Wireless charging options for the Nexus 4

Guest The Soup Thief

Guest The Soup Thief

I'm always a bit wary about starting new Topics on Modaco - looks like I'm breaking virgin snow here though...

I see from this news item Paul posted last month and the comments that followed that the N4 uses the Qi standard. I'm an utter noob when it comes to wireless charging, but I assume that one needs a receiver device (here, a Nexus 4 with built in receiver) and a compatible transmitter, so in this case a Qi charging pad. The Maxell Air Voltage and Bitmore Charging Pad are each available for 40 quid.

XDA developers has a few optionsfrom Energizer and Panasonic, though it appears only the former is available in the UK currently (and quite pricey too)

In the comments on the above-linked news page Flibblesan linked to a Nokia device available through Handtec - not available anymore :-( Also as Zarch1972 points out the Palm Touchstone doesn't work

There are a bunch of cheap Powermat options (I think Powermat is a Duracell brand) on Amazon, but I assume these are not Qi compatible

Similarly there are some Duracell Mygrid pads going for pennies - I guess these are not compatible

Can anyone confirm whether the Nokia chargers are compatible with the N4?

Any other suggestions?

EDIT:

Here's a bit more info on N4 wireless charging. Confirms that Nokia chargers are Qi compatible, Powermat are not.

Also that Qi is pronounced "chee" - who knew? Also there's an "LG Portable Power Mat", but it's unavailable through Amazon UK at the mo

Edited by The Soup Thief

Guest The Soup Thief

I've ordered a crappy plastic case from some amazon seller - just to save me smashing the fragile beauty in the early days. Hopefully will get something a bit prettier as things come on stream. It will be a shame to cover up that gorgeous backplate...

Re chargers, the two 40 quid ones mentioned above are both Qi chargers. I just want to hear a few reviews before I flash the cash