Jump to content


Photo

[HOW-TO] How to use S2E on CM10 KonstaKANG

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
XeS0r

XeS0r

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:HP Touchpad / ZTE Blade
I've made two seperate flashable versions for installing s2e on a ZTE Blade.

The first one (1.) uses the /data/app folder and the second one (2.) uses the /system/app folder.


So how can you choose the right version:
  • I'm not sure what i'm doing.
Stop what ever you want to do next and start reading or ask before you do any further step.
  • I'm not 100% sure if my system partition free space is enough.
Choose 1. S2E using userdata
  • I don't want that s2e is a part of my userdata apps and i'm 100% sure it will fit to the system partition.
Choose 2. S2E using system



Versions:
1. S2E using userdata
https://docs.google....V19iaFVmU090QVU

or directly install the app from the play store

2.S2E using system
https://docs.google....RElqbTQ0TUhWZU0

S2E Shared Folder (Older versions):
https://docs.google....m4tejhQaFU/edit

Source:
https://github.com/OlegKrikun/S2E


Creating Partition:

Clockworkmod (v5.0.2.0)
  • Boot into Recovery
  • "Advanced"
  • Partition SD Card
  • Choose your Ext partition size
  • You can choose 0MB for Swap
  • Done
Installation via update zip:
  • Reboot into Recovery
  • flash "simple2ext-vX-jb-userdata.zip" or "simple2ext-vX-jb.zip" depends on your selection.
  • Reboot
  • Start s2e app and configure it to your needs.
Troubleshooting:
If you have any trouble using s2e you can post the s2e log file or an logcat of your boot procedure.


For now i've tried it on 2 different blades and everything works.


Thanks to OlegKrikun and KonstaT!

Best regards

XeS0r

Edited by XeS0r, 29 October 2012 - 08:36 AM.

  • 0

#2
sej7278

sej7278

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
are you rebuilding https://github.com/OlegKrikun/S2E or hacking the old version like konstat did?

  • 0

#3
XeS0r

XeS0r

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:HP Touchpad / ZTE Blade
It's the version from the play store. This time we don't have to modify it because it supports the jellybean api level. I've made this thread to help other people to setup s2e. That's the way i try to support the development progress, because i don't have enough time to dig in the android source and help developing.

Edited by XeS0r, 19 October 2012 - 07:29 PM.

  • 0

#4
De@n

De@n

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Xperia S & Blade
This thread makes setting up S2E look more complicated than it is :rolleyes:

Backup SD Card first!
1. Create ext partition with CWM
2. Download & config S2E
3. Reboot
Done :)

Edited by De@n, 19 October 2012 - 08:47 PM.

  • 0

#5
gerhardo

gerhardo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Well, I am not completely sure how to use the sd-card to expand data usage. Some attempts to explanation, some assumptions, some questions.

The core problem is that the /data partition in the storage is full. The data basically contains three types of data:
* Application binaries "apk"
* Dalvik cache, an "optimized" byte code constructed from the apks. This is what the phone really runs
* Application data storage (settings etc)
* Application data _explicitly_ stored on the sd-card. This can be cache, some larger images etc. This is on the sd-card already, just mentioned here for completeness.

There are several ways to use the sd-card to expand app storage, both for applications binaries and the data.

app2sd has been in Android since 2.2 and stores a part of the apks on the sd-card, not handling dalvik-cache or app-data.
Most other apps and scripts uses the sd-card by mounting a part of /data partition on the sd-card, kind of "redirecting" specific usage.
These "redirections" more or less that the cd-card is partitioned first, with a ext2 or ext4 partition. That can be used with ClockworkMod5 or from a computer (for example Minitool Partition Wizard or, Linux GParted). Backup the card first.

The sd-card is normally slower than the internal flash, in some aspects it is much slower. The speed that is important is the random read/write of small blocks. The class is not an indicator, actually are Class 2 and 4 cards often better for apps than class 10 cards. In Windows, check CrystalDiskMark 4K read/write.

There are several apps and scripts to perform the move of data. s2e is both simple and powerful, works well with CyanogenMod. If you have another preferenced app used that instead.

* Moving apk affect only startup some. Note that you probably not want to use app2sd after moving the apk to sd-ext
* Moving app-data affects data execution, makes apps slower.
* Moving dalvik-cache affects app startup and switching apps

In my case, I choose to move app-apk and app-data to sd-ext, keeping dalvik-cache in internal storage.
This more than doubled available storage, allowing many (not so important) games.

