Jump to content


Photo

Xolo Software update Available

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
168 replies to this topic

#81
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,484 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982
is su in system/xbin ?

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#82
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,484 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982
try brickfix to get back to Rootable rom

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#83
technomole

technomole

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
If I navigate to system/xbin using ES File Explorer I can see 3 files - dexdump, hciconfig, watchdogd

  • 0

#84
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
was you rooted before you updated ?

Does tool not work to root ?

Also, can you get recovery now ?

Edited by jikobutsu, 21 November 2012 - 04:56 PM.

  • 0

#85
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,484 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982
lol you should be able to flash the 299mb xolo to get root back

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#86
BlueMoonRising

BlueMoonRising

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,472 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere...
  • Devices:Orange San Diego, OSF
This update is Xolo only I presume? None available on the Orange ICS rom at all?

  • 0
Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

#87
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Maybe someone on orange should check

  • 0

#88
technomole

technomole

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

was you rooted before you updated ?

Does tool not work to root ?

Also, can you get recovery now ?



I was rooted before I tried to apply the update, which lead to me bricking the phone.

Ricky's AI0 tool doesn't work for root, once the update is applied.

I can get into recovery.

I'm not that fussed about having root for the moment, but figured it might help to find a way round this apparent blocking of root for xolo ics.

  • 0

#89
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
Are you sure adb is conected when you running tool

do you have a screen cast program on pc? we could do with seeing the tool ui as it is running

Edited by jikobutsu, 21 November 2012 - 05:20 PM.

  • 0

#90
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,631 posts

I posted the link earlier, but here it is again: http://www.mediafire...63zvw7dzuzm3zgp


I missed that, sorry. Thanks for uploading it.

  • 0

#91
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
No problem :)

I am going to do update, as updater script shows nothing to remove root...............

  • 0

#92
technomole

technomole

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

Are you sure adb is conected when you running tool

do you have a screen cast program on pc? we could do with seeing the tool ui as it is running


No I don't have a screencast on windows (I use ubuntu as my main os)

I have noticed that although the system sees the phone, shows up under my computer as xolo x900 when I run the ai0 tool I seem to be getting 2 instances of adb showing up in the task manager.

So I plug phone in, system does it's thing.

I run ai0 tool it says -

* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
error: device not found
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *

and that's as far as the tool gets.

Phone is showing in device manager as Android Composite ADB Interface

But oddly there are 2 instances of adb.exe *32 showing in task manager, if I kill one the tool then goes to the options screen, then if I select anything another instance of adb.exe *32 shows up and I have to kill one to get the tool to do anything, but it fails on all options.

  • 0

#93
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
ok I done and I got restore data and reboot, but need to confirm root..................


So far it is not looking good :(

Edited by jikobutsu, 21 November 2012 - 06:02 PM.

  • 0

#94
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,631 posts

No problem Posted Image

I am going to do update, as updater script shows nothing to remove root...............


The only thing that it does that could kill root is updating BackupAndRestore.apk which is what the exploit uses to mount the system r/w (there is a timing bug which means the backup app will mount system r/w sufficientlly long enough to push superuser files)

If this has been patched to fix the bug then we need a new exploit.

  • 0

#95
b4da55

b4da55

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
Sly google/xolo

Not feeling how they did that to you sd owners

  • 0

#96
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD

The only thing that it does that could kill root is updating BackupAndRestore.apk which is what the exploit uses to mount the system r/w (there is a timing bug which means the backup app will mount system r/w sufficientlly long enough to push superuser files)

If this has been patched to fix the bug then we need a new exploit.


Yes I noticed that when trying to reroot

remote object '/system/app/Backup-Restore.apk' does not exist

Edited by jikobutsu, 21 November 2012 - 06:05 PM.

  • 0

#97
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,631 posts

Sly google/xolo

Not feeling how they did that to you sd owners


It was patched by Google in the code as several other devices have been recently updated and lost this root method. It was a bad bug though.

  • 0

#98
jikobutsu

jikobutsu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:OSD
trying to flash old update now........................


Which is pushing :)

It worked

Now trying root

If no root still I will fastboot erase system and try again


I have root!!!


Technomole, U should have no problem, go to revcovery and flash xolo ics update again, if you want root of course :)

Edited by jikobutsu, 21 November 2012 - 06:16 PM.

  • 0

#99
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,631 posts

trying to flash old update now........................


Which is pushing Posted Image

It worked

Now trying root

If no root still I will fastboot erase system and try again


I have root!!!


Technomole, U should have no problem, go to revcovery and flash xolo ics update again, if you want root of course Posted Image


At least you can go back to the original ICS OK. Now we just need to find a way to keep root with the new update.

Edit: The exploit may be patched but superuser.apk and the su binary should still be on the system. If you open Superuser then check the binary it'll tell you if it's still working. The updates install script does recursively set permissions in bin and xbin though so it's possible this has broken things. Or not.

Edit2: And the issue with some people not being able to get into recovery seems to be resolved with a wipe of the cache partition. At least that's what it looks like.

Edit3: Maybe something like Voodoo OTA Root Keeper will work in preventing superuser from being broken during update.

  • 0

#100
technomole

technomole

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

trying to flash old update now........................


Which is pushing :)

It worked

Now trying root

If no root still I will fastboot erase system and try again


I have root!!!


Technomole, U should have no problem, go to revcovery and flash xolo ics update again, if you want root of course :)


I'm not going to risk it just yet, I can't get the tool to find the phone, I suspect something is wrong with the pc, may have to remove everything and start from scratch before trying again.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users