Jump to content


Photo

Internal memory woes

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
shawdreamer

shawdreamer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Runcorn (Two pints of lager territory for those struggling)
  • Interests:Customizing Cars (I'm male its genetic)
    Women (I'm male its genetic)
    Fiddling with my Phone (I'm male its genetic)
    making custom icons (I'm male and get bored..... its genetic)
  • Devices:ZTE-Crescent(OSF2),NovoELF2
Just recieved my new Zte (untouched brand new in sealed box.

Everything seemed fine and hunky dorey till I checked the internal memory and found it only displayed 200Mb.

naturally I was more than a little surprised as the handsets stated as having 512Mb.

Now I know a great deal is eaten by the OS and random amounts of Orange BloatShite they seem to enjoy adding to all their phones but that didn't concern me as I was unlocking,rooting and rom'ing it anyway so figured a hefty amount would show up afterwards.

went about the business of accomplishing all the above without a hiccup, partially thanx to this sites excellent information and various guides and was pleased with the results of my efforts (CM9 runs remarkably smoothly, almost as seamless as it did on my tablet)

Happily I went back to check if the internal memory issue had resolved with the new rom but........ no........ still stuck at 200Mb?!?!

Now the chances of me using up even that 200Mbs is unlikely as any resource heavy app is usually referred to my tablet instead of clogging up my phone so the problem isn't exactly a deal breaker as such.

Its just......well...... I payed for 512Mb of internal memory...... surely I ain't out of order expecting it.

Anyone had this issue or have any ideas how to help a noob out?

  • 0
Posted Image
Currently own and use daily:-
ZTE Crescent (OSF2) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, relaible, fast, front camera non-functional)
ZTE Blade (OSF1) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)
AINOL Novo 7 Elf 2 - Cyanogenmod10 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)

#2
CurtisAndroidSF2

CurtisAndroidSF2

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartlepool
  • Interests:Graphic Design, Music, Photography, Android, Technology & Gaming.
  • Devices:HUAWEI ASCEND P1
Partition your SD Card- go to clockworkmod advanced menu then partition SD and use a suitable allocation, I use 1gb, then flash the A2SD scripts (First post on CM9 thread) then download A2SDGUI from the PlayStore. Open the A2SDGUI application then click 'do not show again' on the little message pop up then go to Dalvik Cache tab then click 'Dalvik Cache on SD-EXT' and then click 'Move & Rebuild'- Your device will reboot and memory issues will forever disappear.

  • 0

Devices


Huawei Ascend P1 (Untouched, for now)

iPhone 4 16gb Jailbroke (6.1.3 semi-tethered) (Sold)

HTC ONE V (Unlocked Bootloader/TWRP installed) running CM10 (Sold)

ZTE Crescent (OSF2)- Paranoid Android 4.1 (Sold)

Samsung Galaxy I5500- CM7 (Sold)

________________________________

My Photography


My Ported Roms:

MoKeeOS (Alpha) | GB MIUI (Alpha) | KonstaKang (Alpha)

| AtomicMod (Beta) |

SwedishSnow (Fully working) | H3 Blues


Help me by testing out my ported ROMs and let me know what works/doesn't work and post here


#3
shawdreamer

shawdreamer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Runcorn (Two pints of lager territory for those struggling)
  • Interests:Customizing Cars (I'm male its genetic)
    Women (I'm male its genetic)
    Fiddling with my Phone (I'm male its genetic)
    making custom icons (I'm male and get bored..... its genetic)
  • Devices:ZTE-Crescent(OSF2),NovoELF2
oooook, maybe I should have "bold" fonted the "Noob" bit.

In all honesty I'm not exactly savvy in regards with all things that go "beep" and as such I got to the "flash the A2SD scripts" bit and started to feel a definite pain beginning to develop at the rear of my skull were my techphobic grey matter was starting to liquefy.

I may be asking a bit to much but any chance you could dumb that all down for me?