Drawbacks with sd-ext:
* slower. Some users claim no difference also moving data/dalvik though.
* Larger risk of losing data if the sd-card connection has glitches or phone resets
* You need to take app backup (for instance Titanium Backup) before changing settings or upgrading versions.

----
The latest version on Google Play (3.0.*) adds no functionality to app moving. The version starts slower for me (requesting su several times, occasionally fails to start). It adds a convenient way to view the last boot log though (so you can see if file check repaired the file system).

  • 0

#6
oscarafv

oscarafv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE V880 (Blade)
In my case, s2e works but can't finish to move files, here is the LOG:
-----------------
Initialization...
Ext partition found: /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

Use built-in tune2fs
Use built-in e2fsck

Start mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 as ext4
Unmounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2...
Setup options to /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Checking /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
Filesystem mounted or opened exclusively by another program?
Disabling journaling on /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2...

/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 successfully mounted!

Config found on /data/data
Status dir found! Erase...

/sd-ext/app already mount...
/sd-ext/app-private already mount...
-----------------
Now I know why is not working, but "who" is using the partition?

  • 0

#7
wjtk

wjtk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
I've followed the step, but I have another problem:

Initialization...
Ext partition found: /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
Use built-in tune2fs
Use built-in e2fsck
Start mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 as ext4
Setup options to /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Checking /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
/data/local/bin/e2fsck: Superblock invalid, trying backup blocks...
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2
filesystem.  If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2
filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock
is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
    e2fsck -b 8193 <device>
Disabling journaling on /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2...
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 not mounted... Exit!

Can anyone help me?

  • 0

#8
mitchde

mitchde

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 231 posts
fscheck error: i would reformat that ext partition (in cwm).

  • 0

#9
XeS0r

XeS0r

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:HP Touchpad / ZTE Blade

I've followed the step, but I have another problem:

Initialization...
Ext partition found: /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
Use built-in tune2fs
Use built-in e2fsck
Start mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 as ext4
Setup options to /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Checking /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
/data/local/bin/e2fsck: Superblock invalid, trying backup blocks...
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2
filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2
filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock
is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
e2fsck -b 8193 <device>
Disabling journaling on /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2...
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 not mounted... Exit!

Can anyone help me?


You can try to fix the partition by run the following commands:
adb shell
e2fsck -p /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

fscheck error: i would reformat that ext partition (in cwm).

That should only be the first option if you don't have enough time to fix it.

In my case, s2e works but can't finish to move files, here is the LOG:
-----------------
Initialization...
Ext partition found: /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

Use built-in tune2fs
Use built-in e2fsck

Start mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 as ext4
Unmounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2...
Setup options to /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Checking /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
Filesystem mounted or opened exclusively by another program?
Disabling journaling on /dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
Mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2...

/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 successfully mounted!

Config found on /data/data
Status dir found! Erase...

/sd-ext/app already mount...
/sd-ext/app-private already mount...
-----------------
Now I know why is not working, but "who" is using the partition?

What is the exact problem you have.

Edited by XeS0r, 20 October 2012 - 04:21 PM.

  • 0

#10
neothegod

neothegod

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:Dell XCD35
On CM10, I am able to move app, app data with latest version of s2e from play store. However, CM9 is still an issue. If you try to move app data, you will end up getting Insufficient Storage Available.

Does anyone have a fix for this?

  • 0

#11
gerhardo

gerhardo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

On CM10, I am able to move app, app data with latest version of s2e from play store. However, CM9 is still an issue. If you try to move app data, you will end up getting Insufficient Storage Available.

Does anyone have a fix for this?

This should not be an issue with s2e but insufficient space on the device. Can the /data partition hold the CM9 dalvik-cache?
(I find it strange if the dalvik-cache is optimized in JB compared to ICS, but the install image may vary.)

  • 0

#12
neothegod

neothegod

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:Dell XCD35

This should not be an issue with s2e but insufficient space on the device. Can the /data partition hold the CM9 dalvik-cache?
(I find it strange if the dalvik-cache is optimized in JB compared to ICS, but the install image may vary.)


It's not an issue with internal storage but how the rom system reports internal storage when I check Application data on s2e. This is a known issue with all ICS roms.JB works just fine.

  • 0

#13
oscarafv

oscarafv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE V880 (Blade)

You can try to fix the partition by run the following commands:

adb shell
e2fsck -p /dev/block/mmcblk0p2


That should only be the first option if you don't have enough time to fix it.


What is the exact problem you have.


