Jump to content


Photo

ICS Source Released - When Will It Be Installable?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
DeejUK

DeejUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:SPV C500
Hi all,

I've had an account around these parts for many years now, but I'm not really very fluent in the realm of installing ROMs on phones - so please forgive any naivety on my part!

I saw that LG have released the ICS source for the 2X. I'd really rather like to use the new Xbox SmartGlass app that requires ICS, so naturally I'm quite excited at the prospect of an installable ROM being made available so I can use ICS on my 2X.

Does anyone know what the likelihood of this happening is, and when such a ROM might be available?

I'm currently running a ROM from Modaco that I installed very early in the phone's lifespan, the filename of which is "Fr11-update-modacocustomrom-2x-kitchen-unsigned" dated 12th April 2011. If an ICS ROM is months away, do you think it's worth me upgrading to a more recent ROM? If so, which?

One final question (sorry there's so many!) is that when I installed my previous ROM, the phone was virtually brand new so I didn't have any data to lose. What would I lose exactly by installing a new ROM? Would it wipe all system data?

Thanks in advance, and I appreciate your tolerance of my daft questions :)

  • 0

#2
sane?

sane?

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X, Pulse, ZTE v9
When Ricardo gets CM10 (Jelly Bean) out - which depends on when its ready (couple of days is current guess). Kang and other ROM creators have promised to hold off a while to give him his time in the sun for doing the hard work.

As for the stock ICS ROM from LG - sometime this side of hell freezing over, but only just.

  • 0

#3
DeejUK

DeejUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:SPV C500
Thanks for the info. Do the other ROM creators you mention also work on Cyanogen, or do they produce different ones?

  • 0

#4
sane?

sane?

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X, Pulse, ZTE v9
Generally they create derivative works, different ROMs - eg like Paranoid Android, etc.

Ricardo is the main CM10 guy, and the one who has had access to the source for ICS on the 2X for a while now - hence why people are waiting for him to deliver 2X ready kernels, drivers.

  • 0

#5
ethansp

ethansp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:LG P990 OPTIMUS 2X

Generally they create derivative works, different ROMs - eg like Paranoid Android, etc.

Ricardo is the main CM10 guy, and the one who has had access to the source for ICS on the 2X for a while now - hence why people are waiting for him to deliver 2X ready kernels, drivers.

Sorry, "The one"? Your are wrong with that. Here is the source for ics: http://www.lg.com/gl...delCode=LGSU660
Anyone with knownledge can compile it. Other talk is about modify it to p990.
I lost my hope in modaco with this abandoned device. I don't see any work from modaco since about 1 year ago. We have to wait to ricardo to upload their modifies to github.

  • 0

#6
sane?

sane?

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X, Pulse, ZTE v9

... the one who has had access to the source for ICS on the 2X for a while now ...

Sorry, "The one"? Your are wrong with that. Here is the source for ics: http://www.lg.com/gl...delCode=LGSU660
Anyone with knownledge can compile it. Other talk is about modify it to p990.
I lost my hope in modaco with this abandoned device. I don't see any work from modaco since about 1 year ago. We have to wait to ricardo to upload their modifies to github.

If you read what I wrote, you'll see that Ricardo has had access to the source code for a while, before it was generally released recently. Therefore he's had more time to work with it and integrate with the CM10 codebase. Note also that although this source release incorporates P990 switches, it's released for the SU660, no gurantees that it will compile right for the P990.

  • 0

#7
everett_psycho

everett_psycho

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x, Advent Vega
The key thing is we've had ics for a while now but its been missing key parts where hardware acceleration is needed, so things like recording video and using chrome don't work. The su660 is the korean version of the o2x but the blobs needed to fix up the cm9 and 10 we already have can be extracted from the su660.

RC has had access for longer than most but I don't think it was a final version he had, he isn't far off from releasing it seems but it is a case of its done when it done, I've been watching the ics thread on czar's as those guys seems to be keeping a much loser eye on it than I have the time to do.

And to the op, take a look around. Fr19 is very old, you can at least move up to gingerbread, I'm using paranoid android that's based on cm9, it doesn't do hwa but its one of the most stable roms I've tried

Edited by everett_psycho, 30 October 2012 - 01:43 AM.

