Jump to content


Photo

[MOD] G300 Int2sdext2


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
Mod removed. If you wish to use the 2gb internal partition for apps storage please use this mod here instead as it is more compatible.


I'll leave the removal tool available for anyone who may have this installed and wish to remove it.




Removal
This mod can be removed by flashing the following removal file in CWM: download - ( md5: 5b1521d4574673b185d023f1fd5582ab )

Alternatively you can enter the following commands via adb shell or via a terminal emulator if you prefer (you must have busybox installed).
busybox umount /data/sdext2
busybox mkfs.vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p19

Once this is done you can restore to a previous nandroid backup (from before the mod was installed) if required.

Edited by Cyda, 30 November 2012 - 10:54 AM.

  • 6

#2
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Nicely done.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#3
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
Glad someone did this:D

  • 0

#4
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Posted Image

Shendu if it matters.

Edited by tcpaulh, 13 November 2012 - 12:43 PM.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#5
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Shendu if it matters.

Probably does. I don't think that is stock based. Isn't that built from cm and is JB?

Check /data/sdext2 exists.

Post contents of /system/etc/install-recovery.sh

Thanks.

Edited by Cyda, 13 November 2012 - 12:53 AM.

  • 0

#6
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
/data/sdext2 exists
install-recovey.sh
#!/system/bin/sh
#added by link2sd
LOG=/data/link2sd-install-recovery.log
echo "$(date) mounting..." > $LOG
mount -t ext4 -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p19 /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG

mount >> $LOG
echo "$(date) mount finished" >> $LOG

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#7
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
This has only been tested on a stock ICS rom. I really cannot say what will happen if you install it on a CM 4.1.2 based rom; I don't know if install-recovery.sh is even called on boot in Jelly bean.

If you are using a non stock rom I'd suggest not using this.

  • 0

#8
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Fair enough :)


Edit:- Think you might need adbwinapi.dll and adbwinusbapi.dll in the removal folder

Edited by tcpaulh, 13 November 2012 - 01:10 AM.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#9
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Yeah, ShenDu whatever version is derived from CM.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#10
noobi

noobi

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Auckland, NZ
  • Devices:G300

Yeah, ShenDu whatever version is derived from CM.


Do you know if its based off your CM work?

  • 0

#11
godsakes

godsakes

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Vivacity, G300
Cheers Cyda works a treat

  • 0

#12
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Edit:- Think you might need adbwinapi.dll and adbwinusbapi.dll in the removal folder

Good call I'll add them later and re-upload.

Edit: removal file updated.

Cheers Cyda works a treat


Thanks for letting me know. :)

Edited by Cyda, 13 November 2012 - 09:03 AM.

  • 0

#13
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts
OK, it all works, but am I being stupid, wonfering what I can now do with my extra 2gb? All my apps are installed internally, and there doesn;t seem to be any point in moving them to the SD card. I understand that if my internal app storage gets full, apps will be installed on the SD card, but I don't see a way in link2sd to select the new internal SD to move apps to? I can see the new 2gb using a root explorer, so I guess I could move music etc to it, but I'm struggling to se ehow I can really use it - is there a way to make the camera, for example, use it for storing photos instead of the sd card?

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#14
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
Once you have it setup you go in to Link2SD, select the app you want to move and select create link. The file will then be moved to the new 2GB ext4 partition. I have all my games installed on my internal storage this way.

If you don't even fill the 750mb storage space on the /data partition you probably won't need this. On my setup have 312mb used in data and 478mb used in the sdext2 partition.

If you use a camera app that allows you to change the save path then you should be able to point it at the sdext2 partition if you so wish, I've never used it like that myself though.

Edited by Cyda, 13 November 2012 - 10:13 AM.

  • 0

#15
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
Great job Cyda works on the S3 Rom too. Lets hope the boys can do this good against Samoa. Last Saturday was train wreck :wacko:

  • 0

#16
oldfella

oldfella

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
does this need to be reflashed with every ROM change ?

  • 0

#17
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720
PS: is it wise to include lib files when making the link? Seems like default is to keep them in /data. Does this matter?

Ta

  • 0

#18
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts

Once you have it setup you go in to Link2SD, select the app you want to move and select create link. The file will then be moved to the new 2GB ext4 partition. I have all my games installed on my internal storage this way.


So teh Create Link moves to the second SD card automatically? I'm just wondering, because there seems nowhere to specifiy which sd card to move apps to.

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#19
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

So teh Create Link moves to the second SD card automatically? I'm just wondering, because there seems nowhere to specifiy which sd card to move apps to.

Yeah, the create link button moves the file (and its libs if selected) to the sdext2.

  • 0

#20
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720

So teh Create Link moves to the second SD card automatically? I'm just wondering, because there seems nowhere to specifiy which sd card to move apps to.


yeah it does. Move a few and then go back to storage setting is Link2SD and you'll see it's being used

answered above /\

Edited by Colossae3.23, 13 November 2012 - 10:25 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users