Hi XeS0r, after select to move applications (/data/app) and reboot, s2e still says: "Moving from /data to /sd-ext Reboot is required!
The /data/app and /sd-ext/app has the same files. No matter how many times I reboot it keeps saying the same. Today I tryied to start from a fresh instalation, just did all the clears and flash ROM, google apps and s2e. After repeat the process, the result was the same. I think that because the filesystem is in use (according to log) the move process is not finished. I have another V880 running s2e with no problems, but is CM7. Tks.

  • 0

#14
wjtk

wjtk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

You can try to fix the partition by run the following commands:

adb shell
e2fsck -p /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

Hmm. I've tried to make different sizes of partitions, but still the same problem. When I'm using this command I get:
e2fsck -p /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
e2fsck: Bad magic number in super-block while trying to open /dev/block/mmcblk0p
2
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2
filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2
filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock
is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
e2fsck -b 8193 <device>

I'm using CWM 5.5.0.4 to create partitions. Maybe that is the point?

======
EDIT
======
Yes, I switched to 5.0.2.0 and works flavlessly ;).

Edited by wjtk, 21 October 2012 - 02:24 PM.

  • 0

#15
XeS0r

XeS0r

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:HP Touchpad / ZTE Blade

Hi XeS0r, after select to move applications (/data/app) and reboot, s2e still says: "Moving from /data to /sd-ext Reboot is required!
The /data/app and /sd-ext/app has the same files. No matter how many times I reboot it keeps saying the same. Today I tryied to start from a fresh instalation, just did all the clears and flash ROM, google apps and s2e. After repeat the process, the result was the same. I think that because the filesystem is in use (according to log) the move process is not finished. I have another V880 running s2e with no problems, but is CM7. Tks.

It seems like there's a problem with the script running twice. I will investigate that issue. But it only should show you "Reboot is required" but it has already moved the data to the ext partition.

You can run the following commands to see if it's working:
adb shell
mount | grep -e mmcblk0p[0-9]

or
adb shell
mount | grep /data

It should show you something like:
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/app ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/app-private ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/data ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/dalvik-cache ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /sd-ext ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0

Edited by XeS0r, 23 October 2012 - 06:56 AM.

  • 0

#16
oscarafv

oscarafv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE V880 (Blade)

It seems like there's a problem with the script running twice. I will investigate that issue. But it only should show you "Reboot is required" but it has already moved the data to the ext partition.

You can run the following commands to see if it's working:

adb shell
mount | grep -e mmcblk0p[0-9]

or
adb shell
mount | grep /data

It should show you something like:
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/app ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/app-private ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/data ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/dalvik-cache ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /sd-ext ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,commit=19,barrier=0,nobh,data=writeback 0 0

Hi XeS0r, you are right, the mount points are correct and everything seems to be fine. Of course /data/app and /sd-ext/app has the same files, now I see that they are in the same place :blush:. Tks.

  • 0

#17
tyrol_gangster

tyrol_gangster

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (Orange SF OLED)
oscarafv: on which ROM are you getting the 'reboot is required' message? I am encountering the same annoyance on Paranoid CM10, everything OK for me on Konstat's.

  • 0

#18
oscarafv

oscarafv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE V880 (Blade)

oscarafv: on which ROM are you getting the 'reboot is required' message? I am encountering the same annoyance on Paranoid CM10, everything OK for me on Konstat's.

I'm using cm-10-20121017-KonstaKANG-blade

  • 0

#19
Roph

Roph

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, Samsung Galaxy S
Why do you or anyone want to use S2E when Link2SD exists?

Link2SD does exactly the same thing, but lets you pick and choose what you move. So I can put the entirety (including cache) of an app I rarely use on te SD, but at the same time keep something like my browser or keyboard entirely on internal storage.

S2E is an all or nothing solution. Why use it?

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy S @ 1.2Ghz / CM10 JellyBean
Grey ZTE Blade @ 768 MHz / KonstaKANG CM9 ICS 4.0.4

#20
ZTR

ZTR

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Galaxy S i9000,Dell XCD 35
  • Twitter:@Zakitheracer

Why do you or anyone want to use S2E when Link2SD exists?

Link2SD does exactly the same thing, but lets you pick and choose what you move. So I can put the entirety (including cache) of an app I rarely use on te SD, but at the same time keep something like my browser or keyboard entirely on internal storage.

S2E is an all or nothing solution. Why use it?


Cause some like to move everything to ext and plus its hassle free than link2sd
Also no need of linking the app after each update

  • 0
ROM:CM10.1 KonstaKANG 24/07/13
Recovery:CWM 6.0.2.7




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users