(I jest you not when I say I cant even track down the CM9 thread you mentioned earlier :blush:)

  • 0
Posted Image
Currently own and use daily:-
ZTE Crescent (OSF2) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, relaible, fast, front camera non-functional)
ZTE Blade (OSF1) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)
AINOL Novo 7 Elf 2 - Cyanogenmod10 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)

#4
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

Partition your SD Card- go to clockworkmod advanced menu then partition SD and use a suitable allocation, I use 1gb, then flash the A2SD scripts (First post on CM9 thread) then download A2SDGUI from the PlayStore. Open the A2SDGUI application then click 'do not show again' on the little message pop up then go to Dalvik Cache tab then click 'Dalvik Cache on SD-EXT' and then click 'Move & Rebuild'- Your device will reboot and memory issues will forever disappear.


Just a point to be careful about...

partitioning your SD card in CWM wipes/formats the SD card.....

so all data on the card will be lost!! including apps moved with Android native app2sd....

you will need to backup SD card first, and restore after partitioning....

Also, use a2sdgui to move all apps to SD, and zip align on boot.

Edited by irishpancake, 25 November 2012 - 12:39 PM.

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#5
CurtisAndroidSF2

CurtisAndroidSF2

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartlepool
  • Interests:Graphic Design, Music, Photography, Android, Technology & Gaming.
  • Devices:HUAWEI ASCEND P1

oooook, maybe I should have "bold" fonted the "Noob" bit.

In all honesty I'm not exactly savvy in regards with all things that go "beep" and as such I got to the "flash the A2SD scripts" bit and started to feel a definite pain beginning to develop at the rear of my skull were my techphobic grey matter was starting to liquefy.

I may be asking a bit to much but any chance you could dumb that all down for me?

(I jest you not when I say I cant even track down the CM9 thread you mentioned earlier :blush:)

Just a point to be careful about...

partitioning your SD card in CWM wipes/formats the SD card.....

so all data on the card will be lost!! including apps moved with Android native app2sd....

you will need to backup SD card first, and restore after partitioning....

Also, use a2sdgui to move all apps to SD, and zip align on boot.


Forgot to mention to back up your SD!

http://crescent.theb...2-a2sd-ext3.zip - There's the download link for the scripts.

You can flash the scripts by booting into clockworkmod by holding down the power button and click reboot then recovery as you're running CM9 so it's a helpful feature to help you get into recovery faster.

Flash by going to install zip from sd card then choose zip from sd, scroll down to the file and click it and then click yes and reboot then follow the instructions about A2SDGUI.

  • 0

Devices


Huawei Ascend P1 (Untouched, for now)

iPhone 4 16gb Jailbroke (6.1.3 semi-tethered) (Sold)

HTC ONE V (Unlocked Bootloader/TWRP installed) running CM10 (Sold)

ZTE Crescent (OSF2)- Paranoid Android 4.1 (Sold)

Samsung Galaxy I5500- CM7 (Sold)

________________________________

My Photography


My Ported Roms:

MoKeeOS (Alpha) | GB MIUI (Alpha) | KonstaKang (Alpha)

| AtomicMod (Beta) |

SwedishSnow (Fully working) | H3 Blues


Help me by testing out my ported ROMs and let me know what works/doesn't work and post here


#6
reedo_17

reedo_17

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus4,Blade,CrescentY300MotoG
  • Twitter:@@Ollie_Reed17
What do you choose for swap size? and when it is partitioned should i reflash my rom?

Edited by reedo_17, 25 November 2012 - 03:48 PM.

  • 0

#7
shawdreamer

shawdreamer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Runcorn (Two pints of lager territory for those struggling)
  • Interests:Customizing Cars (I'm male its genetic)
    Women (I'm male its genetic)
    Fiddling with my Phone (I'm male its genetic)
    making custom icons (I'm male and get bored..... its genetic)
  • Devices:ZTE-Crescent(OSF2),NovoELF2
cheers Curtis your a hero ;)

  • 0
Posted Image
Currently own and use daily:-
ZTE Crescent (OSF2) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, relaible, fast, front camera non-functional)
ZTE Blade (OSF1) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)
AINOL Novo 7 Elf 2 - Cyanogenmod10 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)

#8
CurtisAndroidSF2

CurtisAndroidSF2

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hartlepool
  • Interests:Graphic Design, Music, Photography, Android, Technology & Gaming.
  • Devices:HUAWEI ASCEND P1
I did 1gb for the first option then 0 for the second menu and you don't need to reflash your ROM- just use A2SDGUI to move data to sd ext etc.

