PDAnet: http://www.topnotcht...nstallADBdriver


Thanks for the help I finally could get it to work. My device is now rooted :)

  • 0

#31
chasemyass

chasemyass

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brasov, RO
  • Devices:Acer S500, SE Xperia Neo
  • Twitter:@chasemyass

.....

Then always into terminal type:

adb remount
adb push Superuser.apk system/app/
adb push su system/xbin
adb shell
chmod 6755 /system/xbin/su
exit

DONE
Enjoy ;)
......

1`st of all thanx for this root...Now I can start play a bit with my new S500 Cloudmobile

second, just an opinion from me as superuser is a system app:
chmod 644 /system/app/Superuser.apk will come in handy

  • 0

#32
trics

trics

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Acer Cloudmobile
Hi all,

Thank you for the root tutorial for Acer.

Unfortunately I did not manage to get proper root privileges on my Acer Cloudmobile S500. I've followed your steps to the letter and the process was successfully completed, superuser asks me to allow or deny access to some apps. The only problem is that it does not work properly. Even if I allow apps in SU, they cannot get proper root access to work. (Ex: ES File Explorer, Directory Bind, GL to SD, etc)

Any ideas?

Thank you.

  • 0

#33
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet
What do you mean by "proper root access" ?

If you're talking about getting write access on system partition you can't cause Acer enable a security in stock kernels.
You have to use the boot provided in OP for that.

  • 0

#34
Rendevous

Rendevous

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Acer S500
can somebody post the unroot method ?

  • 0

#35
trics

trics

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Acer Cloudmobile
Hi all,

It finally worked rooting my Acer, just redid the root about 30 times and it works now.

@vache, I guess for now the only way to gain RW acces to the system is by ADB, right?

Great job all, keep this forum alive!
:wub:

  • 0

#36
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet
With stock kernel "adb remount" will not work. You have to use the boot provided in the OP.

  • 0

#37
badboyforlife

badboyforlife

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
can somone explain how to read write system folder
already rooted my s500

Edited by badboyforlife, 05 December 2012 - 10:31 AM.

  • 0

#38
vache

vache

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile
  • Twitter:@vachounet

First of all download this boot https://docs.google....T2JUeDJYZ1VVUW8
this https://docs.google....a1NsX1dhRERyZm8
and this https://docs.google....VDNfNDZjc1V1VTg

SAVE THOSE FILES INTO ROOT_S500 FOLDER

Connect your phone on PC, open terminal, go into ROOT_S500 folder and type:

adb reboot bootloader

phone will reboot in botloader mode

then type

fastboot -i 0x0502 boot boot_s500_gcc_4.6.img
Now you are running an unsecure boot

Wait your phone power on...

Then always into terminal type:


adb remount


Now you have read/write access on system until you reboot.

  • 0

#39
davidevinavil

davidevinavil

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Crevoladossola (VB)
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
I've installed Chainfire SuperSu from Playstore and seems it works better.With Superuser I had som lag playng heavy games, now it feels better :)

  • 0
If you like my work, offer me a beer

#40
Willem van Oort

Willem van Oort

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid & Cloudmobile

can somone explain how to read write system folder
already rooted my s500


Save this as ROOT_ACCESS_S500.bat on your desktop, works for me
@ECHO off
ECHO Warning! This proces will boot an unsecure image
pause
cd C:\ROOT_S500
adb reboot bootloader
ECHO Continue when bootloader is booted.
pause
fastboot -i 0x0502 boot boot_s500_gcc_4.6.img
ECHO Continue when ready with rootstuff.
pause
adb reboot
be sure you cd to the correct directory;)

Edited by Willem van Oort, 10 December 2012 - 05:10 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users