Jump to content


Photo

How to Root Huawei G330

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#21
Urbanchina

Urbanchina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei U8825D
Can anyone confirm that This phone is a DSS(Dual Sim Standby) or DSA(Dual Sim Active)? I'm asking these because I want to make use of the second sim slot.

  • 0

#22
jedd

jedd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Nokia N900, Huawei G300
Howdi,

The only halfway decent review I read of the G330 indicated it was DSS, not DSA, but most reviews seem to just dwell on the slightly faster CPU and the price.

In this thread, and elsewhere on modaco, I've seen people claim the screen isn't IPS, as per the G300 - but people that have used both seem to be indicating that the screen on the G330 is as good as, or better, than the G300. What gives? IPS isn't always specifically stated on ebay pages for the G330, but it's always mentioned on the G300 pages and reviews. Wondering if it's just an assumed feature for new phones now?

I know it's been asked and kind of answered already - but I'm still trying to work out whether jumping on the G330 is a good move right now. I have a G300, rooted, but still running gingerbread. It does all I want (except perhaps play Ingress :)). But I'd like to bequeath it to my other half who's desperately in need of a new handset (she's on a Wildfire, so you can imagine the pain) and the G330 was always kind of my next step. I know the specs aren't *hugely* compelling compared to the G300, but none of the other handsets out there really grab me. I want inexpensive (£140 is good), 4" screen max, mini-SD (so nexus 4 is out, even if you could buy one). Price delta between G300 and G330 is now under £10 for new, unboxed, rooted, etc on ebay. I also suspect there may be a small advantage to us remaining a Huawei G3xx household, since I'm the first level of support for anything with a USB port.

So I guess the biggest concern is whether there'll likely be a JB ROM coming out for the G330. I know people are saying that the G330 just won't get the same dev community interest due to bad timing and modest improvements over the G300. But how much should that worry me - or rather, will it be so small that there'll be no likelihood of a JB ROM coming out here, and we'd be purely at the mercy of Huawei ever getting around to publishing one.

Please forgive my obvious bewilderment. :)

Edited by jedd, 29 December 2012 - 11:27 PM.

  • 0

#23
jedd

jedd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Nokia N900, Huawei G300
Oh well, went ahead and picked up a G330, pre-rooted, via ebay. It came with PhoneFinder built in - though without admin-equiv rights. Is this weird? I formatted back to factory settings, but kept superuser (boot-up option while it was formatting itself) and PhoneFinder is still there. Didn't think it's part of the G330 base android 4 build, but who knows. Actually I don't know what the base build actually is on this thing - I'm guessing factory shipped ROM.

UrbanChina / experiment626 - did you guys decide on 'the best' ROM to install - and if so what compelling features did it have over factory ROM? Did you find / play with any JB ROM's anywhere? I'm looking through the ROMZJ site and while google translate tells me all I need to know about the ROMs on offer, I'm really not sure whether any are a vast improvement over what I have. As it stands I haven't needed to root my phone *or* side-install gapps (already done for me, as I say).

With the rooting - is the idea that you go back to Huawei's site each time to get a new code? This seems cumbersome.

With the Play Store - is it simply a matter of having the gapps file on the SD so you can do a manual install of it?

  • 0

#24
Urbanchina

Urbanchina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei U8825D
Welcome to the G330 club :)
Didn't look into the PhoneFinder feature as it is not important to me. I have not find the time to try any custom rom yet. I pretty happy with the Go Themes atm. Experiment626 seem the person who has tried and experiment few of the custom roms from ROMZJ site I think.

I don't think you need to ask for new code once the phone is unlocked for root.

I am still a newby on how to flash a rom and restore each individual user apps like Play Store. I suppose is the same as other rooted phones?

  • 0

#25
gilli.amu

gilli.amu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Allgäu
  • Devices:huawei g330D
Hi all,

Have just bought a G330 (not dual sim). Pretty happy so far but would love to clean it up and remove alot of the pre-installed stuff.
Am now considering returning the G330 and getting the G330D so I can root it (Dual sim also seems really useful i.e. work & private sim)

New to smartphone and android world, and have never rooted one before but have read Urbanchina's instructions (many thanks) and think I am up to it.

Questions:
1. Are there and major differences I would be losing out on by switching model?
2. I can set it up so no chinese characters, right? I want english and german interface. (I know - a real newbie question)
3. Where did you buy your imports? Am thinking of ordering from a Hong Kong supplier.

Thanks in advance.

  • 0

#26
Urbanchina

Urbanchina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei U8825D
The only major differences I think is there isn't much support for the G330D in UK atm. With G330 UK version, you get full support from UK Huawei team. Saying that, I did wrote to the UK support team about some GPS positioning issue on the G330D. All they came up was a lame excuse saying the Chinese device only work in China :rolleyes:. At the end I got it working myself.
You can get rid of any Chinese Stock Apps easily once rooted. Don't open the Huawei App centre though, otherwise you get bombarded with Chinese apps wanted to update etc. Best get rid of it in SYSTEM/APP folder via RE.
I got my device from Ebay, not from China nor HK. They worked out about the same minus the waiting time. The seller in ebay also has a online shop here, postage is slightly cheaper compare to ebay. Hope it helps.