If you're running a Jelly Bean based ROM then A2SDGUI won't work and you'll need to use the Terminal Emulator app and type in 'su' followed by 'a2sd reinstall' the device will reboot then you need to go back to the Terminal Emulator, type in 'su' and then 'a2sd cachesdreset' then your device will reboot once again and everyone sorted.

And you're welcome, glad I could help.

  • 0

Devices


Huawei Ascend P1 (Untouched, for now)

iPhone 4 16gb Jailbroke (6.1.3 semi-tethered) (Sold)

HTC ONE V (Unlocked Bootloader/TWRP installed) running CM10 (Sold)

ZTE Crescent (OSF2)- Paranoid Android 4.1 (Sold)

Samsung Galaxy I5500- CM7 (Sold)

________________________________

My Photography


My Ported Roms:

MoKeeOS (Alpha) | GB MIUI (Alpha) | KonstaKang (Alpha)

| AtomicMod (Beta) |

SwedishSnow (Fully working) | H3 Blues


Help me by testing out my ported ROMs and let me know what works/doesn't work and post here


#9
shawdreamer

shawdreamer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Runcorn (Two pints of lager territory for those struggling)
  • Interests:Customizing Cars (I'm male its genetic)
    Women (I'm male its genetic)
    Fiddling with my Phone (I'm male its genetic)
    making custom icons (I'm male and get bored..... its genetic)
  • Devices:ZTE-Crescent(OSF2),NovoELF2
after selecting 1020Mb partition it asks for swap size,
om
3m
64m
128m
256m

which one am I needing?

  • 0
Posted Image
Currently own and use daily:-
ZTE Crescent (OSF2) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, relaible, fast, front camera non-functional)
ZTE Blade (OSF1) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)
AINOL Novo 7 Elf 2 - Cyanogenmod10 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)

#10
gbosh

gbosh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:ZTE Atlas W (Vivacity)
0mb

  • 0

#11
shawdreamer

shawdreamer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Runcorn (Two pints of lager territory for those struggling)
  • Interests:Customizing Cars (I'm male its genetic)
    Women (I'm male its genetic)
    Fiddling with my Phone (I'm male its genetic)
    making custom icons (I'm male and get bored..... its genetic)
  • Devices:ZTE-Crescent(OSF2),NovoELF2
why is life never simple?....

as soon as it finishes "reading settings"

"EXITING A2SDGUI
A2SD does not run
properly, better do "a2sd check"
in terminal emulater! Maybe
your Version is below 2.7.5.2"

I followed the guide to the letter but obviously I fecked up somewhere <bouncing bonce of desk>

  • 0
Posted Image
Currently own and use daily:-
ZTE Crescent (OSF2) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, relaible, fast, front camera non-functional)
ZTE Blade (OSF1) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)
AINOL Novo 7 Elf 2 - Cyanogenmod10 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)

#12
Liamness

Liamness

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco II
  • Twitter:@liamness
Don't use a2sdgui, the scripts are fine on their own, using both can introduce incompatibility. You just flash them and use the terminal emulator (type 'su' then 'a2sd check') to make sure everything's working before installing apps. It's really quite simple.

  • 0

#13
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

Don't use a2sdgui, the scripts are fine on their own, using both can introduce incompatibility. You just flash them and use the terminal emulator (type 'su' then 'a2sd check') to make sure everything's working before installing apps. It's really quite simple.


I don't think you are correct there Liamness.....

the A2SDGUI App requires you to actually have the scripts installed....it will not work without them!!!

All the GUI does is provide a more user-friendly user experience, in applying the various options available with DT's A2SD....

After all, this is what a Graphical User Interface is all about!!

Of course, you can use the scripts without the GUI, but it requires a certain amount of knowledge regarding command-line linux scripting, using either adb or terminal emulator....

Just one thing may be worth checking, are the scripts flashed Ver. 2.7.5.3??

AFAIK, the A2SDGUI App last update, version 1.0, requires 2.7.5.2 and above.....

Requirements:
- ROOT
- busybox
- A2SD Darktremor Scripts V2.7.5.2 and above.




