Jump to content


Photo

[Mod] Link2Int v1.1 - [Use 2GB internal as app storage - tested with CM9/CM10/CM10.1] 03/12


  • Please log in to reply
163 replies to this topic

#61
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Yep, that's the one I use, that is why I'm confused. Sorry for being pain in the ass.

Right, I've done a new version that should work you. It uses the install-recovery.sh method to run the mount script as I used in Int2sdext so should work on any stock rom regardless of boot.img/kernel.

Attached File  Link2IntForStockRoms-CWM.zip   477.2KB   57 downloads

Edited by Cyda, 04 December 2012 - 04:16 PM.

  • 0

#62
wso277

wso277

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Devices:Ideos x3, ascend g300
Cyda, Will this still work with cm10?

  • 0

#63
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Cyda, Will this still work with cm10?

Yeah, it's working fine for me on CM10.

  • 0

#64
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Not sure this was the cause but after installing it I went to use WOL Wake on Lan Wan https://play.google....benfinnigan.wol and it kept saying "invalid profile name, do you have write access to the storage device" (or something very similar). I'd created the profile a few days ago and it saved fine then. I hadn't tried to move that app at that point, although I did then try to see if it would fix the problem but it didn't.

I then went to Settings - Storage and changed the default location from Internal Storage to SD Card (16GB) and after that it worked normally again. Is it a good idea to change it to that anyway?

  • 0

#65
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
If using this mod you REALLY do not wantt to be using the Internal storage for any other use. This mod should be used only when your 2gb internal storage is 'wasted space' and you need another use for it. Having your default storage set to internal storage and having this mod installed is not advised.

Edited by Cyda, 22 December 2012 - 01:03 AM.

  • 0

#66
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
OK, I've changed it now anyway. It gets a bit confusing sometimes, as some thing refer to the internal storage as SD card and the actual SD card as SD 2 or ext SD. I thought there was some other internal storage as well (about 700MB)?

I got the impression one use of this mod was to speed up loading apps, etc compared to the ext SD card and not just to use the 'wasted space' of the internal storage but maybe I misunderstood.

  • 0

#67
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

I got the impression one use of this mod was to speed up loading apps, etc compared to the ext SD card and not just to use the 'wasted space' of the internal storage but maybe I misunderstood.

It should be faster than most lower class sdcards but even then the same rules apply. And yeah, you're correct, there is another internal storage, the 750mb /data partition.

Edit: I've just benched the internal storage on my G300 and it gave a fairly consistent 8mb/s write speed so should be a match for most class 8 sdcards and obviously be better than anything of lower class.

Attached File  Screenshot_2012-12-22-01-41-31.png   77.72KB   31 downloads

Edited by Cyda, 22 December 2012 - 01:44 AM.

  • 0

#68
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Ah cool, I'm not going completely mad then.

I've been benching some SD cards and USB sticks on my PC to compare for my Rasberry Pi and this is the result with my Class 6 Transcend 8GB SD. Seems a lot higher than I'd expect for a class 6 but maybe it's the wrong sort of test


Posted Image

This is a 2GB no-name/no-class SD


Posted Image

and this is my Sandisk Class 10 8GB


Posted Image

As you can see, there's not much difference in read speeds but the Sandisk is a lot faster at 4k writes than the other two.

Anyway, what can we use the 750MB /data partition for then and how do we access it/get apps to use it?

  • 0

#69
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC
Those speeds might be different once you get the card in the phone, mine were from when I tested mine on PC on buying it.

As for the 750mb partition it is already used by all roms; it is the /data partition on your phone.

  • 0

#70
unaszplodrmann

unaszplodrmann

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Don't trust SD card class ratings, especially if you did not buy the card directly from a major retailer. As Cyda has said elsewhere, the Samsung Class 10s are a safe bet. Avoid Kingston; an intrepid blogger actually managed to reveal that "genuine" official Kingston Class 10 SDs are sometimes actually remarked lower grade products and sold via major retailers.

