Jump to content


Photo

Phone will not start up - how to unbrick?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1
ahsgd1

ahsgd1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:G300
Hi guys,

As my phone will not boot in recovery mode or respond to anything I was hoping someone here could offer a solution to get things working. I do recall there being some software that would interact with the phone even if it wasn't switched on but was connected to the PC(?).

Thanks

  • 0

#2
ahsgd1

ahsgd1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:G300
What lead to my issue:

fist of all i would advise you to stay away from huawei all backup, this restores system elements witch is not good when swapping or updating roms

use "go backup" included in the rom,

you should be to boot into recovery, hold the power button and volume up at the same time



(i have already attempted this) - with both volume buttons

Edited by ahsgd1, 29 November 2012 - 11:30 PM.

  • 0

#3
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Download http://www.solidfile...m/d/8736243461/
Extract contents somewhere on your PC/laptop
Pull the G300 battery, wait, re-insert
power on with volume down until it stops at splash screen
plug G300 into pc/laptop
run install-cwmrecovery-windows-new.bat

..with any luck you'll now have cwm installed and can access it by powering on with volume up

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#4
ahsgd1

ahsgd1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:G300

Download http://www.solidfile...m/d/8736243461/
Extract contents somewhere on your PC/laptop
Pull the G300 battery, wait, re-insert
power on with volume down until it stops at splash screen
plug G300 into pc/laptop
run install-cwmrecovery-windows-new.bat

..with any luck you'll now have cwm installed and can access it by powering on with volume up


Thanks for the reply - the issue with this solution is that the phone won't respond to me holding the power button and either volume buttons. :(

  • 0

#5
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
What happens when you try the above? In detail :)

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#6
ahsgd1

ahsgd1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:G300

What happens when you try the above? In detail :)


Nothing happens, lol. I cannot even power up the phone, let alone get to the splash screen.

I've taken the battery out dozens of times over varying periods of time ranging from 1 minute to 20 minutes (whilst looking up potential solutions). I'll re-insert the battery, press and hold he power and volume down button for 30+ seconds and nothing happens. I've repeated the process also holding the power and volume up buttons simultaneously and still nothing happens.

I plug in the charger and the light doesn't come up.

I've been through several ROM installations and installed CWM over the last 3+ months so I wouldn't call myself a newbie.

Thanks :)

  • 0

#7
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Does the charging light remain off on both mains and USB charging (with different USB leads)? It can take a minute to light up.

Are you able to try an alternative battery or try the existing battery in another G300 or no battery at all?

Plug it into the pc and open a command window in the directory you extracted the download from my previous post

From the command prompt, type
adb-windows devices

Also try
fastboot-windows devices

Do either give any result?

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#8
ahsgd11

ahsgd11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:G300
Having issues with my twitter account (linked with the prev account here) so had to re-register.

Typing in adb-windows devices gives me: List of devices attached

Followed by a couple of empty rows.

I get no result entering fastboot-windows

Unfortunately I do not have any spare batteries or G300's. I'm pretty sure it's safe to rule out any battery issues though.

Thanks again

  • 0

#9
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
I'm out of ideas for the moment. It doesn't sound good.

Perhaps someone else will chip in...

Edit: Have you got the Handset Drivers installed on your PC?

Edited by tcpaulh, 01 December 2012 - 03:58 PM.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#10
ahsgd11

ahsgd11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:G300
I do have this installed yes :( Tried re-installing it just in case but still no change in response from the command prompt

  • 0

#11
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
I guess it's under warranty...

  • 1

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#12
Kazimator

Kazimator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:G300
Hello, I just experienced the same issue. Just went to check the phone after an hour or so and it was comletely dead. Won´t respond to anything, battery should be charged enough, but won´t charge now (charger checked), connecting to pc leads to unsuccesful search for driver. I´m going to take it back to shop tomorow, so I'll report if I learn something new.

  • 2

#13
Moe29

Moe29

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:G300
Kazimator

Did you manage to get your phone working ?
I'm having the same issue, but can get fastboot shell, still it won't write the image

I get

sending 'recovery' (6200 KB)... OKAY
writing 'recovery'... FAILED (remote: flash write failure)

  • 0

#14
DuncanL

DuncanL

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Hello, I just experienced the same issue. Just went to check the phone after an hour or so and it was comletely dead. Won´t respond to anything, battery should be charged enough, but won´t charge now (charger checked), connecting to pc leads to unsuccesful search for driver. I´m going to take it back to shop tomorow, so I'll report if I learn something new.


That's worring - just had mine do exactly the same. It's going back to Tesco Direct for repair\replacement which is good; but the loss of phone and data isn't. Plus either they fix it and might discover it's been unlocked and upgraded to ICS; or they replace it and I'll have to pay for a new unlock code. Annoying.

  • 0

#15
temi

temi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Tinkering, often ends in broken stuff
  • Devices:huawei ascend g300
  • Twitter:@Temioni
Download http://www.solidfile...m/d/8736243461/
Extract contents somewhere on your PC/laptop
Pull the G300 battery, wait, re-insert
power on with volume down until it stops at splash screen
plug G300 into pc/laptop
run install-cwmrecovery-windows-new.bat

..with any luck you'll now have cwm installed and can access it by powering on with volume up
Tried it and it said command not allowed but sending the recovery was fine

  • 0

#16
sharkyo01

sharkyo01

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Walsall
  • Devices:Raised from the Dead G300 :P
I think I can join this club... I have CWM installed and still cant get anyway with it... so ringing Huawei tomorrow

  • 0

#17
wbrambley

wbrambley

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Devices:u8815, u8185, u8951

I think I can join this club... I have CWM installed and still cant get anyway with it... so ringing Huawei tomorrow

No blue or pink screen, that's scary.

  • 0

#18
sharkyo01

sharkyo01

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Walsall
  • Devices:Raised from the Dead G300 :P

No blue or pink screen, that's scary.


Its completely dead no blue or pink screen cannot access fast boot. etc etc ... If you can enter fast boot would be simply to fix!




Done some testing and mine one is not sending a charge to the battery connectors. The battery is charged so possible a break in the board some where

Edited by sharkyo01, 23 April 2013 - 02:42 PM.

  • 0

#19
fabiossilva21

fabiossilva21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
I have the same problem but i can enter into the fastboot

  • 0

#20
sharkyo01

sharkyo01

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Walsall
  • Devices:Raised from the Dead G300 :P
Install CWM via fastboot and a standard boot.img that should get you moving again!

I use this..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=28719715

If you need images let me know ill upload a copy.

Edited by sharkyo01, 29 April 2013 - 07:14 PM.

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users