Jump to content


Photo

UK Vodafone ICS - B936 released OTA !

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
223 replies to this topic

#141
alpine101

alpine101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 7, Moto G, Ainol Fire

Every time you install an update.app via ota or SD card, your phone will need to be rooted and the bootloader unlocked (if the bootloader is locked). If you did use the Gingerbread method to unlock ICS then that maybe an issue but as far as unlocking your phone, then you did the right thing using the .exe.

I didn't repeat the Gingerbread unlock after the successful ICS upgrade, I just ran the exe.

Edited by alpine101, 01 November 2012 - 12:25 PM.

  • 0

#142
lowrider007

lowrider007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
I'm really not sure wether to update or not, I'm currently using official 2.3.6 with LauncherPro Plus and am pretty happy, will Launcher Pro work ok with ICS? what benifits will I gain from upgrading to ICS?

Edited by lowrider007, 01 November 2012 - 01:46 PM.

  • 0

#143
deuse

deuse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Cube Talk 5H
Can someone upload the small 20MB update.zip file please.

thanks in advanced.

  • 0

#144
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969

I'm really not sure wether to update or not, I'm currently using official 2.3.6 with LauncherPro Plus and am pretty happy, will Launcher Pro work ok with ICS? what benifits will I gain from upgrading to ICS?


i think it looks better :). most of the apps seem easier to use. you can get nova/apex launchers which are much better than launcher pro. new widgets..etc

  • 0

#145
subrec90

subrec90

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
My G300 is unlocked and currently on o2, if I install this update will it be locked to Vodafone again? Thanks.

  • 0

#146
psionandy

psionandy

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 450 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, England
  • Interests:Mobile tech.. gadgets.. Liverpool FC
  • Devices:Note 2 and Ascend G300 CM10 R2
  • Twitter:@psionandy
the network lock is completely separate from the OS upgrade... so that shouldn't be a problem for you

  • 1

 Psion Revo+ -> Psion 5MX -> Sony ClieT675-> Palm T2-> Sharp Zaurus 5500 -> AximX50V-> MDA Compact-> Vario II ->Vario III ->Samsung Omnia ->T-Mobile Pulse -> Huawai-G300 -> Nook HD+ ->Samsung Galaxy Note II


#147
subrec90

subrec90

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Great, thanks.

  • 0

#148
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts
To anyone that OTA updated: What is your build number shown in Settings > About phone > Build number

I don't know if it's just me but I'm rather confused as to why some people have B936F (which is the new fixed update from Vodafone) and some have the older B936. This doesn't make any sense.

There definitely IS a fixed ROM as quite a few people are reporting no issues with the new OTA.. so these people must have B936F.

  • 0

#149
timfimjim

timfimjim

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend g300, Nexus 7
Perhaps the people that updated ota by manually updating to b895 first got the b936 no f?

Edited by timfimjim, 01 November 2012 - 05:06 PM.

  • 0

#150
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
I never forced it and have 936f. Ill make a copy and upgrade then report back.may be a while as on phone.

  • 0

#151
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts

I never forced it and have 936f. Ill make a copy and upgrade then report back.may be a while as on phone.

Do you have any of the reported issues?

  • 0

#152
lowrider007

lowrider007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
where does is save the firmware?

  • 0

#153
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2
Just had a text from Vodafone to say I can update over air to ics but I would need to go back to ginger bread first, tried this yesterday and no go. question's are

1) As there is conflicting reports about the new ICS is it worth it?

2) If so how the devil do I get Ginger bread to load when im running the S3 rom.....just get install aborted through cwm

Edited by bryfly, 01 November 2012 - 05:46 PM.

  • 0

#154
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969

I never forced it and have 936f. Ill make a copy and upgrade then report back.may be a while as on phone.


could you upload your version (f)

  • 0

#155
Chris Banks

Chris Banks

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 7, G300, ZTE Blade
Trying to install the 20.56mb update U8815_Vodafone_B895but I get the following message after rebooting:

E:Error in /sdcard/HwOUC/update.zip
(status 7)
formatting /cache...
Installation aborted.


any ideas?

  • 0

#156
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
Ok just updated. First off there's new keyboard. TouchPal but it still underlined. Also it downloadsd as 936f but setting doesn't show it as f.

Attached Files


  • 0

#157
Redflake

Redflake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I Got this update app http://www.modaco.co...__ b936 repack
and it came with touchpal and same build number and that was nearly 2 months ago.
Also has the dictionary fault as well as the storage issues.

Attached File  Screenshot_2012-11-01-18-05-01.jpg   73.04KB   26 downloads

Edited by Redflake, 01 November 2012 - 06:06 PM.

  • 0

#158
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
Did the news app option cause fc.

  • 0

#159
Redflake

Redflake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Did the news app option cause fc.


If you mean pressing i for more weather information. Then no it doesn't.

  • 0

#160
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
It does now.works ok.strange

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users