Here is a synopsis of the commands to use, once it is installed, or to check if it is:

From Darktremor FB notes:

This is the Darktremor Apps2SD Command Line Help guide. This is the same guide you will see if you type a2sd help in Darktremor Apps2Sd 2.7.5.3:

The syntax to run any of this commands is the following:

a2sd

...where is one of the following:

Standard Apps2SD Commands:

  • reinstall
Moves free and paid apps to the ext2/ext3/ext4
partition on your secure digital card. Removes
the No A2SD flag file.

This is used if you have already executed an
a2sd remove command. Otherwise, this part is
automatically performed when Apps2SD is
started.
  • install
Same as reinstall. This was brought back for
users of version 2.7.
  • remove
Moves free and paid apps to the internal phone
storage. Creates the No A2SD flag file.


Swap Partition Commands:
  • reswap
Removes the No Swap flag. Allows A2SD to
activate the swap partition.

This is used if you have already executed an
a2sd noswap command. Otherwise, this part is
automatically performed when Apps2SD is
started.
  • noswap
Creates the No Swap flag. Prevents A2SD from
activating the swap partition.
  • swappyxx
Sets swap partition swappiness value to xx.
Example: To set the swappiness of the swap
partition to 30%, type:
a2sd swappy30
To set at 75%, type:
a2sd swappy75


Dalvik Cache Commands:
  • cachesd
Moves Dalvik cache files to the ext2/ext3/ext4
partition on your secure digital card. Creates
Dalvik Cache to SD flag.
  • cachesdreset
Performs the same function as cachesd, plus
erases the contents of Dalvik-Cache, forcing
a rebuild on reboot.
  • cachepart
Moves Dalvik cache files to the /cache partition
in your phone. Creates Dalvik Cache to Cache
Partition flag.
  • cachepartreset
Performs the same function as cachepart, plus
erases the contents of Dalvik-Cache, forcing
a rebuild on reboot.
  • nocache
Moves Dalvik cache files to the internal phone
storage. Removes all Dalvik Cache flags.
  • nocachereset
Performs the same function as nocache, plus
erases the contents of Dalvik-Cache, forcing
a rebuild on reboot.
  • resetcache
Clears the dalvik cache and restarts phone.


Program Data Commands:
  • datasd
Moves /data/data to the SD card.
  • nodata
Restores /data/data to the internal storage.

Apps2SD Diagnostic Commands:
  • check
Performs a symlink and flag file check on your
setup. Outputs a report that shows you if
there are issues with your Apps2SD setup.
  • repair
Performs a repair of all symlinks based on
flag file activation.
  • diskspace
Shows disk space statistics for the ext
partition.
  • sysinfo
Displays information about your phone,
partitions, swap, and more.

Also writes a dump file that has an
entire profile of your phone. This
is for troubleshooting only.
  • swapspace
Shows swap space statistics for all
swap space active on the phone.
  • partlist
Shows the supported EXT partitions
available for your particular ROM.
  • fixapk
Fixes permissions on programs.
  • usedtbusybox
Uses the Darktremor packaged Busybox. Used
to diagnose issues.
  • usedefaultbusybox
Reactivates Busybox scanning.


ZipAlign Commands:
  • align
Performs a one-time zipalign on all APK files
in /data/app, /data/app-private and /system/app.
  • zipalign
Allows ZipAlign to execute during the boot
process. Creates the ZipAlign flag file.
  • nozipalign
Prevents ZipAlign from executing during the
boot process. Removes the ZipAlign flag file.


Dalvik Setting Commands:
  • heapsizexx
Sets Dalvik Heap Size to xx, or heapsize0 resets
heap size to default settings.