  • 0

#8
mankian

mankian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Macclesfield
  • Devices:LG Optimus X2
Its finally landed!

http://get.cm

The direct HTTP link doesnt work, but the bittorrent link works....

http://get.cm/torren...990.zip.torrent

  • 0

#9
dbbloke

dbbloke

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:.uk, .ua, .au
  • Interests:Phones, Doing things, working things out, Reading
  • Devices:Huawei G300. ZTE Skate. LGP990
Seems to work with this link, http://get.cm/?device=p990
Not Ice Cream but Jelly Bean. I'm trying the most recent of the two files.
Thanks RC


Device Type Filename Size Date Added
p990
LG Optimus 2X nightly Direct Download: cm-10-20121030-NIGHTLY-p990.zip
md5sum: a756c4747b8cbb331b58aaa3653aeaa4 Short URL: http://get.cm/get/4y3 147.68 MB 2012-10-30 16:56:34
p990
LG Optimus 2X nightly Direct Download: cm-10-20121030-NIGHTLY-p990.zip
md5sum: bd38483fc3af39cc8d8fa548abbf6ac7 Short URL: http://get.cm/get/4y2 147.68 MB 2012-10-30 15:07:06

Edited by dbbloke, 30 October 2012 - 09:06 PM.

  • 0

#10
mankian

mankian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Macclesfield
  • Devices:LG Optimus X2
seems to be a major issue with sd card mounting

  • 0

#11
everett_psycho

everett_psycho

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x, Advent Vega
SD cards are there in the second file, had to copy my old backup to a different folder for titanium but it worked eventually. Have to say this is a huge improvement over what I had been running, nice and quick, very smooth. Have to say a huge thanks to rc for all his work and making the o2x what it should be

  • 0

#12
DeejUK

DeejUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:SPV C500
I installed th second build from the link above, and I'm blown away by how much faster everything is. It's like having a totaly new phone. I've yet to find anything that doesn't work, but I've only been using it for about 12 hours.

Really impressed, and very grateful to the people involved!

  • 0

#13
mankian

mankian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Macclesfield
  • Devices:LG Optimus X2
Mine keeps locking up, though I'm sure thats hardware as it did on CM7 also...

Both SD Cards are shown, however you can only format the "Primary" SD card. Not sure if thats a JB bug or CM bug

By default the small internal storage is the 'Primary' SD Card which will be limiting for apps that require a lot of SD-card space!! Fortunatly a small tweak to the vold.fstab switched the SD cards ;) so now the big external card is primary and the internal storage is secondary...

Disappionted about no encrypted file system... but thats googles fault !

Goes without saying that everything RC has done is hugely appreciated... I really wouldn't expect anyone to support a device so old and 'past it'. Nice one !

  • 0

#14
mankian

mankian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Macclesfield
  • Devices:LG Optimus X2
another point... has anyone noticed that when receiving SMS it doesnt resolve the contact name? and just shows the number instead?

  • 0

#15
DeejUK

DeejUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:SPV C500
Haven't noticed the SMS thing, but now the phone app is crashing and not allowing me to actually connect calls! I tested it last night by dialling the wife's number, and it rang, so I figured that was enough. Problem is that if I dial someone and they pick up, the phone app crashes. Bit of a problem!

  • 0

#16
mankian

mankian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Macclesfield
  • Devices:LG Optimus X2
I dont have that problem... (thank god). I would try with a different baseband, the v20g gingerbread one seems to work well for me. Might have sorted my address book issue by setting the locale to GB in build.prop rather than US, though this now seems to have broken voice input (but I dont care about that)

  • 0

#17
DeejUK

DeejUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:SPV C500
Hi,

How do I change my baseband, and what should I change it to? My network is T-Mobile and I'm in the UK.

  • 0

#18
mankian

mankian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Location:Macclesfield
  • Devices:LG Optimus X2
Good instructions for manually changing your baseband here: http://www.modaco.co...5-v20l-version/

Includes the smartflash software also.

A selection of basebands here: http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1658047

Which one to use is not really something anyone can answer. A baseband may work great for one person and piss-poor for another. I just ran the LG-Software update and let it put my phone back to latest-stock with the baseband LG would install. After that I had to nvflash clockworkmod and finally install CM10. The baseband (v20g - cant find a link for it anywhere online) seems to work really well up to now. Alternatively I think Ricardo (main CM10 dev for P990) uses an old V10b baseband (0218-V10b-Baseband MD5: 7ed159f97be5fabb4c6c9dabf1c84a76) from the above XDA link.

Edit: also I'm Vodafone and UK

Edited by mankian, 02 November 2012 - 10:38 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users