  • 0
Kill the bee... and ultimately... you'll have nothing to spread on your toast — John Shuttleworth

#71
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Those speeds might be different once you get the card in the phone, mine were from when I tested mine on PC on buying it.

As for the 750mb partition it is already used by all roms; it is the /data partition on your phone.


Yeah I'm sure they will be. Likewise with the Raspberry Pi, apparently the SD interface is limited so it's better to run from USB even though the SD benchmarks on the PC might look better.

Glad to know that 750mb isn't going to waste ;)

  • 0

#72
doveman

doveman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Don't trust SD card class ratings, especially if you did not buy the card directly from a major retailer. As Cyda has said elsewhere, the Samsung Class 10s are a safe bet. Avoid Kingston; an intrepid blogger actually managed to reveal that "genuine" official Kingston Class 10 SDs are sometimes actually remarked lower grade products and sold via major retailers.


I have terrible trouble with USB sticks and most don't reach anything like their advertised speeds, or I get a USB3 one that's OK for reads but as slow as USB2 for writes.

As those SD tests I did show though, I seem to get higher speeds than the Class would suggest with all of them.

  • 0

#73
sashko69

sashko69

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Right, I've done a new version that should work you. It uses the install-recovery.sh method to run the mount script as I used in Int2sdext so should work on any stock rom regardless of boot.img/kernel.

Attached File  Link2IntForStockRoms-CWM.zip   477.2KB   57 downloads

Not working on stock B952 repack, Link2SD can not find ext partition.

  • 0

#74
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Not working on stock B952 repack, Link2SD can not find ext partition.

Strange; it should work with that rom although I haven't tested it. I'll check it out in a few days when I get some free time. In the mean time you could always add a custom kernel and use the mod from the first post.

  • 0

#75
mr_mufy

mr_mufy

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TICs/Electronics.
    Btt
  • Devices:ZTE - Blade / Huawei G300
Hi Cyda.

Great Job for us owners of this phone.

I'm traying install this mod on the Lightning ROm but i can't.

Give always the error /data/extsd2 mount not found.

It's any way to fix this error?

Tks in advance.

  • 0
Mr_mufy

#76
Cyda

Cyda

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales
  • Devices:Nexus 4 & 7 running PAC

Hi Cyda.

Great Job for us owners of this phone.

I'm traying install this mod on the Lightning ROm but i can't.

Give always the error /data/extsd2 mount not found.

It's any way to fix this error?

Tks in advance.

Try this version below, it might work if the rom is stock based with no init.d support.

Right, I've done a new version that should work you. It uses the install-recovery.sh method to run the mount script as I used in Int2sdext so should work on any stock rom regardless of boot.img/kernel.

Attached File  Link2IntForStockRoms-CWM.zip   477.2KB   57 downloads


  • 0

#77
pobesneli_max

pobesneli_max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:g300

Try this version below, it might work if the rom is stock based with no init.d support.

what about removal file for this one?
non of your mods works with baidu chinese rom :(((

Edited by pobesneli_max, 13 January 2013 - 01:44 PM.

  • 0

#78
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male

Try this version below, it might work if the rom is stock based with no init.d support.


Lightning has init.d support, so I don't know what his problem is :blink:

I'm using this right now on lightning, so it definitely works.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#79
pobesneli_max

pobesneli_max

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:g300

Lightning has init.d support, so I don't know what his problem is :blink:

I'm using this right now on lightning, so it definitely works.

i am glad 4 u, but i am using baidu rom, not ligthting =D

  • 0

#80
mr_mufy

mr_mufy

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TICs/Electronics.
    Btt
  • Devices:ZTE - Blade / Huawei G300

Lightning has init.d support, so I don't know what his problem is :blink:

I'm using this right now on lightning, so it definitely works.


I also don't now...
I will try the last version.

But it definit doesn't work with me.

Does any one have the lightning rom with this mod?

  • 0
Mr_mufy




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users