Ex: If you want to set the Dalvik Heap Size to
24mb, type a2sd heapsize24


Low Memory Killer Commands:
  • lowmem-moderate
Sets the internal memory killer to the following
settings:
Foreground Apps: 1536 pages / 6 MB
Visible Apps: 3072 pages / 12 MB
Secondary Server: 4096 pages / 16 MB
Hidden Apps: 7680 pages / 30 MB
Content Provider: 8960 pages / 35 MB
Empty App: 10240 pages / 40 MB
  • lowmem-optimum
Sets the internal memory killer to the following
settings:
Foreground Apps: 1536 pages / 6 MB
Visible Apps: 2048 pages / 8 MB
Secondary Server: 4096 pages / 16 MB
Hidden Apps: 10240 pages / 40 MB
Content Provider: 12800 pages / 50 MB
Empty App: 15360 pages / 60 MB
  • lowmem-strict
Sets the internal memory killer to the following
settings:
Foreground Apps: 1536 pages / 6 MB
Visible Apps: 2048 pages / 8 MB
Secondary Server: 4096 pages / 16 MB
Hidden Apps: 15360 pages / 60 MB
Content Provider: 17920 pages / 70 MB
Empty App: 20480 pages / 80 MB
  • lowmem-aggressive
Sets the internal memory killer to the following
settings:
Foreground Apps: 1536 pages / 6 MB
Visible Apps: 3072 pages / 12 MB
Secondary Server: 4096 pages / 16 MB
Hidden Apps: 21000 pages / 82 MB
Content Provider: 23000 pages / 90 MB
Empty App: 25000 pages / 98 MB
  • lowmem-extreme
Sets the internal memory killer to the following
settings:
Foreground Apps: 1536 pages / 6 MB
Visible Apps: 3072 pages / 12 MB
Secondary Server: 4096 pages / 16 MB
Hidden Apps: 38400 pages / 150 MB
Content Provider: 40960 pages / 160 MB
Empty App: 43520 pages / 170 MB
  • lowmem-ultimate
Sets the internal memory killer to the following
settings:
Foreground Apps: 1536 pages / 6 MB
Visible Apps: 3072 pages / 12 MB
Secondary Server: 4096 pages / 16 MB
Hidden Apps: 51200 pages / 200 MB
Content Provider: 57600 pages / 225 MB
Empty App: 64000 pages / 250 MB
  • lowmem-default
Sets the internal memory killer back to phone default
settings.

SD Card Maintenance Commands
  • forcecheck
Forces Darktremor Apps2SD to force check the
EXT partition on the SD card when phone is
rebooted.
  • convert-ext3
Converts an EXT2 partition to an EXT3 partition.
Note: Boot process will take longer due to the
conversion.
  • convert-ext4
Converts an EXT3 partition to an EXT4 partition.
Note: You must execute a2sd convert-ext3 first if you
are trying to convert from EXT2 to EXT4.
Boot process will take longer due to the
conversion.


  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#14
Liamness

Liamness

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco II
  • Twitter:@liamness
It doesn't require much knowledge with the terminal. The scripts should be working from the off, the only reason you go into the terminal is to check this. You can able some other stuff. Maybe I remembered the thing about incompatibility wrongly, and it was people trying to use a2sd with the link2sd app. If you look at A2SDGUI on the play store, the description is basically the developer saying it's deprecated, and no longer under development. I think it's better to just let the scripts to their thing personally.

  • 0

#15
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

It doesn't require much knowledge with the terminal. The scripts should be working from the off, the only reason you go into the terminal is to check this. You can able some other stuff. Maybe I remembered the thing about incompatibility wrongly, and it was people trying to use a2sd with the link2sd app. If you look at A2SDGUI on the play store, the description is basically the developer saying it's deprecated, and no longer under development. I think it's better to just let the scripts to their thing personally.


Don't get me wrong here Liam, but the GUI is basically up-to-date with DT's A2SD scripts, as they are at V2.7.5.3, and the GUI supports V2.7.5.2 and up.

The app was updated in Jan 2012, and basically cannot be brought much further, with DT A2SD....and there is still a donate version on Play!!!

as you mention, there is Link2SD, S2E, and others, which allow ppl to decide to move Apps, as distinct from the full data/app partition(s).....

as you know, DT A2SD is all or nothing moved!!!

but, as you say, when it is operational, it usually runs extremely stable, without the need for much used intervention.

However, the initial set-up can be difficult for noobs, and others, which is where this GUI app can be very useful, not needing Terminal or adb knowledge, or command-line knowledge.

there is a good XDA thread on DT A2SD here.........

Also, Zipalign, JIT compiling, dalvik cache, etc. are not exactly user-friendly terms.

