Jump to content


Photo

[ICS] [4.0.4] CyanogenMod 9.1 [ROM]


  • Please log in to reply
2367 replies to this topic

#2001
Degurney

Degurney

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Xiaocai X9
  • Twitter:@degurney

Something exciting (maybe) to share!

Since we're basically getting nowhere with an official bootloader unlock from Huawei, I've spent most of today reintroducing support for the 109808 baseband for CM. We obviously had this before, but the difference this time is the 3.0.8 kernel is running on that baseband, meaning we don't have a dodgy 2.6 kernel powering it, and everything is working as you would expect in CM9 R9.

The only differences behind the scenes are a minor kernel hack to provide us with enough framebuffer memory - the bootloader passes the start point and the size of the memory region to be used as framebuffer space, and as Gingerbread required less, the Gingerbread bootloader also provides less to the kernel, too little in fact. Additional changes are more obvious - bypassing a line in the RIL Java class, and replacing all the blobs related to the RIL with their equivalents from 109808.

Right now, this stuff is set up so it can be toggled when building CM9. I've got a test build available here: http://g300.thebrona...5-109808-A1.zip

Now, why would you use this? Well, it bypasses the problem plaguing custom ICS ROMs, the random 3G reboots, since a bootloader "unlock" is necessary to install them. Of course, if you don't have the reboots, then you have no reason to use it at all.

Maybe it's obvious but just in case: you need to be on the 109808 baseband to use the mobile network on it. For the vast majority of people, this probably means you need to downgrade to Gingerbread in order to use it.

...and one final point - don't install any recovery that uses a 3.0.8 kernel (yet) if you are downgrading, as it won't have the framebuffer hack in place that is necessary to bring the display up, so you'll be staring at the Huawei splash screen for quite some time.


So...

Would I do this?
http://www.modaco.co...loads/#section6

Then install this.

http://g300.thebrona...5-109808-A1.zip

  • 0

#2002
y4ss1n

y4ss1n

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 327 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@y4s1nne

So...

Would I do this?
http://www.modaco.co...loads/#section6

Then install this.

http://g300.thebrona...5-109808-A1.zip


instead of that first link, use this, alot faster & easier:
http://www.modaco.co...teapp-19022013/

  • 0

#2003
emyjojo

emyjojo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei 8815, Google Nexus 7
I've installed the new version with 109808 baseband, as I was using b895. Everything is working as it should, except WIFI. After a fresh boot, I can connect to a network about 3 or 4 times, after that, it does not connect. It says that a connection to a low signal network was avoided and the tries again. After a reboot, the same story, connects a few times, and after that it fails. Is this a known issue? Thank you.

  • 0

#2004
y4ss1n

y4ss1n

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 327 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@y4s1nne
is the battery better on cm9 with baseband 109808?

  • 0

#2005
bentescort

bentescort

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Devices:Acer LM G300
Attached File  uploadfromtaptalk1361467636865.jpg   48.47KB   187 downloads

Battery seems as good as any to me.

  • 0

#2006
Feahnor

Feahnor

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Zte Blade S, Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@jmphotos
And ram usage?

  • 0

#2007
Pain_Deluxe

Pain_Deluxe

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:skating,hardware,cars
  • Devices:Huawei G300 [email protected]
Screentime?

3G or WIFI only?

  • 0

#2008
Degurney

Degurney

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Xiaocai X9
  • Twitter:@degurney

instead of that first link, use this, alot faster & easier:
http://www.modaco.co...teapp-19022013/


Ok good thanks :) and what .app do I put on this? will it be the official Vodafone GB .APP file???

Darren

  • 0

#2009
y4ss1n

y4ss1n

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 327 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@y4s1nne
yes

  • 0

#2010
Feahnor

Feahnor

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Zte Blade S, Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@jmphotos
Do you know where i can get the official huawei GB update.app? I can't find it in huawei's website.

  • 0

#2011
Degurney

Degurney

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Xiaocai X9
  • Twitter:@degurney

  • 0

#2012
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, Huawei G300, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh

This might be it!

http://www.huaweidev...softid=NDEyNTU=

That's for a different phone.

Here's B885 (update.app) which is the only one I've uploaded :- http://www.solidfile...m/d/fe5a94e1fb/

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#2013
Feahnor

Feahnor

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Zte Blade S, Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@jmphotos
Thanks.

  • 0

#2014
Pain_Deluxe

Pain_Deluxe

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:skating,hardware,cars
  • Devices:Huawei G300 [email protected]
I got B888 on my Pc. maybe someone need it.

  • 0

#2015
ReZ1342

ReZ1342

    Newbie

  • Banned
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Guys whats the difference between the two 1098080 and 2030 ? is it just a fix for the 3g reboots or is it much smoother and faster /?????????????????? Comprende :D

  • 0

#2016
Pain_Deluxe

Pain_Deluxe

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:skating,hardware,cars
  • Devices:Huawei G300 [email protected]
RTFT.

Its an Baseband. 2030 is ics and the other one GB

  • 0

#2017
hippy dave

hippy dave

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Hudl
I think he means what difference does it make to how CM9 runs. I guess it wouldn't necessarily make much difference beyond hopefully fixing the 3g reboots, but who knows. If the baseband issue can cause reboots, could it cause other issues? Maybe someone has done a comparison, but I haven't.

Edited by hippy dave, 23 February 2013 - 03:22 PM.

  • 0

#2018
hippy dave

hippy dave

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Hudl
Some of my notifications aren't working (Facebook, Gmail) - not sure where the problem is.

  • 0

#2019
x80jdc

x80jdc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Orange San Francisco
HI all,

Hopefully someone can help... I have recently put CM( onto my G300. Everything was running well but I neded to make space on the phone. Using 'App2SD' I moved the majority of apps from the internal memory. A day later I performed a reboot, now I cannot see any of the apps on the SD card, {Settings - Storage} shows no information for the SD card.

Is there a way I can get access to the SD Card again?

  • 0

#2020
Mhisani Fox

Mhisani Fox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Interests:Phones, PCs, Games, Furries, Random Music
  • Devices:Huawei G300

That's not a fix, that's a workaround. The RIL is meant to acquire the SPN name itself.

I guess it works for now.


My apologies. I'm learning as I go. Glad that it was at least a stop gap solution. I did notice when flashing the latest version R9 that the spn-conf.xml included does not contain all the network names.. Just a few strange Chinese ones. Also is it just me or is the speakerphone mode quieter in CM9 than CM10/10.1?

Also sending small tip your way. Cheers for your work.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users