Jump to content


Photo

[Mod] Link2Int v1.1 - [Use 2GB internal as app storage - tested with CM9/CM10/CM10.1] 03/12


172 replies to this topic

#21
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
I've been out all day and have not even got the CM update yet. Once I know more I'll let you know.

  • 1

#22
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
It seems the new CWM 6 doesn't mount system correctly when flashing the zips. To get around this; boot to CWM go to Mounts and Storage > unmount /system and then mount /system again. Then go and flash the zip as normal, this worked for me and Link2Int is working again for me.

  • 2

#23
Miki Bakaiki

Miki Bakaiki

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Cyda , i just updated from CWM 5 .X , but i lost my linked apps ! Is there any way to have them back (without reflasing them) ?

  • 0

#24
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Cyda , i just updated from CWM 5 .X , but i lost my linked apps ! Is there any way to have them back (without reflasing them) ?

Just re-flash the mod again as before and you apps will magically re-appear. ;)

  • 0

#25
Dellboy2012

Dellboy2012

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgrade, Serbia
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@Dellboy2012
Yeah, the thing was with remounting system, thanks again. I got all my apps back.

You're the man! ;)

  • 1

#26
terry.n

terry.n

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
When doing a CWM backup, I get the message 'No sd-ext found. Skipping backup of sd-ext'. Just a bit confused - does this mean the internal 2G is not being backed up? TIA.

  • 0

#27
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

When doing a CWM backup, I get the message 'No sd-ext found. Skipping backup of sd-ext'. Just a bit confused - does this mean the internal 2G is not being backed up? TIA.

The sd-ext that CWM is looking for would be a 2nd partition on your removable sdcard. In CWM the internal storage is mounted as /datadata or /emmc depending on which version of CWM you use. Either way, the internal storage normally gets backup & restored during a nandroid.

  • 0

#28
terry.n

terry.n

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
thanks cyda :)

  • 0

#29
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

The sd-ext that CWM is looking for would be a 2nd partition on your removable sdcard. In CWM the internal storage is mounted as /datadata or /emmc depending on which version of CWM you use. Either way, the internal storage normally gets backup & restored during a nandroid.

Just a bit more info on this subject. It seems the new CWM v6 does not backup the 2GB internal storage. So if you want to have that backed-up and restored with your nandroids you need to be using v5 or v4, as only these version backup this partition.

If you do wish to have the internal partition backed-up I would recommend this version of CWM by Kra1o5

Edited by Cyda, 19 November 2012 - 10:40 AM.

  • 0

#30
tyrol_gangster

tyrol_gangster

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Czech Republic
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (Orange SF OLED)
with this MOD, in Link2SD does it matter if I have 'Auto link' checked and what do I set under Native APP2SD location? I have auto link ON and location automatic, but have a feeling from the storage info space used that the tool is linking my newly installed apps to the external SD card, rather than the 2GB? ignore me, long day .-)

Edited by tyrol_gangster, 23 November 2012 - 11:14 PM.

  • 0

#31
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
Auto link works fine, use it if you prefer, I do. As for Native APP2SD settings just leave them alone, the mod sets everything up on install. If you try to change those settings manually you will probably break the mount point and need to reinstall the mod.

The only thing you should need to do is listed in the first post. Apart from that, set auto link at your preference.

The storage info in Link2SD will look like this once everything is setup correctly,

Attached File  Screenshot_2012-11-23-23-12-01.jpg   90.53KB   86 downloads

Edited by Cyda, 23 November 2012 - 11:15 PM.

  • 0

#32
e.miron

e.miron

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, Huawei G300
I have all my photos on external sd card and after applying this mod the gallery can't seem to find them anymore and also quickpic.

  • 0
www.lenutavelasdecorativas.blogspot.com

#33
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300

When doing a CWM backup, I get the message 'No sd-ext found. Skipping backup of sd-ext'. Just a bit confused - does this mean the internal 2G is not being backed up? TIA.

I get this error, and my backups never restore afterwards. I don't want or need the internal backup, but I seem to get the error no matter which version of CWM I use :-( Sorry for the OT.

  • 0

Posted Image


#34
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

I get this error, and my backups never restore afterwards. I don't want or need the internal backup, but I seem to get the error no matter which version of CWM I use :-( Sorry for the OT.

The 'no sd-ext found' message means CWM didn't find a 2nd partition to backup on your sdcard (i.e. such as the ext2/3/4 partitions that you can create for use with Link2SD or other apps). You'll see that message with or without this mod, and also on numerous CWM versions across different phones.

Basically, you will always see that message unless you specifically set up a second partition on your sdcard.

Edited by Cyda, 25 November 2012 - 12:32 PM.

  • 0

#35
hippy dave

hippy dave

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Hudl
Which is to say, it's not an error message, just a status message :-)

  • 0

#36
rob4x4

rob4x4

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 326 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS off
  • Devices:Nexus 4,Tesco Hudl
If I just want to fix the storage swap bug then do I just flash the Link2Int-CWM file and leave it at that, or do I then have to open the app once installed and set auto-link?
Sorry if its a dumb question!

  • 0

#37
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
This mod won't fix the storage bug, sorry. It only allows you to use the 2gb partition for app storage.

  • 0

#38
rob4x4

rob4x4

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 326 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS off
  • Devices:Nexus 4,Tesco Hudl

This mod won't fix the storage bug, sorry. It only allows you to use the 2gb partition for app storage.

Ah ok. I assumed it fixed it as Tillaz is redirecting people here if they have the storage bug with Infusion.

  • 0

#39
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
From my experience the only thing that fixes it is either a full format of the sdcard in Windows or a new sdcard. I don't why this is the case but those are the only things that seem to work, and in all honesty even those might not work for everyone.

  • 0

#40
rob4x4

rob4x4

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 326 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS off
  • Devices:Nexus 4,Tesco Hudl

From my experience the only thing that fixes it is either a full format of the sdcard in Windows or a new sdcard. I don't why this is the case but those are the only things that seem to work, and in all honesty even those might not work for everyone.

What settings do you use when doing a full format in Windows?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users