But, of course you are correct, this stuff can all be done with Terminal, or adb, without any problem, once you have some knowledge of what you are doing. :)

Just to also add, I think there are reports of ppl getting the error the OP mentions, which seems to be connected to the version of the DT A2SD installed, and I am not sure which version is installed with this CM9, but the latest A2SDGUI App needs it to be Ver 2.7.5.2 or above....

http://forum.xda-dev...&postcount=2233

i'm getting this error in a2sdgui:
A2SD script does not run properly, better do "a2sd check" in terminal emulator! Maybe your version is below 2.7.5.2

"a2sd check" gives me version: 2.7.5.3 Beta 4a (2011-01-30)

"a2sd reinstall" did not help (nor fix this problem)



this may or may not be significant???

Anyway, I suspect the OP should try with Terminal.....

$ su

# a2sd check

and post the results here

Edited by irishpancake, 26 November 2012 - 09:25 PM.

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#16
shawdreamer

shawdreamer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Runcorn (Two pints of lager territory for those struggling)
  • Interests:Customizing Cars (I'm male its genetic)
    Women (I'm male its genetic)
    Fiddling with my Phone (I'm male its genetic)
    making custom icons (I'm male and get bored..... its genetic)
  • Devices:ZTE-Crescent(OSF2),NovoELF2
Just to update....

Binned CM9 as it became a little temperamental after initially seeming very swift and stable (had a habit of freezing up if you put to much load on the system, also the battery life over these past two days has been horrendously bad).

swapped it out for CM7 which I used on my previous BLADE (OSF1) and never had any notable issues with it.

battery life has improved immensely and the a2sdgui program worked straight off the bat when I followed Curtis's walk through again (Guess CM9 doesn't like it?)

In summary.....

The fix worked (thanx to TMNCurtle for his patience) and I now have a abundance of internal memory <starts trawling playstore for porn apps>











ps.... sorry for the nickname, its early and its all I could come up with :blush:

  • 0
Posted Image
Currently own and use daily:-
ZTE Crescent (OSF2) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, relaible, fast, front camera non-functional)
ZTE Blade (OSF1) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)
AINOL Novo 7 Elf 2 - Cyanogenmod10 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)

#17
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

Just to update....

Binned CM9 as it became a little temperamental after initially seeming very swift and stable (had a habit of freezing up if you put to much load on the system, also the battery life over these past two days has been horrendously bad).

swapped it out for CM7 which I used on my previous BLADE (OSF1) and never had any notable issues with it.

battery life has improved immensely and the a2sdgui program worked straight off the bat when I followed Curtis's walk through again (Guess CM9 doesn't like it?)

In summary.....

The fix worked (thanx to TMNCurtle for his patience) and I now have a abundance of internal memory <starts trawling playstore for porn apps>











ps.... sorry for the nickname, its early and its all I could come up with :blush:


Perhaps you could let us know which fix you mean?

For the benefit of those who may come across this problem you had, and for those who contributed to the thread and tried to find a resolution to your problem!!

CM9 should work OK with DT A2SD, so nothing is solved for those who may not want to revert to a GB ROM.

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#18
shawdreamer

shawdreamer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Runcorn (Two pints of lager territory for those struggling)
  • Interests:Customizing Cars (I'm male its genetic)
    Women (I'm male its genetic)
    Fiddling with my Phone (I'm male its genetic)
    making custom icons (I'm male and get bored..... its genetic)
  • Devices:ZTE-Crescent(OSF2),NovoELF2
the original workround you suggested with Darktremors(sp) a2sdgui app was what I was referring too as "worked"...

Partition your SD Card- go to clockworkmod advanced menu then partition SD and use a suitable allocation, I use 1gb, then flash the A2SD scripts (First post on CM9 thread) then download A2SDGUI from the PlayStore. Open the A2SDGUI application then click 'do not show again' on the little message pop up then go to Dalvik Cache tab then click 'Dalvik Cache on SD-EXT' and then click 'Move & Rebuild'- Your device will reboot and memory issues will forever disappear.


the only issue I had was getting a2sdgui to work with cm9 but as I said I reverted to cm7 due to other reasons and a2sdgui worked without fault on that OS

  • 0
Posted Image
Currently own and use daily:-
ZTE Crescent (OSF2) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, relaible, fast, front camera non-functional)
ZTE Blade (OSF1) - Cyanogenmod7 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)
AINOL Novo 7 Elf 2 - Cyanogenmod10 (stable, reliable, fast, everything working)

#19
emulov

emulov

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
create on sd ext partition and sew http://rghost.ru/41994595
nothing to install and no need to adjust

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users