Jump to content


Photo

[Q] Flickering screen following Orange ICS update

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
I've got a problem with the screen flickering since I updated the phone to the Orange ICS update. It's intermittent and happens when I bring the phone out of standby. It usually goes away after a while or if I put the phone back into standby and bring it out again (although I may have to repeat this a couple of times). The auto brightness doesn't seem to be working properly either. It will lower the screen to an appropriate brightness when you first select it but it doesn't change thereafter. I've tried a fixed brightness and the flicker still occurs.

I updated the phone directly using the Orange OTA update the day it was released. The phone was pretty much standard apart from a few apps before I installed the update, notably I hadn't installed the Xolo update. I've tried a factory reset which hasn't worked. Taking off the screen lock has made no difference either.

It definitely wasn't happening when it was running Gingerbread. Spoke to Orange and predictably they diagnosed it as faulty. I was expecting her to say we'll send you a replacement but apparently they've now changed their policy and I need to take it into a store for it to be sent for repair - draining.

Has anyone got any thoughts as to how I might be able to get it right without having to send it back? (and without voiding the warranty if I do have to send it back!)

Thanks,
Stu.

  • 0

#2
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Did you root ?

This happens if the root did not work right.

If you have not rooted, then try running the update again. Put the orange zip on root of storage space and select sd card upgrade in your settings.
Or the manual way, power off device, and power on with power+ volume up( holding both in until you see blue android) now push power+volume up again, use volume down key to scroll to recovery, push camera button, wipe data factory reset, then apply orange update from sd card.

Edited by jikobutsu, 20 October 2012 - 12:45 PM.

  • 0

#3
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
No I didn't. The phone was absolutely stock apart from a handful of apps I'd installed.

  • 0

#4
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Ok do you have orange update.zip? follow the instructions above or use this tool: http://www.modaco.co...ll-in-one-tool/

Put the orange zip into orange folder and select the number for orange.

If none of the above solves the problem, you have a faulty device :(

  • 0

#5
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
Yeah, I was wondering about going down that route but it looks vaguely complex. Presumably I can do it without needing to download the Xolo update? What would be the steps to just re-install the Orange update.zip?

Thanks,
Stu.

  • 0

#6
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
No just download orange update if that is all you want.

1) you need intel drivers: http://software.inte...ice-usb-driver/
2) download the tool: http://www.modaco.co...ll-in-one-tool/
3) download orange: https://www.dropbox.... ICS Update.zip
4) put orange zip in orange folder in the tool
5)connect to pc with usb, make sure usb debug is enabled in device settings
6)run tool and select root(you have to root to do this, you will be unroot after update flashes) once your device has rebooted twice, push number for orange update
Just follow the instructions basically, the tool will tell you what to do.

If there is no hardware fault, you have nothing to worry about, this tool will fix the problem, it is fail safe, nothing to worry about :)


Note: when you select to root, a message will appear on device screen, push restore data, do not close the tool window until it has rebooted device twice and instructs you it is done.

when flashing orange update, the tool will send an app to your device, when it does it the tool will inform you to go to that app, allow it root permission and tick both boxes, then disconnect and reconnect usb cable and click continue on tool UI.

Thats it, the tool will do the rest, go make a brew, it will take about 10min or more :)

  • 0

#7
vermat17

vermat17

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Nexus 4, OSF

Spoke to Orange and predictably they diagnosed it as faulty. I was expecting her to say we'll send you a replacement but apparently they've now changed their policy and I need to take it into a store for it to be sent for repair - draining.


This and the fact that Orange's website still says they haven't got any in stock makes me wonder if they're cutting down their production of the OSD...

  • 0

#8
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
Many thanks to Jikobutsu, I shall give it a whirl in the morning.

The person I spoke to at Orange said this was a new company wide policy that had come in 10 days ago so I'm not sure whether it's related to production of the OSD.