  • 0

#27
benali10

benali10

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:g330d
Hi, I've recently bought g330d from the seller just mentioned above (btw very helpful people). Couple of things hopefully someone can advise:
  • The chinese apps keep updating/downloading so which huawei apps do I safely delet once in the SYSTEM/APP folder?
  • I've installed 16gb microsd, I cant seem to get mp3's loaded onto it without them getting dumped into the LOST.DIR, many posts kicking around on this but cant see a fix anywhe
Many thanks!

  • 0

#28
Urbanchina

Urbanchina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei U8825D
You can get rid of the Hispace.apk(Huawei App Centre) in SYSTEM/APP folder. Just long press the file and delete. I think the problem of LOST.DIR not just on huawei, if you just google "LOST.DIR" and you know what I mean :P .
I use SD card as my primary storage in storage settings so all my music files goes in it.

  • 0

#29
benali10

benali10

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:g330d
Can't delete Hispace.apk, says the file system is read only?
In storage settings I cant see where to switch primary storage to be sd card?
Do you then not have any issues with more than 2gb of music files?

  • 0

#30
Urbanchina

Urbanchina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei U8825D
You have to click on the r/w to r/o at top of RE in order to alter any files. Actually there is no option to switch to primary storage with G330D, I have since bought a Huawei D1quad and gave the G330D to my daughter. :)
I would have thought you should be able to move any music files on the sd card. My daughter had 4gb of music files all in the 32gb class10 sandisk i bought for her on Christmas.

Edited by Urbanchina, 06 January 2013 - 12:39 PM.

  • 0

#31
gilli.amu

gilli.amu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Allgäu
  • Devices:huawei g330D
@ urbanchina

thanks for reply.
so have taken the plunge and await my g330d from etotalk (pre- unlocked and rooted).

will post again on how I get on.

  • 0

#32
gilli.amu

gilli.amu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Allgäu
  • Devices:huawei g330D
Well my G330D has arrived safe and sound.
Good delivery via DHL though had to pay a customs clearance fee EUR24 (am in Germany).

Unlocked and rooted by EtoTalk.
BUT
Wi-fi internet is not working
Says it is connected and good signal but nothing doing.
IP address looks good.

I have had a look around on the internet but can't quite find the solution.

Anyone had similar difficulties with this model or from EtoTalk?

Edited by gilli.amu, 16 January 2013 - 09:47 AM.

  • 0

#33
Urbanchina

Urbanchina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei U8825D
Work straight out of the box own mine. Etotalk use their own custom ROM. If they provide you with the ROM. You could try to flash back to the manufacturer ROM and see if it work. If it still doesn't, then you might have a faulty device. Just curious, why did you hit with the customs clearance? Didn't they declare as gift?

  • 0

#34
gilli.amu

gilli.amu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Allgäu
  • Devices:huawei g330D
i am pretty sure the wlan is working
so i would like to reset back to factory settings to check
but how can i back up the etotalk rom i have now?
without internet i can't install Titanium or anything

about the customs clearance - no idea?
(yes, it was declared as gift)

  • 0

#35
gilli.amu

gilli.amu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Allgäu
  • Devices:huawei g330D
So, used Ekotalk's version of clockworkmod to create recovery images.
Used it to reset to factory settings.

Still no internet access - but Google Maps works a little now!?
Android web browser - nothing.
Gmail - no.
Play Store - no. (which means I can't download apps!)

The router works with two laptops and a samsung smartphone.
Tried another router and it was fine with the laptops and the samsung.

I looked at the Link speed of the WLAN in the Mod Tool and it seems to keep dropping the signal.
Same in WLAN settings, sometimes Link speed says 0Mbps sometimes 52Mbps.

Anyone?

  • 0

#36
Urbanchina

Urbanchina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei U8825D
Go into your router setting, see connected devices if your phone is there. To identify your phone just look at the MAC address on your phone. You might want to try unplugging other devices and do a reset on the router. Power it down for 20 sec and turn it back on etc.

  • 0

#37
Urbanchina

Urbanchina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei U8825D
#Pardon me...To identify your phone just check on the device ID in phone settings, not MAC.

  • 0

#38
gilli.amu

gilli.amu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Allgäu
  • Devices:huawei g330D
Ok, so nothing was wrong with WLAN.
Etotalk sent me a new NetworkLocation.apk
now I could access www.google.com but still no apps!?

So I created a back up and then..
Updated the firmware
Internet worked perfect :)
Reinstalled recovery
Re-rooted
Installed Gapps
No probs :)

Delivery service was good but really quite disappointed with Etotalk that it wasn't good to go out of the box - very frustrating and have spent a lot of time trying to fix it.

Now I can finally get on with enjoying my G330d.
(P.S. I will be asking them for a refund on what they charged for rooting and modding.)

Edited by gilli.amu, 22 January 2013 - 08:23 AM.

  • 0

#39
er1cli

er1cli

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G330D
Hi urbanChina

I have an issue with Huawei G330D. The latter is halted on the 3G startup screen .. I need to reload the firmware. I have followed your conversation and have downloaded the firmware. Can you advise me how to reload the latter.

Regards

Bernard Li

  • 0

#40
Urbanchina

Urbanchina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Huawei U8825D
I don't quite get what is your issue here. What firmware did you try to download? If you on about the factory firmware, all you need to do is, extract the file to a temporary folder. Then copy the entire 'dload' folder to your sd card, and then update the firmware in settings>storage>SD update.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users