  • 0

#9
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
Sorry to be a pain but I need a bit more clarification on the instructions before trying this. I've currently got the orange ics update.zip, the SanDiego.rar and the intel drivers in the downloads folder on my laptop. The instructions say extract to c:/ but itit's clear whether that's the computer or the phone?

I think I'm in the same situation as geoff1951 and am something of a novice but have also rooted and flashed my SF in the past. I've read the response to his question and I'm still a bit unclear about it. Hope someone can help as I dont' want to do this unless I'm absolutely clear about the steps. I'm happy to be told if you think it's too complex for a novice, I was just hoping I can fix it without having to send it back to Orange.

Thanks again,
Stu.

  • 0

#10
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
C:\ on a pc

It is not complex, if we did not have the tool and adb app that the tool pushes then it is complex with adb commands.

Run intel drivers, then connect device to pc to install drivers

Move sandiego tool to C:\ on pc

Move orange update into correct folder

Run the tool and follo instructions on the tools UI

Edited by jikobutsu, 21 October 2012 - 08:39 AM.

  • 0

#11
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
OK, it's starting to get a bit clearer now! I've unzipped the tool and now have a folder named SanDiego in C:\ on my laptop. I've moved the Orange Update Zip into the Orange folder, I presume I don't need to unzip it in there?

I've installed the Intel driver on the laptop and set the phone to USB debugging. When I connect the phone Windows 7 is showing it as a Portable Media Player (AZ210A) with 10.3Gb of storage. The notifications bar on the phones says 2 things; 1. USB debugging connected, 2. Connected as a media device. Is this what I should be seeing?

Do I now just double click the sandiego.bat icon?

  • 0

#12
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts

Many thanks to Jikobutsu, I shall give it a whirl in the morning.

The person I spoke to at Orange said this was a new company wide policy that had come in 10 days ago so I'm not sure whether it's related to production of the OSD.


Some stores still have stock - just online that is completely out right now. I still think they are just making more with ICS installed rather than Gingerbread so they can sell the phone easier :D

  • 0

#13
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD

If you have not rooted, then try running the update again. Put the orange zip on root of storage space and select sd card upgrade in your settings.
Or the manual way, power off device, and power on with power+ volume up( holding both in until you see blue android) now push power+volume up again, use volume down key to scroll to recovery, push camera button, wipe data factory reset, then apply orange update from sd card.


As I'm still struggling with the all in one tool method I thought I'd explore this option. It doesn't see any update unless I rename the Orange ICS update that I've downloaded to update.zip. Then it looks like it will work. Is this what I'm supposed to do as I didn't see that mentioned in any of the instructions?

  • 0

#14
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts
Yes you need to rename any updates to update.zip

  • 0

#15
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
Cheers. Presumably that also applies if you're using the tool to do it when you move the update into the orange folder in the tool?

  • 0

#16
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF

Cheers. Presumably that also applies if you're using the tool to do it when you move the update into the orange folder in the tool?

Once you've moved all the relevant updates to their respective folders they all need renaming to "update.zip".
If you open for editing the "SanDiego.bat" file you'll see all references are to "update.zip".

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#17
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
So I've tried reinstalling directly from USB and it doesn't seem to have done anything. It looked like it was with the Android man and a green progress bar for a few minutes but when it re-booted it was clearly the same - and still flickering! Think I'll have to try the tool method next.

  • 0

#18
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
Managed it using the manual method. Alas, still flickering. Guess I'm going to have to send it back, unless anyone has other suggestions? Draining.

  • 0

#19
Doogie Howser

Doogie Howser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rossendale,UK
  • Devices:OSF, OSD
Sent the phone back a couple of weeks ago through my local EE store. Pleasantly surprised when I was called 9 days later to say it was back. Thought I'd better test it in store before leaving - still flickering. Idiots. It's now gone back for a 2nd time.

Edited by Doogie Howser, 03 November 2012 - 05:56 AM.

  • 0

#20
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Unbelievable, so for over a week they done absolutely nothing, in other words when you first took the device in for repair they did not listen to a word you said about what was the problem. ;)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users